Chevron Left
返回到 Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games 的评价和反馈

4.3
52 个评分
17 条评论

课程概述

This course is an introduction to computer science and programming in Python. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: 1. Take a new computational problem and develop a plan to solve it through problem understanding and decomposition. 2. Follow a design creation process that includes specifications, algorithms, and testing. 3. Code, test, and debug a program in Python, based on your design. Important computer science concepts such as problem solving (computational thinking), problem decomposition, algorithms, abstraction, and software quality are emphasized throughout. The Python programming language and video games are used to demonstrate computer science concepts in a concrete and fun manner. However, a learner can take the knowledge and skills from this course and apply them to non-game problems, other programming languages, and other computer science courses. You do not need any previous programming, Python, or video game experience. However, some computer skills (e.g., mouse, keyboard, document editing), knowledge of algebra, attention to detail (as with many technical subjects), and a “just give it a try” spirit will be keys to your success. Despite the use of video games for all the programming examples, PVG is not about computer games. PVG will still provide valuable knowledge and skills for non-game computational problems. The interactive learning objects (ILO) of the course provide automatic, context-specific guidance and feedback, like a virtual teaching assistant, as you develop problem descriptions, algorithms, and functional test plans. The course forums will be supported by the creators of the course, to help you succeed. All videos, assessments, and ILOs are available free of charge. There is an optional certificate available for a fee....

热门审阅

LS

Feb 28, 2020

I have learnt a lot from this course and it is what i need as well. I do really appreciate that you guys allow me to have this course thank you so much.

KS

Sep 19, 2019

As a postgraduate student, I find this course very interesting. I like their way of conveying. Thank you coursera.

筛选依据:

1 - Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games 的 17 个评论(共 17 个)

创建者 keesari s

Sep 19, 2019

As a postgraduate student, I find this course very interesting. I like their way of conveying. Thank you coursera.

创建者 Joel S

Aug 06, 2019

I really enjoyed this as an introduction to Python course, mostly because it went beyond the confines of the specific programming language and addressed the problem-solving and design process at a more fundamental level. This seems really important as the approach is ultimately more important than the specific tool used to do the job. I feel this gave me a nice grounding in the workings of the Python interpreter and I have a good idea about how to go about approaching different types of programming challenges.

I did encounter some challenges along the way with some of the testing items, especially toward the end of the course. In some of the programming hurdles, I found it difficult to figure out what exactly the input of the program would be, so it was hard for me to prepare the class or function to handle. That led to some situations where my version of the program worked as directed, but I kept getting rejected by the test version. This got frustrating but I muddled through. The help of one of the staff (Jullienne) was so helpful in finally getting through one of these issues.

I also must say that some of the most challenge I faced was in the algorithm builder. Those are just so hard to get right. Something about it is just not intuitive and the hints are sometimes oddly misleading. The builder does use embedding well, but something about it is not quite obvious. I feel like if I could see the whole thing broken down as on one page (like an x-bar diagram in linguistics), it would all be obvious. But since you can't see all the parts at the same time, it's hard to remember the other variables that are going on off-screen. The frustration level was high with those exercises.

I really enjoyed the presentations by the teaching team. It's quite analytical delivery (which I like) and I often found myself replaying the videos multiple times to ensure that I got things correct. Many thanks to the team for their effort in designing and delivering the course. Your care for your craft is very apparent and I appreciate that level of dedication.

I must confess that in the last few versions of Poke the Dots, I couldn't get my version to function properly and I had to just push forward to force the solution. I think I have a handle of the general idea and I understand how they reached the solution in the last two versions, but I just couldn't quite make it happen in my version. I'm pretty disappointed in myself for that, but I guess I will just have to accept it.

Anyway, thank you so much and please feel free to contact me with any follow up questions on my experience.

创建者 Aaron L

May 24, 2020

This is an excellent course, for both absolute beginners and those with a basic programming background. I feel like I learned a lot of the principles of program design and problem solving. However, the algorithm building exercises are a headache and led me to more frustration than actual learning!

创建者 Yung-Chuan C

Jun 06, 2020

Great class with detailed lecture and wisely designed assignment. The syntax analysis and semantic analysis sections are a bit beyond the programing prospective but more like the languange development. Some people may appreciate it if they are interested in the mechanism behind Python, but I'm not really in to it.

创建者 Sandy H

Sep 26, 2019

Very Informative by helping you learn programming long term!

创建者 Silvia T

May 14, 2020

Great course for learning or revising problem-solving and python programming. The course offers step by step exercises and projects. The discussion in the forum also provides additional support. Highly recommended!

创建者 Liau K S

Feb 28, 2020

I have learnt a lot from this course and it is what i need as well. I do really appreciate that you guys allow me to have this course thank you so much.

创建者 Itamar P

Dec 22, 2019

Great course, teaches you all you need to know. Recommended.

创建者 Yousuf Z M A M K M A M K

May 13, 2020

it is very good for students that interested in game industry and want to improve problem solving skills

创建者 Marvin T

May 16, 2020

Explanations were good but when it comes to how assessments are presented, it needs to be modified for a learner to follow.

创建者 Daniel W

Jun 03, 2020

Could cut 2/3 of the content of this course and get the same result

创建者 Ben S

Sep 28, 2019

it's a bit boring

创建者 Juan I R E

Mar 12, 2020

The course is very boring. Hard to stay awake

创建者 jared k

Oct 21, 2019

The lexical, syntactic and semantic quizzes in this course created more confusion than clarity. Also PyGame doesn't work in a number of GUI's (including IDLE), making the course significantly more difficult to complete.

创建者 Quan C

Dec 13, 2019

If you want to learn Python in a practical way, don't choose this course. Too many quits ask you to analysis Semantics problems of stupid codes- Who cares?

创建者 Md Z I

Jun 10, 2020

Many thanks to the instructional team for offering the course in such a structured way. The details of the design processes and problem-based approach really helped a lot to learn the ins and outs of Python programming without which a solid understanding of the programming would not be possible for me, I believe. Now I am confident that I can dive now more into areas of software engineering/programming. Thanks again to the awesome team.

创建者 Saad A M

May 31, 2020

Has too many issues in setting up the environment and the staff just left my issue unresolved I dont know if on purpose or by mistake