Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Languages, Part A

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Programming Languages, Part A 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,569 个评分
464 条评论

课程概述

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

热门审阅

YZ
Dec 2, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA
Mar 4, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

筛选依据:

176 - Programming Languages, Part A 的 200 个评论(共 462 个)

创建者 ChristopherKing

Nov 10, 2017

This is absolutely a challenge course for those people who are not familiar with functional programming. Nice course material and teach.

创建者 Jesse T

Nov 25, 2017

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

创建者 Yu Z

Jul 29, 2017

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!

创建者 gaapill

Sep 28, 2020

Thank you, professor Dan Grossman!

I've learned a lot amoung this course, and had inspired a lot from those concepts you taught.

创建者 Mikhail D

Dec 29, 2019

One of my favourite courses on Coursera, first took it in 2013 and had much fun taking it again in 2019 to refresh my knowledge

创建者 Jared C

May 24, 2021

Excellent course! I appreciate that the professor is very precise and intentional in his explanations and use of terminology.

创建者 Philip S S

Jan 2, 2017

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

创建者 Dennis E H

Sep 5, 2017

The lectures in this course are extraordinary, especially the ones that explain motivations and how the material was chosen.

创建者 Eugene C

Jul 25, 2021

I​ could learn the terms pertain to programming languages, and I could grab the concept of funnctional programming. Thanks.

创建者 dynasty919

Feb 21, 2018

i can't believe i have learnt so much about PL. prof. Dan knows exactly what kind of concept a beginner should grasp most.

创建者 ZHENG Z

Jun 4, 2020

Great course! It taught me how to think in a functional way, as well as some funtamental truth about programming. Thanks!

创建者 Zhong X 钟

Oct 8, 2016

Very rewarding, worth taking. It enhanced my understanding of what is programming. I learned some principles of coding.

创建者 John S

Aug 17, 2016

Great quality teaching and challenging homework. Much appreciated. Hoping for the Part B, and C to be on coursera soon.

创建者 Randy H

Oct 5, 2016

Excellent instruction. I feel my programming ninja powers have definitely increased. Can't wait to do parts B and C.

创建者 蔡嘉文

Sep 20, 2019

good introduction to functional programming . sml is a fun language with type checking system and beautiful syntax.

创建者 Calvin N

Aug 31, 2017

The course has changed the way I approach and learn new programming languages. I am going to take part B and C too!

创建者 Ruchita S

Mar 4, 2021

Amazing! The course really broadens your perspective towards programming language and

I would highly

recommend it.

创建者 Maximilian P

Nov 24, 2020

Awesome! Finally wrapped my head around some concepts that I had been trying to understand prior to this course.

创建者 Maria L V

Mar 19, 2018

Great course, learned a lot. Dynamic videos and writen support. First experience with coursera very positive :)

创建者 kojo

Jan 8, 2022

Very good teacher, super useful concepts. you should definitely take this course as well as part B and part C

创建者 Kachan O V

May 3, 2020

Very good!Knowledge provided by this course is really useful and lecturer explains everything very accessibly!

创建者 Jürgen B

Aug 13, 2019

Great course. Quite useful even for knowledgeable programmers to learn about functional programming concepts.

创建者 Tan S X A

Oct 17, 2017

Dan Grossman is a lovely person, and a good lecturer. His materials are good, and the homework is challenging.

创建者 Raquel K

Sep 17, 2019

Wonderful course! Really expanded the way I think about programming and I'm looking forward to parts B and C.

创建者 Chinmay

Oct 12, 2016

Awesome course. Learned a lot on the way. Concepts were presented very well. Looking forward to part B and C.