Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Languages, Part A

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Programming Languages, Part A 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,572 个评分
466 条评论

课程概述

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

热门审阅

YZ
Dec 2, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA
Mar 4, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

筛选依据:

201 - Programming Languages, Part A 的 225 个评论(共 464 个)

创建者 Raquel K

Sep 17, 2019

Wonderful course! Really expanded the way I think about programming and I'm looking forward to parts B and C.

创建者 Chinmay

Oct 12, 2016

Awesome course. Learned a lot on the way. Concepts were presented very well. Looking forward to part B and C.

创建者 Andrea T

Oct 21, 2021

Very interesting insights into programming in general. Good course structure, well explained, easy to follow

创建者 Luiz C

Jul 22, 2018

A fantastic Course. Before this Course I thought I knew how to Code. Now I know I still have to learn a lot

创建者 Yusong S

Feb 11, 2017

Learn many fundamental concepts about functional programming! Course material is challenging but rewarding.

创建者 James L

May 13, 2021

I'm so hilarious I thought this was going to be all review of things I already knew. Don't skip this one.

创建者 John G

Feb 1, 2017

This is a really fun course. I'm glad that it was split into A-B-C because I just don't have time for B.

创建者 Mustaqim M

Sep 26, 2020

Really tough and engaging but none the less very helpful in understanding the intricacies of programming

创建者 Lei F

Dec 13, 2018

This is a wonderful lesson. Bring a lot of new concepts to me. Functional programming is a big surprise.

创建者 Shen C

Apr 6, 2018

I should say thanks Dan's work on this MOOC. I have learned many knowledge about functional programming

创建者 Deleted A

Oct 30, 2017

Very insightful and logical presentation of ideas that I now see everywhere when I learn new languages.

创建者 Pritesh S

Aug 6, 2020

Arguably the best MOOC on Coursera. I wish professor Dan Grossman would upload more such MOOCs soon !!

创建者 Caleb

Apr 25, 2020

Great intro to ideas behind programs and also a fun way to learn some functional programming concepts.

创建者 Robert M

Sep 2, 2016

Excellent coverage of the topic. Must see if you want to grasp the functional programming paradigm.

创建者 Akash B P

Sep 22, 2018

The professor's enthusiasm for programming languages rubbed off on me. Can't wait to start Part B

创建者 Shaun G

Jan 3, 2022

Incredible course! Very well put together and organized. Vastly improved my programming skills.

创建者 Rizwan Q

Jun 12, 2020

i thoroughly enjoyed the course, the instructor was very good and made the whole experience fun

创建者 Ervin L

Jan 30, 2017

Fantastic course from Prof. Grossman. Would recommend to anyone interested in Computer Science.

创建者 Jeff T

Feb 22, 2018

Course materials and videos very good. A wonderful experience for this old coder! Thank you!

创建者 sai

Oct 15, 2016

Great course. You can learn the most import concepts about the functional programming language

创建者 Minh D

Jan 7, 2022

I​ loved the course but expect to have a hard time to get people to peer review you!!! XD XD

创建者 Bianca G

Nov 17, 2020

Excellent course! Dan is a brilliant teacher. It's amazing how much you learn from this mooc.

创建者 shaahin k

Apr 12, 2019

the idea of start by sml is briliant and very helpful about the base of programming languages

创建者 Sixiang C

Aug 30, 2017

This is good first course in Funtional programming.

The materials and exercises are excellent.