Chevron Left
返回到 Python 数据库开发

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Python 数据库开发 的评价和反馈

4.8
18,677 个评分
2,831 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
突出显示
High quality course material
(143 条评论)
Top rated instructor
(176 条评论)

热门审阅

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

筛选依据:

2701 - Python 数据库开发 的 2725 个评论(共 2,745 个)

创建者 Weerachai Y

Jun 27, 2020

thanks

创建者 Audrey D

Oct 24, 2020

Disclaimer: I did not finish the course. I decided after week 2 to use a different course to learn about Databases and Python.

While I value the availability of this kind of courses for free, I just did not like the style of teaching of Mr Severance. I have a hard time watching 15+ minute videos after a full day of work already in front of the computer, when the teacher does not go straight to the point or make clear sentences (if a deaf person was reading the transcript, they would be struggling to follow).

I am just not that interested in the history and how people did databases before etc., but I don't criticise that, some people might be interested. However I think that stretching a simple concept over more than 10 minutes is not helping students to grasp what is going on.

On the other hand, I liked having cheap access to the book because it was faster to read about a subject than to sit for 15 minutes in front of the video, skipping ahead, trying to guess where the important bits are.

Plus, running us through a code that the teacher doesn't write as he explains is not a good way to engage. As a student you think that you understand, but you'd be hard pressed to write that code if asked.

So that's why I decide to go for a more interactive approach to learning, with lots of examples.

创建者 Alan M R

Jan 9, 2018

As an experienced programmer, I am unimpressed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; classes and databases. I would have introduced classes much earlier to emphasize critical coding habits of productive programmers: modularity and reusability. Unfortunately, classes seem to be included here as an afterthought. They are introduced in week 1 and never seen again. Inheritance is mentioned but not explored and an important documentation feature is ignored. The lectures extoll the wonder of SQL but don't even mention outer joins. In later examples, databses are used to house data; but that data is extracted to Python variables with simple queries, where it is manipulated with Python. Programming exercises consist of running his poorly written code and posting results for peer review; students are instructed to grade leniently. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Example code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

创建者 Srj S

Oct 12, 2020

Although I do not want to write a negativ comment, I have no other choice than saying that this course was almost useless to me and that I wouldn't have understood anything if I hadn't had the basics of SQL in university.

The SQL language isn't explained at all, only some full commands which we are supposed to copy and paste into our program. If one wants to explain SQL one should start with the basics of the language from the very beginning and talk about each single command / word of the SQL language and how it is build. Learning or copying and pasting full commands will definitely not help.

In addition, I expected to learn some basics of data visualization with certain libraries but in the end it was (as always) nothing more than copy this prepared program and just change a few little easy things so that it works.

The only good thing about this course was that sometimes Dr. Chuck broached certain topics which were quite interesting to hear about which made me notice that I have to learn more about these topics more (obviously somewhere else).

创建者 Lindsay C

Jul 9, 2020

I definitely love the instructor, but this class is really poorly structured. I could not understand the course material, but use my instinct and basic logical thinking to pass all assignments. This course does not teach you how to write code, but to give you a very vague idea of what python can do. I was enrolled in a VBA specialization before taking this course, and that one was really good. Fair assignments, great explanation, and most important of all, I was able to write hundred lines of code (maybe exaggerated a little bit) independently after passing the course because the way it taught force you to learn and understand. But for this class, I am confused from the beginning and still confused after finishing the course. I feel like after course 3 under this specialization, everything was taught in a effortless way so that you get your certificate.

创建者 Brett M

Mar 13, 2017

This is the only course in this specialization that doesn't seem to belong with the rest of the material. It seems out of place, and too little was done to relate it to learning python.

Moreover, learning databases and SQL is easy; rather than taking up a whole course, this content could be relegated to one week of lectures in conjunction with some external references for further reading. Four weeks were spent on this external topic while the more interesting discussion on using python with databases is glossed over haphazardly in the last week.

I am a big fan of this specialization and think Prof. Severance does a great job explaining some of the basics of python in a short amount of time, but this course needs to be restructured.

创建者 Thoufiq M

Oct 15, 2019

This course is too basic to be helpful. Many of the programs are just read through like how reading from a textbook in college. I expect the class to be better than that. Many of the concepts in programs are also skipped which gives the impression that Dr. Chuck is not thoroughly aware of these concepts.

I am disappointed by the teaching and topics covered in this class

创建者 Beth B

May 13, 2019

If this course focused just on SQL or just on Python, I would have given it a 5-star rating. However, the course tried to tackle both concepts at once, and did neither justice. At best, this course gave a peek into db connections with python. I left wanting more.

创建者 Ayush B

Jun 29, 2018

Another disappointing course in the Python specialization offered by UMAA. The assignments are laughable. A mostly superficial course. The only reason I undertook the course is because I had already paid for the 5-course specialization. I wouldn't recommend.

创建者 Carlos R T G R

Oct 4, 2017

So far this is the weakest of the Python courses, it has missing videos and very little information about actually using DB with Python... Quite disappointing, I will have to rely more in the documentation or another course to complement my skills.

创建者 Kevin S

Sep 16, 2020

Its okay there's a lot more tweaking of code than actually building your own. The first two classes of the specialization are great but as it progress its like your writing less and less code.

创建者 Thomas F

Jan 19, 2018

The assignments are old and out of date. Learning how to program is hard enough as it is. I spent more time troubleshooting than learning in this course.

创建者 Carlos E V S

Sep 7, 2020

Too much SQL. It would be more useful to go deeper into using csv files.

创建者 Adil M

Jun 7, 2020

It was in a very fast pace and the examples are upto the mark

创建者 Olivier L

Mar 16, 2016

Not enough material covered to make it worth the cost.

创建者 Edwin R

May 22, 2018

I dislike coding but this was kinda fun.

创建者 Andrés E V P

Sep 15, 2020

A very shallow course.

创建者 Matthew B

Mar 2, 2016

No teaching. Just a guy talking. Do the problem sets for practice. If you need help, pause the videos and try the code out yourself.

Seriously though, a programming course where the teacher is not actively type out the code but just scribbling around it. He doesn't work through code but talks around the concepts.

创建者 Harshit G

Jul 8, 2020

Worst Course ever! Didn't get a reset on week 5 Submission which lead to not completion of my specialization. And the teaching staff including @Agnes Barsi and @Mihaela Mack doesn't know how to respond to the students with respect in the forum. Worst experience of the course in coursera ever!

创建者 Akshit K

Jul 6, 2020

The instructor was very good. But the teaching staff's attitude and behavior was very rude and unprofessional. Asking simple things that when can the assignment be graded, the instructor was just having different excuses and took a long time to grade them.

创建者 Victor F

Oct 24, 2018

It is disappointing. If you are looking for learning Python for database management, this course does NOT show that. It discusses basic concepts of database management on SQLite, eventually running pre-prepared Python codes.

创建者 crobeddu

Jan 22, 2019

The course is nice the problem is on the forum the staff don't have time to answer some of your questions when it comes to have detailed explanations of some part of the code that is not explain in the course.

创建者 YACHA V R

Jun 24, 2020

I didn't copy anything but if they think that I have copied then they should reset my assignment again and give me one chance so that I could update my work.

Waiting for the assignment to be reset.

创建者 Mark C

Nov 29, 2016

Good overview. Needs to include more hands on development. 1 star because Coursera wont let me take the capstone even after completing all four pre-requisite classes (this one is the fourth).

创建者 Luciano S

Dec 19, 2017

Didn't see That I have to complete the specialization in one year. I'm sure If I knew this information I wouldn't start the specialization. Feeling really frustrated