Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的评价和反馈

4.5
5,632 个评分
953 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

热门审阅

OK
Jun 26, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
May 13, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

筛选依据:

26 - Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的 50 个评论(共 938 个)

创建者 Karol S

Dec 11, 2017

Great course, great instructor! I think for me the more difficult was lack of simple practice tasks during course - it will much improve to understand material. Regards, and thanks!

创建者 Ramon S

Oct 14, 2020

Pretty good course! The only reason I didn't give 5/5 is because the 3rd assignment required you to know quite a lot about custom colours and how to change the colours based on values. This was not covered in the lectures and was a high pain point for me. I understand that there is a level of finding the information yourself in this course but this really did take me a very long time as the matplotlib documents are quite dense.

创建者 Ravindra S

Apr 25, 2020

It would have been better if lectures were of more length and covered relatively harder problems. Support of course staff on forums is very poor. These things can be improved.

创建者 Sebastián M

Apr 28, 2020

Too many peer reviewed assignments.

创建者 Ron M

Feb 9, 2018

Ideally, would be 2 1/2 stars if that was possible. Again, like Course 1 in the series, the time required is VERY underestimated, especially since the course is little more than a series of exercises that require extensive external research to learn how to complete. The instructor seems more interested in this subject matter than the first course, but the discussions are such high-level overview, much pouring through Stack Overflow is needed just to learn the topics. The best pieces, as in Course 1, are the extra reading that one might never otherwise be pointed towards, but other than those, a $10 web course that simply gave exercises and pointed to Google searches and Stack Overflow to learn the detailed material would accomplish 80+% of what this course does. And many find the assignments confusing which adds time or results in the wrong work product (some of that I believe is especially true for non-native language speakers) - lots of comments to that effect in the forums. Students grade each others' work product, and it is clear from doing so there are many interpretations of the exercises.

And, some students doing the evaluation of others are clearly not qualified to do so - if one does not really understand basic Python or statistics, they should not be indicating the calculations are wrong... And with three reviews required - it seems the grader uses the lowest grade of the three. If 2 reviewers give full marks, and another gives a 0, the 0 is what is recorded. This is especially annoying in tandem with the lack of value in the instruction - just getting some assignments from off the web and forcing yourself to do them would be far more satisfying.

I don't see continuing with the Michigan courses beyond this point - there are better options.

创建者 Jun-Hoe L

Feb 20, 2020

I have taken several courses on Coursera, including Data Science with R, Statistics etc. The first course on this Specialization (Pandas) was ok, I'll rate that 4 stars.

However, this course seems like a downgrade. Lectures are either too shallow or too deep. Too shallow as in there are only several short videos on Matplotlib that are very introductory and doesn't show much. Too deep as in Professor Brooks went dove deep into the architecture of Matplotlib, which I think could have been simplified and delivered in a better way.

The assignment for Week 2 and 3 are ok - but I'm starting to hate how vague the instructions are and everyone turns to the forums to figure it out. Assignment Week 4 is a disappointment, as the allocated topic is almost impossible to draw up information on and in the end everyone just pick their own 2 dataasets, which is another challenge. I feel a better way would be offer several sets of data to choose from.

this course is not entirely bad, I just feel that i didn't learn as much and what I learn comes from googling Stack Overflow or other websites while doingthe assignments. Thus I feel that this course is not really worth its price, other than gaining a certificate and advancing the Specialisation.

创建者 Brian L

Apr 4, 2017

A good course that could be better.

I think that this course provided a reasonable introduction to Matplotlib, but the lectures need to go a bit deeper and provide more examples. The course left too much of the work to the student. [For your reference, I have a PhD in Mathematics, taught for several years at a highly selective undergraduate college, and have extensive experience in industry as a Matlab and SAS user.] The homework assignments were substantial, and I enjoyed doing the final assignment which required merging two or more datasets using Pandas and then Matplotlib to plot relationships. The course website provides estimates of the number of hours required to complete the assignments, but these were gross underestimates because so much about Matplotlib was left to the student. I would have preferred a bit more lecture time, more examples, and a few side tutorials on using Jupyter and notebooks (how to download and upload), especially since we were grading the code of our fellow students.

创建者 Robert S

Oct 13, 2020

The course began well, with a focus on the elements that make for good visual presentations. When it came to applying Python and Pandas to attain those design goals, however, I found the course lectures to be superficial and mostly unhelpful. I ended up having to teach myself the basics of merging dataframes, generating interactive charts, and applying Matplotlib. Even now I don't feel that I have a good handle on the concepts. The lectures could benefit from the use of more graphics, ironically, and not just have a talking head or code sections. For example, should we use the backend to generate Matplotlib plots or the plt.plot function? There was too little guidance on these points, forcing me to invest in my own separate reading materials just to try to figure out how to make things work.

创建者 Jáchym D

Nov 1, 2020

It does teach you matplotlib in a way but really misses the whole figure, axes, axis differentiation. I had to read a lot that was not a part of this course. Some things are outdated and the assignments are good (the last one was superb!), but they really are not suited for a beginner. The first one was trivial (no coding), second was great but had bad instructions and third exercise was too difficult. You don't learn half of it during the short vids and then they expect you to pull of something like that.

I would not recommend this course and would regret buying it if I didn't get it for free. However, it does the job and teaches you matplotlib basics.

创建者 Ivan K

Aug 25, 2020

Course materials are more than 4 years old. That describes not only the videos but also the age of the various Python libraries that you will be working with. The charting and data visualizations discussed are the really the most basic kind that you might find more easily executed in Excel or Google Sheets. My idea of data science visualizations are not bar charts, scatters, line graphs, and box charts.

The age of the course also means that there will be almost no discussion of more contemporary data viz libraries like Seaborn or Plotly or ones I may have never heard of as this course sought to cover the most basic elements of matplotlib. Nothing presented I would say rose to the current professional and academic standards of data visualization.

创建者 Amandeep S

Apr 27, 2020

I personally struggled a lot through the course. I thought the video lecture did not go into enough depth on how to manipulate matplotlib (eg. ax objects and ticks markers are still not clear) and even in general, the explanations were lacking.I feel the pace was a bit too fast as well and the topics were not in sync. Even after completion, I am nowhere confident in my matplotlib abilities.

The Assignments should not be peer-graded, as there's no uniformity to the evaluation process, rather the instructors can share their thoughts on the candidates plots.

创建者 Charles R

Aug 25, 2020

The course teaches you about important plotting and design skills but the peer reviews and lack of clarity for the assignments makes this class less useful than it could be. In the previous class the discussion forums were an invaluable resource but in this class they are full of spam requests for a peer reviews which makes finding useful information more difficult than it should be.

创建者 Valeriya P

Aug 28, 2017

Didn't like peer grading as it introduces delays in grade and peers don't have competency to judge my work.

Also, the course should be more focused on technical matters. I really would love on the completion of the course to be guru in matplotlib (or some other plot utility) and know by hand all the tricks and methods the data can be plotted.

创建者 Cameron F

Jun 20, 2017

I really dislike the peer-graded assignments

Too much of the course is unstructured

I dislike being assigned a region and topic for the final project

I would prefer to dive less into interactivity and focus more on practicing essential plotting skills over and over again.

创建者 Maxim P

Jul 14, 2018

The only advantage are the assignments and the certificate. But there are better alternatives for information and learning matierals for pandas or matplotlib on youtube or so one. But this course isnt 50 bucks worth it.

创建者 Michael A

Aug 28, 2018

Course coordinators don't monitor the forums enough, so obtaining help from them is next to impossible. Aside from that good course, would be nicer if it focused on more modern plotting frameworks (Plotly, etc...)

创建者 George N

Apr 23, 2017

instructor advice is primarily to 'use stack overflow'.

创建者 Darien M

Nov 21, 2019

This course is anbalagous to taking a creative writing course, but all lessons are on vocabulary and grammar. Once again the lectures are unhelpful. The discussion forum in this course does not provide much help (unlike the first course in the sequence). I suppose they are applying the graduate school mentality to teaching: you want to learn it, figure it out. I myself am definitely not at that level right now.

The assignments are challenging, and you will learn from them, but you won't learn deeply. It seems all very superficial. Just look things up to get them done. Type in any question you have and a solution will certainly appear on SO. Why not give students the tools necessary to solve challenging problems on their own (like in Python for Everybody and Python 3 Programming)?

Professor Brooks is clearly passionate about programming and is very accomplished/intelligent. Unfortunately the teaching in this course is of low quality.

创建者 Hussein A

Oct 17, 2020

Didn't learn anything, have been paying for over 2 months, with very poor instructions and very tough quizzes, designed to make you search and search without understanding the fundamentals. The outcome? You paying, without really have any fundamentals rooted. Decided to cancel this specialization after various attempts to push through, without feeling that I am getting the value for what I am paying for. I am better off buying a $20 book from Amazon on Pandas and Visualizations and researching each exercise and apply my learnings on Kaggle datasets. This is unfair!

创建者 Feng H

Aug 16, 2019

Lectures are not detailed enough and speaks too fast, assignments too difficult. If I have to do my own study 90% of the time why do I need to pay tuition?

创建者 Jorge S R

Jun 6, 2020

No real teaching. Just skimming fast through a table of contents. It's better to read a book on the subject than taking the course.

创建者 Mack S

Jul 1, 2019

There are some rubbish assignments in this course which involve searching the web for badly made info graphics.

创建者 Naveen P

May 15, 2018

Well to be honest youtube videos are quite informative than this. Opting out from this course.

创建者 Yifei Z

Oct 7, 2017

I feel like this course is bad. Since it basically tell us to search google for everything.

创建者 Jakob P

Jun 19, 2017

Too few lectures with detailed explanations of the functionality of matplotlib.