Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的评价和反馈

4.5
5,638 个评分
955 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

热门审阅

OK
Jun 26, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
May 13, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

筛选依据:

101 - Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的 125 个评论(共 939 个)

创建者 Jaladh S

Apr 18, 2020

This course is excellent because it teaches not only how to create customized visualizations using matploltlib in Python, but also what principles one should follow to create an excellent visual. The assignments are designed in a way that you get to enforce those principles on the visualization you create - making them memorable throughout your Data Viz career.

创建者 Pranav U P

Jul 26, 2020

To all of you who have done the first course under this specialisation - you have GOT to do this! Its simply amazing, and will mostly deal with the practical side of things. You will learn skills to be able to clean, analyze and plot data beautifully on your own! I'm a student of grade 12, studying under the CBSE curriculum. If I can do it, SO CAN YOU!

创建者 Krishna P B

Dec 25, 2019

Taking up this course is a great way to understand how visualization libraries are organized in python. Instead of just stating down functions, the instructor has actually gone through the trouble of explaining the whole underlying architecture of how data is stored and rendered from back-end. Great work! And thank you for organizing a superb course.

创建者 Brandon H

Dec 26, 2017

There are so many components to plotting that I didn't take into consideration, and this is after having gone through a Master's program in statistics. I have taken many of the simple things into mind each time I create a visualization at my job. Thus far, I have found the first two courses in this series invaluable and highly recommend it!

创建者 Daniel H

Apr 30, 2019

Very clear explanations and wide range of tools to know different ways of data representation. I like a lot it is more a practical than a teorical course. Also, is very interesting to learn some kind of 'rules' for data rep (truthfulness, beauty, insightful, and others. Congratulations and thank you for this really good learning experience

创建者 Jin T

Mar 1, 2021

I learnt a lot from the course especially in the visualization and data analysis. The assignments are challenging but the things are covered in the courses and the recommended essays are quite useful. Hope the project can cover more dimensions of the visualization, and be more specific when giving the instructions on the assignments.

创建者 Paweł R

Apr 3, 2017

Very good course, solid introduction to matplotlib and interesting assignments. I was skeptical about the peer review format at first, but then I embraced it - good choice! I liked how the course built on the foundations of the previous one. To pass the assignments I had to use Python, pandas, matplotlib and other tools combined!

创建者 Ching-Hwa A C

May 21, 2020

Teaches the fundamentals of how to make a truthful and readable chart/graph, as well as how to consider the audience for the chart. This course introduced me to how to make a lot of different types of charts in Matplotlib that would be so useful in grad school or work, but which would have been daunting to navigate on my own.

创建者 Aditi Y

Feb 5, 2019

This was a very informational course, when you can visually see actual trends that has happened in the history or interesting facts from all over the world, with proper data backing up. What I liked the fact was how Tufte's and Cairo's principles are strongly emphasized throughout the course to get the best results possible.

创建者 Eunis N

Apr 28, 2020

It took lots of self-motivation and self-learning in addition to viewing the videos and the course Notebook. It could be challenging if you are willing to dig into fancier plotting options. But in the end, I had a super satisfying experience, 5 ⭐s! Looking back at the projects, I was amazed how I accomplished them!

创建者 Aayush G

Apr 5, 2019

Course was very well-framed. It actually covers all the possible parts of Matplotlib in a well-paced & content-rich lectures with real world problems as Assignments.

I would request my peer learners to take up a Statistics Course which will make this more clear as one can co-relate the plots & the stats behind them.

创建者 Sudhanshu S

May 26, 2020

You really need to do so much of hard work to complete the course specially in completing the assignments. The author is very fast in teaching, if you want to follow him with the lecture do revise the concepts many times in a week. But I will say it was an amazing experience in this course of specialisation.

创建者 Praveen R

Oct 29, 2019

I enjoyed learning about different plotting schemes with matplotlib. The assignments were very information to learn and explore new plotting techniques. The interactive graphics was interesting to know. seaborn is really powerful and elegant viewing schema. I want to use this in my day-to-day work too.

创建者 Sanjay N

May 29, 2018

What I like about this course is its pace and content. It can be a bit un-nerving in the beginning since the lessons are pacey. But that is what is great about online courses. You can re watch the videos and refer to the notebook examples provided to catch up. Most important - the content is great !

创建者 Shubham D

May 15, 2019

It's a really good course for data visualization, it starts from very basic of visualization including Cairo's Parameters, ethics behind visualizing data and then provide an understanding of matplotlib, seaborn and other visualization related libraries. Assignments are really helpful and amazing.

创建者 Fuat Y

Jan 7, 2018

Wow, it was a very interesting and challenging 4 weeks, I can not even compare my knowledge now to the time I started to this course, I learned a lot, searched a lot and coded a lot. I am happy now that I can create infographics, and gained a good background about what a good infographic is

创建者 Sarah M

May 27, 2020

Great intro to plotting in Python with particular focus on plotting pandas dataframes. The course covers a large variety of topics without moving too slowing, it keeps the pace up as a sort of whirl-wind intro tour that gives you a lot of useful background knowledge and some good practice.

创建者 Abrar A W

Aug 26, 2020

This is a hard course for many people as it requires much statistical knowledge which leads to hunting through a lot of resources to understand those concepts and finally coming back here and failing and trying until you are finally satisfied with what you created. Excellent Course.

创建者 Michael L

Jun 17, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn me to applied Plotting, charting and Data representation in Python from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Applied Plotting, Charting and Representing Data.

创建者 Servio P

Feb 4, 2018

This is a fantastic course. The lecturer is amazing and I learned tons of information about publication quality charts and data cleaning.

It takes plenty of time though.

I recommend this course to anyone serious in learning data science. At least to those starting in this area.

创建者 Victor E

Aug 7, 2017

The structure of the course is very well thought out. Building up from basics to more sophisticated levels, from simple tasks to very demanding problems.

I also liked that it maintains a cerain level of knowledge of participants so things from the prev courses aren't repeated

创建者 Utkarsh R

Jul 4, 2017

I really liked the course because apart from teaching the skills of creating visualizations, the course tends to focus on the bigger questions: why choose a particular template, how would others perceive what you are trying to convey. Relatively easier than the first course.

创建者 David G N A

Jul 21, 2020

Excellent course: well structured and high quality lectures. Besides, it's properly connected with the first course of the specialization and the material preserves its focus on Data Science. I completely suggest taking this course (especially after taking the first one).

创建者 Juan R C C

Aug 24, 2017

Great course!! It requires to dedicate several hours per week but it's a very good investment. Teachers, contents are very good as well than materials. Assignments are very well aligned with the course objectives and they are really profitable in terms of learning on job.

创建者 Nahim O

May 6, 2019

It's awesome, the course is incredible, I've learnt a lot of thing about python, I'd like to know more about similar python course like this. this specialization its vast to improve your knowledge in programming with python. I'm glad to took this course. Simply awesome.