Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的评价和反馈

4.5
3,420 个评分
565 个审阅

课程概述

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

热门审阅

SB

Nov 03, 2017

Loved the course! This course teaches you details about matplotlib and enables you to produce beautiful and accurate graphs.. Assignments are challanging, and helps to build a solid foundation.

ML

Jun 28, 2017

Good course to learned matplotlib and other Graphs libraries, but the course goes further than Python and also encourages the studies to create more meaningful and beautiful Graphic views.

筛选依据:

526 - Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的 550 个评论(共 553 个)

创建者 Varun D P

May 06, 2018

Lot of working is required from our side. Not at all an introductory course! More like advanced level course. Requires lot of time, we have to find the documentation ourselves and ask question on stackoverflow. If you are looking for introductory course like Dr. Chucks courses I suggest not to take this course.

创建者 Brian L

Apr 04, 2017

A good course that could be better.

I think that this course provided a reasonable introduction to Matplotlib, but the lectures need to go a bit deeper and provide more examples. The course left too much of the work to the student. [For your reference, I have a PhD in Mathematics, taught for several years at a highly selective undergraduate college, and have extensive experience in industry as a Matlab and SAS user.] The homework assignments were substantial, and I enjoyed doing the final assignment which required merging two or more datasets using Pandas and then Matplotlib to plot relationships. The course website provides estimates of the number of hours required to complete the assignments, but these were gross underestimates because so much about Matplotlib was left to the student. I would have preferred a bit more lecture time, more examples, and a few side tutorials on using Jupyter and notebooks (how to download and upload), especially since we were grading the code of our fellow students.

创建者 Vishen M

Feb 07, 2018

Good course.

创建者 Rahul

Jul 03, 2018

Peer grading is not worthy

创建者 Corey K

Jul 07, 2018

Not enough in-lesson quizzes and somewhat confusing presentation of what's going on under the hood of matplotlib. Way too many "go read this" segments that seemed mostly a waste of time. Outside of that, the lecture quality was very good.

创建者 Tiberiu T

Mar 31, 2018

This is a whirlwind course that glibly covers some very important concepts without devoting enough time to each one. Week One, although important, should be replaced with more coverage of matplotlib, or a review of the different types of charts and when to use them.

Also, although I appreciate the in-video quizzes, it is difficult to go back and review the concepts you learn from them because they are not in the Jupyter notebook. For instance, there was a method Dr. Brooks used in a solution to an in-video quiz and I could not remember where I had seen it. I stumbled on it again after reviewing the video for something else.

创建者 Isuru W

Jul 03, 2018

This is ok. I don't think it is very structured. Homeworks are not guided well

创建者 Harshith S

Jun 03, 2019

Better than the previous one. But still very vague explanations

创建者 Rodolfo G

Jun 21, 2019

it is not as extensive as other courses in Coursera, it should try to expand a little more its content

创建者 Saman H A

Aug 15, 2019

Materials, slides and videos were not adequate and didn't provide enough details.

There were many many typos and misleading syntax errors in lecture subtitles.

创建者 Marcel K

May 21, 2019

I wish they'd update the accompanying notebooks - their versions of pandas and related libraries are several years behind at this point.

创建者 Alex W

Oct 26, 2019

The instructions for the second assignment are terrible. My peers graded my assignment based on what they thought the instructions implied I should have done instead of what it explicitly stated so I may have to repeat the assignment and could risk not passing the course which puts my whole specialization at risk. It's ridiculous since I spent sooooo much time on the assignment already due to lack of guidance from the video lectures.

创建者 Sandeep S

Sep 20, 2019

Week 4 - Assignment is very frustrating.

创建者 Andy F

Sep 20, 2019

The lectures really need to flesh things out more, they too often feel too fleeting and leave more than they probably should to searching other resources. Questions for the final piece clearly haven't changed in at least two years and lack clarity as to what should be done

创建者 Muhammad s k

Oct 12, 2019

Not a defining one

创建者 Kumar I

May 25, 2017

Compared to the first course in this series, I found this one not so challenging. The final project was very loose (I understand that the instructors wanted to give the feel of a real research). The first assignment was very superficial. As much as Cairo's principles are important, I feel devoting an entire assignment to that is justified. The second and third were relatively straight-forward, but that was perhaps the saving grace.

Wish the course spent time in dwelling on complex visualizations.

创建者 Steven O

Mar 18, 2017

I think there there is too much time given to the esoteric of what makes plots pretty rather than the nuts and bolts of how to do it and the limitations of using Pandas and Matplotlib for real world data

创建者 Bruce H

Feb 14, 2018

The concept is good: introduce the theory of information visualization and introduce how to make charts with Python and matplotlib. Unfortunately the materials are deficient for the programming part. There aren't nearly enough practice exercises to help you learn matplotlib. The previous course in this specialization (intro to data science in python) by comparison has many more guided practice exercises, and I am disappointed that this course does not live up to the standard set by the first course. If you are taking the complete specialization, as I am, then I guess it's worth it and I hope the next courses in the series have more material.

创建者 Xing W

Jul 25, 2017

Not well organized.

创建者 Jason B

Oct 16, 2017

Some of the material was interesting but on a whole not nearly as engaging as course 1. I fully can appreciate how the principles of chart design are valuable to the subject matter covered in this series but on a whole I would have liked more focus on the technical skills and maybe had the academic perspective on design extra reading.

Also the peer grading portion of this course is a little rough. The people that graded my work were great but I don't expect them to engage my work in a very meaningful way. It's not realistic to ask them to give their full effort to grade 3 assignments for an online course that they pay for. My personal preference would have been to structure the assignments so that they could be automatically graded like in course 1.

创建者 Linda L

Jun 13, 2018

I am not too crazy over the peer review assignments plus the course was hard to follow

创建者 Filippo R

Mar 30, 2018

The rate lectures/assignment is disappointingly low, a lot of time goes only to find data available online and to find questions to answer. In my work I have plenty of opportunity to apply data science and very little knowledge on how to. This course gave me more assignments and not so much tools.

创建者 Kaya Ö

Apr 24, 2019

.

创建者 Alexandre G

Oct 11, 2019

This course only scratches the service of the subject and asks the learner to learn almost everything by himself searching the Internet. The lecture content must be expanded significantly in order to give enough knowledge for the programming assignments.

创建者 jun L

Jul 28, 2018

The course does provide a good guideline on evaluate a good chart. However, as a fundamental course of introduce plot in python, I don't think the course is well structured. I can't say I learn too much from this course.