Chevron Left
返回到 The Introduction to Quantum Computing

学生对 圣彼得堡国立大学 提供的 The Introduction to Quantum Computing 的评价和反馈

4.4
stars
144 个评分
44 条评论

课程概述

"Quantum Computing" is among those terms that are widely discussed but often poorly understood. The reasons of this state of affairs may be numerous, but possibly the most significant among them is that it is a relatively new scientific area, and it's clear interpretations are not yet widely spread. The main obstacle here is the word "quantum", which refers to quantum mechanics - one of the most counter-intuitive ways to describe our world. But fear not! This is not a course on quantum mechanics. We will gently touch it in the beginning and then leave it apart, concentrating on the mathematical model of quantum computer, generously developed for us by physicists. This doesn't mean that the whole course is mathematics either (however there will be enough of it). We will build a simple working quantum computer with our bare hands, and we will consider some algorithms, designed for bigger quantum computers which are not yet developed. The course material is designed for those computer scientists, engineers and programmers who believe, that there's something else than just HLL programming, that will move our computing power further into infinity. Since the course is introductory, the only prerequisites are complex numbers and linear algebra. These two are required and they have to be enough. Happy learning!...

热门审阅

BP

Aug 27, 2019

Heavily Packed course..Touched the tip of a huge iceberg named "Beauty of Mathematics" from this course..Thanks to Coursera and the team for this insightful journey of 5 weeks with you.

MF

Oct 18, 2019

Good course for the beginners, who want to dive into the mysterious world of quantum computing.\n\nthankyou coursera & Sergey for his great effort...a big thumbs up

筛选依据:

26 - The Introduction to Quantum Computing 的 44 个评论(共 44 个)

创建者 Leomar M M

Sep 26, 2019

Overall good course. It certainly helps understanding a bit about quantum computing.

创建者 俞柳君

Apr 29, 2019

Intense and fun. Very helpful course! Strongly recommended.

创建者 Sahar B R

Dec 09, 2019

Very good initiation to quantum computing field

创建者 Sreeprakash N

Nov 05, 2019

Excellent! Thanks very much for this course.

创建者 Luis A E

Feb 08, 2019

Nice Course.

创建者 BISHWAJIT P G

Feb 16, 2019

good

创建者 James M

Dec 08, 2019

Overall a very good course. For me the best value of this course is that it got me started on quantum computing and moved me passed the initial mathematics pretty quickly so that I could get an appreciation for quantum computing without having to be an expert with the math and quantum mechanics itself. This being said, after having completed the course I still feel I have a lot to learn. I also agree with other reviewers concerning the last two weeks of the course and that the presentation could have been better.

Nevertheless, I feel I have some momentum going with the subject and I hope to be able to go back to my textbook "Quantum Computing for Computer Scientist" and continue my studies.

On a practical side I would also like to acknowledge that this course helped be to understand better the nature of problems that will lend themselves to being solved better with quantum algorithms and those for which classical algorithms are no worse. This will be important to know as we move forward and separate the hype from the reality.

创建者 Vaishnavi A

Jan 12, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course and I loved the way the instructor gradually built up the concepts. Sometimes, I had difficulty following some technical terms. I think this comes under the prerequisites for taking up this course. The module exercises were not too easy, but they were not difficult either. They were good. On the whole, I enjoyed taking up this course. I wish there was less math though.

创建者 Stephen T

Mar 07, 2019

I enjoyed this course, but found it tough going. I knew very little about Quantum Computing before I began, nevertheless I found this course to be a useful introduction to the subject. However, I would recommend that anyone seeking to complete the course should check first that they are competent with the necessary mathematical prerequisites.

创建者 Bilal T

Jan 13, 2020

It was a good introductory course with a lot of details covered relating basics of quantum computation. It would have been a lot better if more solved examples would have been added to give more clarity to the concept. This intern would have allowed a better understanding in doing the assignments/quizzes. Over all I enjoyed the course.

创建者 Pranav J

Nov 04, 2019

Need more context and extra knowledge other than the course for completion. But it helped me guide as to what all I need to learn in order to move forward in the field

创建者 Vivek P

Mar 23, 2019

It was a well organized course. The assignments were challenging, but they were solvable. The Professor taught really well!

创建者 Cheng-Ya, Y

Aug 24, 2019

It's a really great course and I finally may take a peek at the field of quantum computing.

创建者 Diego E S

Oct 15, 2019

Weeks 1, 2 and 3 are a great introduction to Quantum Computing! The instructor covers very clearly all of the subjects related to QC. I wish the background material could be either explained more clearly, or some additional references be provided. The exams during these weeks are difficult, but working through them enhances your understanding of the subject.

Weeks 4 and 5 are a completely different story. Unfortunately, it is as if the instructor completely forgot that the only prerequisites listed for the course were complex numbers, and linear algebra. If you are a slow learner (like I am), you better be prepared to spend at least an additional 10 hours per week searching for additional references to fully understand the material covered. Every topic related to QC the instructor covers extremely well; it is the supporting material and the mathematics needed to understand it that requires extra time. I think that there are other very interesting introductory subjects that could've been discussed (like quantum teleportation and error correction), instead of spending so much time on proofs and formalisms of the algorithms; those could be covered in a more advanced course.

In summary, I recommend this course if you have a good background in classical algorithms and/or math, or are willing to spend the extra time figuring out certain subjects that aren't clearly explained.

创建者 Santo L

Jan 06, 2020

Very interesting course, however the instructor is not so clear.

创建者 Larry O

Sep 03, 2019

I disliked this course. It's quantum computing, so "difficult" is to be expected, but the material was made more challenging by the structure and delivery of the lectures. The pacing was frustrating, with some lectures often being too simplistic or digressive and then a sudden rush over important and complex math. The quizzes required some techniques that hadn't been explained (or at least not well-explained) in the lectures, I'm still not sure if I solved them in the "appropriate" way. Only reason I'm giving it two stars and not one is that the technical content is fundamentally solid.

创建者 N A I K

Nov 05, 2019

Since the title is introduction the program could have been more simplistic in nature and later on go towards more complicated subjects, a brief introduction should be there for all the notations, symbols, equations,etc that are being used. It took me more than a month to clear week 4. I request to change the contents into a better presentable way

创建者 José R T M

Sep 17, 2019

Hard to undestand and monotonous. The course if just informative, but it requires a lot of background on many topics to be finished.

创建者 Piotr Y

Nov 11, 2019

The first three weeks are quite interesting ones. Thank you very much to the lecturer for this exciting material. The lessons are well-groomed and I've been able to learn a lot of interesting things during them. However, the next two last weeks are just pure math symbolic manipulations with very tenuous physical sense and very little insight about what is going on. Tests questions are remotely linked to the lecture content and usually about general Mathematical knowledge. All in all I consider this course as a Math refresher and a useful bootstrap module which allows to gently read and understand more advanced literature about quantum computing in particular and quantum physics in general.

I'm giving this course only one star because I would quite strongly advice you against this lesson while the material for the last two weeks stays as is. I've passed this course with 99.2% (100% at all the first weeks, 96% at the last one) so this review doesn't come from somebody sad or angry to have failed.