Chevron Left
返回到 Rails 的 Active Record 与 Action Pack

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Rails 的 Active Record 与 Action Pack 的评价和反馈

4.7
739 个评分
155 条评论

课程概述

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

热门审阅

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

筛选依据:

101 - Rails 的 Active Record 与 Action Pack 的 125 个评论(共 148 个)

创建者 Roman T

Mar 13, 2016

excelent course

创建者 ena

Mar 03, 2016

THANKS A LOT!!!

创建者 Bruno

Feb 17, 2016

Great course.

创建者 朱勇宣

Feb 26, 2016

great course

创建者 Serjey G I

Nov 17, 2015

Nice course!

创建者 Subhrajit D

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent !

创建者 Uladzislau R

Jan 19, 2017

very useful

创建者 Walter J K

Jul 09, 2019

Excellent!

创建者 Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Excellent!

创建者 Alan M S

Feb 15, 2016

Very good!

创建者 Balaji N

Feb 08, 2016

I love it

创建者 Daniel

May 02, 2016

awesome!

创建者 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Good

创建者 Derek H

Feb 23, 2018

This course is much better than the previous course "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction". If you struggled through the first class, this one is much more user friendly and easy to go along with.This is definitely a Rails course, with the first course being a Ruby course.

The professor's audio issues are much less pronounced in this course and less noticeable. The lectures are not as monotone and boring to listen to as well.

The modules are broken down into better sections that flow together. The materials, though older, can still be followed and course materials can be used. There has been at least some updates for newer versions of Ruby, Rails, and gems.

The assignments go with the course lectures and many of the examples can point you in the right direction. The assignments are not direct copies of the lectures with many items needing to be modified to accommodate for the assignment requirements. Each module is a take/variation of the previous assignment, which is nice because you get a better sense of how they are working together. The RSPEC files are much better at actually pointing you towards what your issues are. The Wiki site has more beneficial Q/A.

With the assignment time estimates, I found that I usually had to double the higher estimates for the amount that I would spend on each one.

One of the problems with this course is that the assignment files seem to be written by multiple people. They can be very confusing at times, hard to follow. Because the assignments are written in this way, some things will break but are fixed in later steps, though you will not know that they are fixed later after you spend time trying to fix the issues so RSPEC or the Web test will pass.

Another problem with the course has to do with Rails in general. It has some weird conventions and tries to be "Too helpful" at times. You will still have to use Google to figure out what the correct convention is and maybe why some things are done.

创建者 Ted H

Oct 30, 2019

I really enjoyed this course! The lecturer was excellent and covered everything thoroughly. The main problem was ensuring an older version of Ruby on Rails was installed (especially for Windows). Make sure you spend a lot of time at the beginning installing Rails 4.2.8 - otherwise you'll always have trouble getting the automated grader to accept your assignments. For the same reason you will have to constantly adjust the Gem versions in your Gemfile.

创建者 Gregory J

Oct 17, 2016

Great course for understanding Active Record and managing data in a rails app. As someone new to ruby on rails, I found some details were glossed over, and some explanations were vague. However, the assignments were very well structured and filled in any gaps I had from the lectures.

创建者 Meis

Sep 09, 2016

Well explained content, though at times the presentation felt a little slow. Solid coding assignments that do a good job of reenforcing the course materials. A couple small topics weren't explained clearly but overall it's been a very informative class. Thanks for the knowledge!

创建者 Ania M

Nov 14, 2017

The course is very good. The only feedback I have is that it seems as though a lot of Windows users have to struggle with setting up the assignment environments and have to seek guidance from outside sources (e.g. Stack Overflow) for get the issues resolved.

创建者 維宸 吳

Apr 08, 2016

Smooth pace and each assignment related to further one is very helpful for understanding course material.

while I think partial or helper should provide 2 or 3 extra example code in extra reading material to know when to use partial, when to use helper.

创建者 Caspar A

Jun 08, 2016

Not as strong a course as the first course in the specialization. The lectures glossed over some things, while the assignments were a little repetitive. Nevertheless, a solid class on using rails with relational databases.

创建者 Tichaona B N

Sep 02, 2016

Great course. It open ed up my eyes to how simple it can be to generate a workable MVC web application without having to dive too deep into the working of the application,

创建者 Qun X L

Mar 06, 2017

Learn a lot of new knowledge from this course. knowledge points clear, assignment workload OK. This is the good place to learn Active Record and Action Pack.

创建者 Daichi Y

Dec 15, 2018

It was an awesome course! There is just one thing; the versions of Ruby and Ruby on Rails look to be a bit out-dated. Thank you!

创建者 Giorgio P F G T

Jun 25, 2016

Very good course.

The professor explains a lot from the framework and other concepts of web development.

Very worth it!!

创建者 Matthew H

Nov 27, 2016

Quick and easy to understand lectures. I was able to pick up active record and action pack quickly!