Chevron Left
返回到 Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

学生对 明尼苏达大学 提供的 Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees 的评价和反馈

4.7
3,203 个评分
766 条评论

课程概述

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

热门审阅

KM
Nov 25, 2020

Great course to learn the theoretical background of HR management through practical applications. I highly recommend this course. Thank you all for the immense support provided throughout the course.

SB
Sep 7, 2017

It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire bit of this course. Very interactive. Took a lot from this course. Very happy. Hoping to enroll for more courses in future. Thanks once again Coursera.

筛选依据:

751 - Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees 的 771 个评论(共 771 个)

创建者 SUBBARAO A N

Apr 12, 2018

A bit of a let down!

创建者 Anupama S

May 15, 2020

Good

创建者 Catherine H

Aug 1, 2019

This course wasn't as good as the first one in the HR specialization, Preparing to Manage Human Resources. The quality of the videos was poor, with the introductions being almost impossible to hear and then the following fragment very loud. The videos were interrupted at weird places, in the middle of a sentence for example, for in-video quizzes and there were other unfinished sentences and lost of long breaks. The instructor spoke in a monotonous voice and didn't use many tools to make it more interesting. I found it difficult not to get distracted - the total opposite of the Preparing to Manage Human Resources course.

The quizzes included many questions that weren't discussed in the videos, or sometimes even marked answers as wrong while the video clearly said it was the right answer. Also, in case of a wrong answer, it didn't say afterwards which should've been the right answer, just that it was wrong. How are you supposed to learn from you mistakes this way?

The course gave some suggested reading, however it only gave a link to the homepage of a website. It would've been helpful to get suggestions on interesting articles or pages on the website, or at least mention why this website is relevant.

One of the videos included a link to a YouTube video, which was an interesting video but the course said it would only take 10 minutes while the video lasts over an hour.

Finally, I'd suggest to get a quality check on peer review assignments. I spent quite some time on my assignment and on reviewing others, including constructive feedback even in cases where I thought the quality of the work was poor. In most cases I just received a grade back from other peers, or in the best case a rushed comment saying 'great work'. This doesn't feel rewarding and I wonder what's the point of taking this course if the quality is not monitored.

Overall, I found the contents of HR management interesting but the course disappointing.

创建者 Matjaz

Apr 6, 2020

Took this course and although Amy seems like a very pleasant person, the course doesn't quite live up to the expectations:1. There's a lot of general theory but very little practical cases how to actually use it and a lot of information is very vague. For instance: "if it's cold outside, dress in a way you won't be cold." Well, if course I want to dress warm, but the information I would expect to get is: what types of materials to use (wool, cotton, polyester...), what type of gloves to wear, which socks to use, how to layer the clothes so I get the best effect. And this is the biggest problem of the course, giving us obvious information but little information with any added value.2. A lot of story telling (refers to #1), which again, is harder to use in practical work situation.3. Quite a big part of the course refers specifically to the American legislation and practices. I understand it's an American University but judging by some other courses, this could be done with less emphasis.4. Outdated additional readings and listenings. Using old sources (i.e. referring to almost 20 years old articles). Sometimes links to certain examples of good practice don't even work anymore because they're so outdated and companies replaced the content with something else.Like I wrote in beginning - Amy seems really nice and all this topic has potential, but the outcome is really not so great. But maybe if you would revise it and bring it up to date, it would make a great course!

创建者 JIA N

Jun 2, 2020

I am not satisfied with the course at all. Firstly the recording. It is observed multiple times that the first 50 secs of a video was recorded poorly - the audio volume recorded was so low that it was not audible.

Secondly, the content. The slides were blunt. Many times the entire slide is just one big title or a few bullet points. I might as well just read the transcript.

The quiz is not well designed. The questions are literally trying to test the recency of you watching the video. There is a question which asks you to choose the right percentage of something from four options! It is not even a fact that is worth to remember! Many other questions are simply true/false questions, which does not require you to apply what you learned from the lecture but rather remember what you have watched.

Even for the lecture itself, the lecturer gave absolute statements without qualifying it or combining it with sufficient contexts, which is off-putting. For instance, one of her opinions is, "whenever you can, hire internally". She gave reasons such as boosting morale, less hiring costs etc. These are true reasons but "whenever you can" gives the absoluteness and it is ambiguous (how do you define can/cannot?)

I feel pretty upset after going thru the first two weeks of content and just don't want to waste my time any more.

创建者 Adrienne C

Aug 12, 2019

This course seemed much less thought out than the other courses in this specialization. The slides were lacking, with only one or two words on a slide while the professor rambled on for minutes at a time. Dead air randomly through every video made it seem like no one had bothered to review these before posting them online. The random splicing of in-lecture quizzes seemed like an after thought, especially because they were typically quizzing on something that hadn't yet been addressed.

The other courses in this specialization have been fantastically put together, and if this were the first course I had attempted, I probably wouldn't have bothered with the specialization as a whole.

创建者 Julie L

Apr 10, 2020

Very basic and outdated content. This course teaches the basics of how Hiring and Onboarding were done 15 years ago. It does not mention the new innovative methods that Best companies use today. It barely mentions the new A.I.-driven and/or video-based technologies available today to look for a job or how to hiring Millennials. Good if you don't know anything about Hiring at all (like what are the steps: phone call, interview, background checks, etc.)

创建者 Alka P

Sep 1, 2019

3 stars because of fluctuating audio, repetition of subject matter instead of giving contemporary examples and the last assignment was not well directed nor laid out for us. I hope students aren't just giving each other the highest scores just to get a high score. I'm here to learn. With an assignment like that, I am rethinking paying for more of these HRM courses.

创建者 Madhavi D

Jul 27, 2019

The course was good but I did not enjoy the teaching style/presentation of the lecturer. Professors/Lecturers in other courses have made their course more interesting using well crafted slides. This course had lot of monotonous talking and very less of slides. Its becomes a challenge to sit through such lectures.

创建者 Cindy H

May 4, 2017

I liked the professors and their delivery but I felt the content was too relative to one's job. I found that not all of it was relevant to me and I abhorred the final peer graded assignment. It was long winded and repetitive.

创建者 Oliver M

Jul 1, 2021

C​ourse material is not well maintaned, quizzes have formatting errors and submission's are very simple. Expected content more deeper; very on the surface. Delivery of the content by the instructors isn't very well performed.

创建者 Eline J

Oct 8, 2017

I was a bit disappointed... I hoped to dive a little deeper into HR this time, but all the information was quite self-evident.

创建者 Andreea P

Mar 31, 2020

This course had been taught only for managers but I am an HR professional and this course had hardly manage to engage me.

创建者 Nanda K

Jun 7, 2021

It should be taught by Proff John budd he explains the topic very well

创建者 Amr S

Mar 17, 2019

not as good as the first course in the specialization

创建者 NTAKIRUTIMANA J D

Sep 2, 2020

ok

创建者 Farid R

Aug 22, 2016

WoW awful presentation but great instructor. I expected much more than this but :(

Leveraging employer brand is not compelete :\

创建者 Ayah H A

Dec 8, 2016

I can't pass because you don't allow me submit my assignment and asked me to subscribe although this course is paid !!!

创建者 VENKATRAMAN P

Aug 7, 2020

My assignment is in due

创建者 TONMOY K

Jun 21, 2020

it was a good course

创建者 Robert H

Jul 7, 2018

0