Chevron Left
返回到 Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom

学生对 新泽西州立罗格斯大学 提供的 Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom 的评价和反馈

4.7
54 个评分
19 条评论

课程概述

What is the purpose of government? Why should we have a State? What kind of State should we have? Even within a political community, there may be sharp disagreements about the role and purpose of government. Some want an active, involved government, seeing legal and political institutions as the means to solve our most pressing problems, and to help bring about peace, equality, justice, happiness, and to protect individual liberty. Others want a more minimal government, motivated, perhaps, by some of the disastrous political experiments of the 20th Century, and the thought that political power is often just a step away from tyranny. In many cases, these disagreements arise out of deep philosophical disagreements. All political and legal institutions are built on foundational ideas. In this course, we will explore those ideas, taking the political institutions and political systems around us not as fixed and unquestionable, but as things to evaluate and, if necessary, to change. We will consider the ideas and arguments of some of the world’s most celebrated philosophers, including historical thinkers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Mary Wollstonecraft, and John Stuart Mill; and more contemporary theorists such as Elizabeth Anderson, Isaiah Berlin, Thomas Christiano, Frantz Fanon, Amy Gutmann, Friedrich Hayek, Robert Nozick, Martha Nussbaum, Julius Nyerere, Ayn Rand, John Rawls, Peter Singer, and Kok-Chor Tan. The aim of the course is not to convince you of the correctness of any particular view or political position, but to provide you with a deeper and more philosophically-informed basis for your own views, and, perhaps, to help you better understand the views of those with whom you disagree....

热门审阅

S

Jul 08, 2020

Hello everyone\n\nI would like to thank coursear for this course and in particular the instructor

M

Apr 01, 2019

that was really helpful and thanks from coursers for outstanding opportunities

筛选依据:

1 - Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom 的 19 个评论(共 19 个)

创建者 F A M

Apr 01, 2019

that was really helpful and thanks from coursers for outstanding opportunities

创建者 Juan M C B

Nov 05, 2018

Great reflexions on democracy

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 28, 2020

For someone who has little knowledge about the the different theories on utility, justice, equality, and freedom, I really gained a lot from this course! The lessons and activities really challenged my thinking and reasoning. Thank you so much!

创建者 Abdulaziz S B

Dec 07, 2019

Very good

创建者 Mohamad A T

Dec 08, 2019

Very helpful to have better idea how important topics are defined from different schools and point of views.

创建者 Miguel A T O

Jun 07, 2020

Me sorprendió el curso, es necesario organizar el tiempo ya que se realizan muchas lecturas y en este caso es necesario distribuir las lecturas correspondientes de la semana para realizarse con calma, el contenido es excelente PERO tiene un gran problema, la plataforma ofrece el curso gratuitamente, no dan opción en comprar el certificado, si ustedes quieren obtener un certificado por haber tomado este curso es mejor que busquen otro, si lo que ustedes buscan es conocimiento, bienvenido.

创建者 Giselle J P

Jul 05, 2020

It was an excellent course. Many concepts and theories were new to me, thus broadening the horizon of my understanding on Utility, Justice, Equality and freedom to a new level. The assignments especially has made me think on these subjects and expeess a personal view. The peer review has helped me understand the others perspective on the subject

创建者 Mr. A T - L P S

May 07, 2020

Wonderful course to understand these great ideas.

创建者 Abdirashiid m w

Jun 16, 2020

THANKS FOR GIVING CHANCE SUCH LIKE THIS

创建者 justin b

Jun 25, 2020

Content was great. Readings, videos and discussion forums where above many other courses I have taken. Some room for improvement would be to look at new solutions to age old problems. Also, maybe a socio-economic focus shift from political rights to economic rights. From my personal experience all over the world freedom is directly related to money. So, if we all had more of it we would all be more free. Things like guaranteed income or basic higher minimum wage. Also, duty vs responsibility could have been more addressed. Or more importantly what are they and why are they important, for example should we rely on donations of the super rich to keep cultural arts or should we rely on government or communities. Maybe that would be an extension to this course but important nonetheless. All in all, great course to take.

创建者 Shruti R

Jul 22, 2020

nice explanation sir. thank you

创建者 Corderro B

Jul 11, 2020

Very satisfying course. Lectures were empathetic, encouraging, and intellectually and academically sound. In short, everything you want in a mentor! Great course if you want to know about the ideas of civility, justice, equality, freedom, and the state(s) of the world.

创建者 Daniela E

Jul 23, 2020

Great course! The lectures are very clear and the reading material is adequate for the learning goals.

创建者 Suliman A

Jul 08, 2020

Hello everyone

I would like to thank coursear for this course and in particular the instructor

创建者 Alyssa M

Jul 09, 2020

Loved this class so much that I just signed up for part 2!

创建者 Anusha S

Jun 24, 2020

The lectures were concise and useful!

创建者 IJEOMA C

Aug 02, 2020

it was very educational

创建者 Md R H

Jul 13, 2020

Very good course

创建者 Scenario E

Jul 15, 2020

FANTASTIC