Chevron Left
返回到 Risk in Modern Society

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 Risk in Modern Society 的评价和反馈

4.7
104 个评分
33 条评论

课程概述

Risk has become one of the defining features of modern society. Almost daily, we are preoccupied with assessing, discussing, or preventing a wide variety of risks. It is a cornerstone notion for businesses and organizations, but also for nation states and their many levels of government. And even for individuals, risk and the avoidance or embracing thereof, is a key theme. The course Risk in Modern Society sheds light on the broad concept of risk. In five distinctive weeks, this course closely examines various types of safety and security risks, and how these are perceived and dealt with in a wide array of professional and academic fields, ranging from criminology, counter-terrorism and cyber security, to philosophy, safety and medical science. Developed in collaboration with scholars from three universities (Leiden, Delft and Erasmus), this course will search for answers to questions such as: “what is risk?”, “how do we study and deal with risk?”, “does ‘perceived risk’ correspond to 'real' risk?”, and “how should we deal with societal perceptions of risk, safety and security?...

热门审阅

CB

May 09, 2020

Interesting content, great videos/lectures. More opportunity to debate/discuss with others would be great. Really enjoyed learning this topic.

KF

Oct 07, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Very informative. I also like the fact that you actually have to put work into it in order to pass.

筛选依据:

1 - Risk in Modern Society 的 25 个评论(共 33 个)

创建者 Gunther B

Feb 07, 2019

This course is an excellent introduction to risk and how society organizes itself around the management of risk. It was a topic that I was interested in, and now that interest has been magnified greatly. They provided very practical explanations within an overarching framework that can be applied in many ways. The quality of the instructors was absolutely top-notch.

创建者 Kristopher R

Mar 02, 2020

I really appreciated the classes on risk perception and how it can really influence us to the point of actual risk. I can see even how my wife and I perceive risk differently and how it affects our relationship. I found that a good read to accompany this portion of the class is "Buddha's Brain" by Rick Hansen. He talks about keep the potential trouble in the right perspective. Don't make a missile out of an arrow.

创建者 Dale S

Apr 21, 2020

Fantastic course. I didn't expect it to be as in depth and interesting as it was. I really enjoyed the methods of learning and video presentations did a really good job on re-capping each weeks work. I will certainly be interested in learning more via the University of Leiden.

创建者 jessica d s n

Nov 08, 2018

Curso incrível que além de contextualizar todos os conteúdos com dados históricos, dados de pesquisas e com a realidade, conta com um corpo docente altamente qualificado e os materiais indicados para aprofundamento do aprendizado são extremamente relevantes e precisos.

创建者 Martín V

May 08, 2020

Great introductory course on the concept of risk and the different approaches to it from both security studies and safety sciences. Great selection of articles and top-notch lecturers. Highly recommended!

创建者 Ashok K

May 16, 2018

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

r

e

l

a

v

e

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

.

T

h

a

n

ks to the instructors and the university and Coursera for putting this course. I am sure this course will be updated every time the new risks show on horizon.

创建者 Francisco J G M

Apr 23, 2018

An extraordinary course made by talented people and great knowledge. Thanks to : Instructors, Experts, Universiteit Leiden (CFI), Staff, and Coursera for this great opportunity.

创建者 Klaus D P

Mar 11, 2018

Excellent course which gives a brilliant overview over a relevant topic. Short and concise video lectures, very inspiring and stimulating. Highly recommended!

创建者 Igor M

Mar 30, 2018

A rewarding introductory level course which I would highly recommend to those interested in the topic. Don't miss any of the readings, it's worth the time!

创建者 Cindy B

May 09, 2020

Interesting content, great videos/lectures. More opportunity to debate/discuss with others would be great. Really enjoyed learning this topic.

创建者 Katrina F

Oct 07, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Very informative. I also like the fact that you actually have to put work into it in order to pass.

创建者 Carlos C

Apr 13, 2020

This is a high-quality course with top-notch professors/instructors. Great content and materials. I learned a LOT.

创建者 Rupert H

Feb 28, 2018

Excellent presentations by all instructors. Very well laid with enough depth to not overwhelm. Simply superior!

创建者 Carlos E P d A

Jun 27, 2018

Excellent course! I broadened my view and ability to reason about risks in modern society.

创建者 Md M R

Sep 17, 2019

Great introductory course - well presented, short and full of information. Thanks

创建者 Fumihiko T

Mar 07, 2018

This is a good course to learn basic concepts and principles of risk management!

创建者 Garima S B

Dec 11, 2019

A great overview of Risk in modern society, well explained and informative!

创建者 Geke

May 10, 2020

Very interesting! Super nice video clips and interesting readings.

创建者 Haryanto " W

Aug 17, 2018

Excellent course regarding the knowledge of present day risks

创建者 ali a

Jan 14, 2019

Great it was helpful

and advanced training according to me

创建者 Sean b

May 01, 2018

Excellent class, well taught with important information!

创建者 Naveed B A

Dec 23, 2019

amazing ,I suggest to all my friends please do it .

创建者 Eriberto T

Mar 11, 2018

Very interesting, excellently done and relevant!

创建者 Kazi K I

May 04, 2020

Excellent instructors and lecture videos.

创建者 Jani P

May 04, 2020

A good course with a very timely content!