Chevron Left
返回到 Roman Art and Archaeology

学生对 亚利桑那大学 提供的 Roman Art and Archaeology 的评价和反馈

4.7
476 个评分
166 条评论

课程概述

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

热门审阅

VJ

Jul 06, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

NA

Oct 15, 2020

I really enjoyed every second of it! It was very comprehensive yet easy to understand and enjoyable. If you have the tiniest passion for classics, I definitely recommend this course!

筛选依据:

151 - Roman Art and Archaeology 的 162 个评论(共 162 个)

创建者 Varun N

May 26, 2020

Really enjoyed the course; my first about Rome

创建者 David F

Sep 26, 2016

Interesting content. Engaging instructor.

创建者 Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

great, interesting and complete course

创建者 Earl

Jul 21, 2020

Enjoyed it. thank you

创建者 char m

May 18, 2020

Excellent information.

创建者 miguel a g a

Oct 11, 2016

Quite a good resource

创建者 Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

good

创建者 Marta C B

Jun 06, 2016

I didn't find the speaker very engaging. And his habit of bringing the dog into the classes was supremely bizarre.

创建者 Karin L M

Jul 30, 2020

The course is good, but to get your peers to give a review is terrible.

创建者 Jan K

Jul 20, 2017

Very disappointed with this course. Answers to quizzes are wrong, and although students reported this months ago, no corrections have been made.

Professor is on camera much more than necessary and many of the images provided are not the best. Significant errors-- e.g. professor says that the Roman colosseum seated 20,000 while most scholars put the number closer to 50,000. His dog gets more air time than the Pantheon. He shows clips from fictional films such as Gladiator that have only marginal relation to the course.

Very little about archaeology is presented-- although the underwater segment and the one on trees were good. But no mention of aerial surveillance or ground penetrating radar. Barely anything about the traditional "dig."

This course needs a major overhaul. Much better Coursera course is Roman Architecture by Prof. Diana Kleiner from Yale. It's harder. But so much better.

创建者 Wendi S

Jul 29, 2017

For a course on art and archaeology, there seemed to be little shown. More time was spent with Dr. Soren sitting behind a desk or standing at an empty site, usually reading off the teleprompter. This course lends itself to a lot of visuals, yet that part of the course was very skimpy. And why the old movie trailers? Why did we see a whole video on Troy? This isn't even Roman, beyond the fact that several emperors likened themselves to Alexander and some Hellenistic art influence. That's not what the video referenced. Again, it was just about the discovery of Troy, historical, with no attempt to make it relevant to the course itself. I know some historical background is needed to keep the work in context, but this was more of a history class than an art-based one. And as much as I love dogs, was that really necessary? Trying to be funny or cute didn't work.

创建者 Elizaveta A

Mar 14, 2017

Very superficial and inconclusive.

The course professor focuses more on himself than on the material.