Chevron Left
返回到 Ruby on Rails:概述

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Ruby on Rails:概述 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,657 个评分
499 个审阅

课程概述

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

热门审阅

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

MB

May 02, 2016

Good intro, nice to mix in the various concepts that I will be working with as well (Heroku, Git, etc.). Also appreciated the Java comparisons since I have been working in Java for 15 years.

筛选依据:

1 - Ruby on Rails:概述 的 25 个评论(共 488 个)

创建者 Sam R

Jan 21, 2019

Outdated. Should be kept current.

创建者 David A H

Oct 08, 2018

This course might have been well taught...in 2015. In 2018 it is not a good option. Course staff is no where to be found and a lot of the examples have a lot of compatibility issues! Very frustrating to try to get anything done and feel like you are just wasting money. A whole week of lectures is even somewhat useless because of compatibility issues. I stopped my payments for this course after spending over week in trying to do the last graded assignment. Do NOT recommend until its updated and the course staff are more present.

创建者 Dmitri B

May 29, 2019

really outdated and completely neglected

创建者 Haider H

May 05, 2019

The course is out of date. Assignment code is out of date. You have to install outdated gem versions and due to which run into various issues. Also the rspec test is buggy. I had to make changes in rspec test in the boilerplate to make it work.

创建者 sandeep v

Apr 24, 2019

videos are outdated could not work on it

创建者 Brett W

Feb 01, 2019

Old versions of Ruby and Rails make the exercises a chore.

创建者 Jose C G M

Jan 22, 2019

I like the content but definitely the submission and assessment should improve. The main problem is the version used in the videos is already quite old and difficult to get that version nowadays

创建者 Pedro V S d P

Nov 06, 2018

It's a good curse, but needs to be update to rails 5.

创建者 Christine G

Oct 27, 2018

I kind of learned things from the videos but I was not able to write my own programs later on from what I learned! Wasn't of much help!

创建者 Matthew B

Aug 13, 2018

OUT OF DATE. Ruby and Rails installation steps, if followed as presented in the course, will install versions of both that are incompatible with many of the code examples used in-course. I wasted more time working around the lack of support for new versions, than actually coding/learning. Help on the forums is sporadic at best.

While the content is occasionally enlightening, this course won't be viable as a career-jumpstarter until the teaching staff significantly overhaul its content for 2018/2019.

创建者 Pankaj K

Aug 03, 2018

Lectures were easy to understand but the material and the assignments were based on old versions of ruby on rails. Installing these old versions resulted in wastage of lot of my time.

创建者 Yifan Y

Jun 25, 2018

This is an abandoned course that is no longer supported. Examples shown from the lecture no longer works in real life. Lecture quality is quite poor as it spends heavily on easy things/terms while completely ignore or glance over confusing concepts. I do not recommend people taking this class unless they can do an update on this course.

创建者 Youssef M A E F M N

Apr 04, 2018

The best courses to get your hand into the ruby world and experience the power of the language. The instructor doesn't waste any time and even hints some advanced tips and tricks of the trade along the way. Totally recommend it!

创建者 Guannan C

Jul 09, 2019

this is my first online course in this field, i will never regret choosing this course. Although there are some problem in the process, I learned to use stack overflow to solve the unexpected problem and learned a lot.

创建者 Walter J K

Jul 01, 2019

The course is excellent, but some serious work needs to be done on the week 3 grader. I had a very hard time trying to get my project accepted. Also, it's about time to update to Rails 5.

创建者 Vincent T

May 30, 2019

Great introduction

创建者 Shubham k s

May 26, 2019

first of all i want to say about the framework ROR. its really intresting as well as amazing language anybody can learn it very easily and fast. its a career oriented course and mentors deliver concept very nicely . i strongly recomend this particular course. Go for it...

创建者 QU D

May 03, 2019

This class is pretty intuitive while the materials are a bit outdated.

创建者 Faisal k

Apr 27, 2019

i will really like it

创建者 Miguel R T

Apr 20, 2019

It's outdated, but the theory behind the course has been valuable to me.

创建者 William F

Apr 15, 2019

Although some of the things in the course were based on outdated versions of gems which can be irritating, the course itself was a good introduction to the way Ruby works.

创建者 Mbulaheni l M

Apr 15, 2019

challenging but exciting, thank you very much

创建者 M A M H

Apr 02, 2019

The course was good. But some of the tutorials are outdated and faced some difficulties to understand it. But overall a full package and was resourceful.

创建者 Ronghao Y

Mar 27, 2019

More coding would be great

创建者 eighty

Mar 26, 2019

I went through this material after first completing the Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl. So far, this series is greatly explaining the core details of Rails. This course also explained some of the basics of Ruby which I hadn't memorized. There are some technical issues for Windows users and the discussion forums are nearly empty, but it's still a pretty good free resource to learn Rails.