Chevron Left
返回到 Ruby on Rails:概述

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Ruby on Rails:概述 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,719 个评分
517 个审阅

课程概述

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

热门审阅

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

筛选依据:

1 - Ruby on Rails:概述 的 25 个评论(共 502 个)

创建者 Sam R

Jan 21, 2019

Outdated. Should be kept current.

创建者 David A H

Oct 08, 2018

This course might have been well taught...in 2015. In 2018 it is not a good option. Course staff is no where to be found and a lot of the examples have a lot of compatibility issues! Very frustrating to try to get anything done and feel like you are just wasting money. A whole week of lectures is even somewhat useless because of compatibility issues. I stopped my payments for this course after spending over week in trying to do the last graded assignment. Do NOT recommend until its updated and the course staff are more present.

创建者 Pedro V S d P

Nov 06, 2018

It's a good curse, but needs to be update to rails 5.

创建者 Youssef M A E F M N

Apr 04, 2018

The best courses to get your hand into the ruby world and experience the power of the language. The instructor doesn't waste any time and even hints some advanced tips and tricks of the trade along the way. Totally recommend it!

创建者 Krishna

Dec 27, 2016

Thanks to Kalman Hazins and JHU for the wonderful introduction. The course provides for a hands on introduction to the MVC framework along with the Ruby programming and Rails deployment.

创建者 Joshua D J

Nov 17, 2016

This course was a great way to review RoR. The lectures are well organized and the assignments are fun. The professor is there to answer questions and is quick to reply. Great experience!!

创建者 Jose C G M

Jan 22, 2019

I like the content but definitely the submission and assessment should improve. The main problem is the version used in the videos is already quite old and difficult to get that version nowadays

创建者 Brett W

Feb 01, 2019

Old versions of Ruby and Rails make the exercises a chore.

创建者 Matthew B

Aug 13, 2018

OUT OF DATE. Ruby and Rails installation steps, if followed as presented in the course, will install versions of both that are incompatible with many of the code examples used in-course. I wasted more time working around the lack of support for new versions, than actually coding/learning. Help on the forums is sporadic at best.

While the content is occasionally enlightening, this course won't be viable as a career-jumpstarter until the teaching staff significantly overhaul its content for 2018/2019.

创建者 Pankaj K

Aug 03, 2018

Lectures were easy to understand but the material and the assignments were based on old versions of ruby on rails. Installing these old versions resulted in wastage of lot of my time.

创建者 Dmitri B

May 29, 2019

really outdated and completely neglected

创建者 Haider H

May 05, 2019

The course is out of date. Assignment code is out of date. You have to install outdated gem versions and due to which run into various issues. Also the rspec test is buggy. I had to make changes in rspec test in the boilerplate to make it work.

创建者 Christine G

Oct 27, 2018

I kind of learned things from the videos but I was not able to write my own programs later on from what I learned! Wasn't of much help!

创建者 Yifan Y

Jun 25, 2018

This is an abandoned course that is no longer supported. Examples shown from the lecture no longer works in real life. Lecture quality is quite poor as it spends heavily on easy things/terms while completely ignore or glance over confusing concepts. I do not recommend people taking this class unless they can do an update on this course.

创建者 sandeep v

Apr 24, 2019

videos are outdated could not work on it

创建者 Bryan E

Aug 25, 2019

Do NOT pay money for this course! The grader and examples are so out of date and the ruby / rails ecosystem is so broken you'll spend most of your time trying to resolve bundler conflicts. I was absolutely unable to get a working environment for the end of this course.

Spend your money and time else where.

创建者 Inderjit S S

Dec 14, 2018

This course is peach. Amazingly coached by Prof. Hazins. I learnt a great deal about web development, ruby language, the Rails framework, version controlling using GIt, using cloud based deployment service heroku and in general it increased my knowledge about the internet on the whole ;)

创建者 omar m f

Dec 02, 2018

Highly Recommended

创建者 Claire K

Jan 03, 2019

Great introduction to Ruby!

创建者 Lalit J

Mar 21, 2019

This Course has everything a developer needs. The instructor has carefully chosen to teach all the best parts of RoR development. Thank you so much.

创建者 Jerome S

Jan 18, 2019

I think this was a great course. The various issues with versions of ruby, rails, gems, operating systems, etc was frustrating at times but at the same time very much "real world" as I learned how to reflect about possible solutions and use online resources to sleuth the problems. Looking forward to the next courses and becoming more comfortable with rails.

创建者 Mbulaheni l M

Apr 15, 2019

challenging but exciting, thank you very much

创建者 TU-NING T

Mar 13, 2019

It is pretty cool! Although the video might seem old, but most of it still works. Additionally, mostly you can find the answer from the forum. Also, you can try to figure it out by trying different things. I would say the bundle install (bundle update) is usually the most annoying one because they just depend each other, and sometimes it will be hard to figure out what is happening!

创建者 V A K

Sep 09, 2018

Good but need more depth in content.

创建者 Jimut B P

Sep 15, 2018

Good!