Chevron Left
返回到 Ruby on Rails Web Service 及其与 MongoDB 的整合

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Ruby on Rails Web Service 及其与 MongoDB 的整合 的评价和反馈

4.3
301 个评分
78 个审阅

课程概述

In this course, we will explore MongoDB, a very popular NoSQL database and Web Services concepts and integrate them both with Ruby on Rails. MongoDB is a used to handle documents with a pre-defined schema which will give the developers an ability to store, process and use data using it’s rich API. The modules will go in-depth from installation to CRUD operations, aggregation, indexing, GridFS and various other topics where we continuously integrate MongoDB with RailsRuby. We will be covering the interface to MongoDB using the Mongo Ruby API and the Mongoid ORM framework (the MongoDB access counterpart to RDBMS/ActiveRecord within Rails). The last portion of the course will focus on Web Services with emphasis on REST, its architectural style and integration of Web Services with Rails. Core concepts of Web Services like request/response, filters, data representation (XML/JSON), web linking and best practices will covered in depth. This course is ideal for students and professionals who have some programming experience and a working knowledge of databases....

热门审阅

MM

Feb 17, 2016

This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken online.\n\nIf you are interested in learning Rub on Rials with MongoDB,\n\nstop reading this comment and sign-up.

JR

Nov 22, 2016

Love this course. Helped me understand angular 1 concepts very well and with great explanations and coding examples. Keep it up and keep eating those cookies :)

筛选依据:

1 - Ruby on Rails Web Service 及其与 MongoDB 的整合 的 25 个评论(共 74 个)

创建者 MattYi

Oct 22, 2017

Overall this is a great course with a lot discussion on MongoDB and using Ruby on Rails to build web services. However, it would be better if the professor can give more explanation on codes and syntaxes rather than just copying and pasting lines of codes to command line and show what the results are - we can do that ourselves, but we want to know why that works. And also, the projects are much harder than what I expected - project 2 would definitely take more than 8 hours and so does project 3. And some of the implementations in the projects are given a great deal of hints but I actually did not find the corresponding materials within the lecture, and I sometimes don't know why I have to do it that way even though I managed to get the codes work. But as a whole this course is great - it offers a different look at database and this is the only course that talks about web services rather than web apps in this specialization. I gave my opinions not because I am complaining, but because I wish I could contribute to its becoming better.

创建者 olivier h

Oct 03, 2018

Not up to (my) expectations.

This course is not bad, I've seen much worse on coursera, BUT is it good enough to justify the investment, I'm not sure. Following the video is tedious, and boring. The instructor gives the impression he follows a recipe, and never explains why he's doing what he's doing: he rather describes what we already have on screen. I can read, thank you! I expect much more from an online course, supported by a reputable university. I expect some deeper explanation, I want to be taught why things are the way they are. Why do we choose MongoDB over a conventional RDBMS ? What are the benefits ? the drawbacks ? This should be explained to put things in context. Toward the end of first week, the instructor switches to "MongoLab". He never introduces it or explain what it is! One sentence would be enough to put things in context.

I'm not on coursera to follow a soulless recipe, Technical matters are often dry, repetitive, boring, I need to feel some excitment from the instructor, and I need him to put things in context, to unveil what is not obvious.

创建者 Milan T

Oct 20, 2018

not easy at all its professional level course, thumbs UP

创建者 William K

Aug 30, 2016

I am a full-stack developer working mainly with Ruby on Rails.

I took this course to learn about MongoDB and how it can be used with Rails, as well as to pick up certain aspects of Rails that I have not been using as much (like JBuilder)

The materials and assignments are very detailed, which shows that a lot of effort has gone into them. Although some of the work turned out to be more time-consuming than expected, I enjoyed going through it and seeing the results.

创建者 Gordon S

Jan 30, 2017

A most excellent course! I learned a lot more than I thought I would. My only comment is that the time estimates were way off for me -- I ended up spending up to four times as long as the estimate, on each week's assignment. But it was worth it.

创建者 Alan M

Jan 31, 2016

Excellent!

创建者 Utku K

May 08, 2017

Very nice course with good and fast support through the exercises. I am still a newbie for Rails and Mongo, but I think I made a good introduction to the topic. Be aware that the course may get demanding from time to time.

创建者 Scott N

Sep 03, 2017

Great exposure to Mongo and a different way of implementing a database

创建者 Cristian R

Jun 06, 2018

I learned a lot of MongoDB and how to integrate it with Rails.

创建者 Stuart C

Sep 19, 2016

This was a very challenging course, especially the programming assignments. However, it is very worthwhile.

创建者 victor s

Feb 16, 2016

Nice course about rails and mongoid, awesome

创建者 Roberto E W J

Mar 09, 2016

Awesome course!! Thanks Coursera!!

创建者 Dersu O E

Apr 30, 2017

Really good course,you will find so much valuable information in it.Even the WebService module was like standalone course by itself.

创建者 Tolga Y

Mar 19, 2016

Great way to learn about MongoDB and it's integration with Rails framework.

创建者 DUTENGJIE

Feb 23, 2018

非常好的课程,难度适中,作业有一定挑战,但是遇到问题仔细查阅论坛基本都能够解决,感谢老师的耐心解答

创建者 Natalja O

Apr 22, 2016

Great course with a lot of practical work, that makes you not only know subject, but also feel it by the tops of your fingers.

创建者 andrew.northrup@gmail.com

Jul 06, 2017

Wow, not easy, time estimates to complete course are not accurate unless you already have a understanding of the concepts, but 100% worth the time. Instructors provide prompt feedback and most questions have already been asked so typically you can find what you need when you get stumped.

创建者 Matt W

Nov 28, 2016

I thought this course was really challenging and that made it worth it. I was expecting the course to just be "here's another type of database, and here's how to use it in Rails". But they went into all the features unique to Mongo. They showed things you can't do in ActiveRecord. The last project being an introduction to making APIs was great too. It really got me thinking about all the types of web apps I could make.

创建者 Moez B

Oct 12, 2016

This is a great course. It is challenging, but that comes with the territory if you want to write code. I like the fact that the assignments are challenging and long; the only issue I had is that I work full-time and hardly have the 20+ hours a week to spend on the programming assignments. Also, the estimated times listed for each assignments are not realistic for somebody learning the topics in this course for the first time. I would recommend this course to anybody wanting to learn how to develop web apps and api web services using Rails with MongoDB as the backend. Just be prepared to dedicate a lot of time each week. Especially week3's assigment. I ran out of time and had to transfer to a new session to complete the course because of my full-time job. It would be beneficial for students to have a spare week, in between the third and fourth assignment.

创建者 Emmanuel A

Feb 28, 2016

This course is a lot of hard work but, take hard work to become proffesional

创建者 Juan S H R

May 14, 2017

Excellent

创建者 Rami A T

Apr 22, 2017

Very useful

创建者 Venugopal D

Feb 07, 2016

course work is too hectic. its hard for some one who is new to web app development and new to ruby! but over all strength and content of the course is good.

创建者 Juan P P

Jun 01, 2016

I recommend this course to anyone who wants to start learning about document-oriented data model databases. It helped me a lot, since I have mostly worked with relational databases and I got curious about Mongodb.

创建者 Max

Feb 17, 2016

This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken online.

If you are interested in learning Rub on Rials with MongoDB,

stop reading this comment and sign-up.