Chevron Left
返回到 Functional Programming in Scala Capstone

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 Functional Programming in Scala Capstone 的评价和反馈

4.4
528 个评分
90 条评论

课程概述

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

热门审阅

MP
Sep 7, 2019

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB
Jun 13, 2017

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

筛选依据:

76 - Functional Programming in Scala Capstone 的 88 个评论(共 88 个)

创建者 Patrik

Jun 6, 2020

I'm sad to say that the last course in the specialization was the worst. The grader functions made it quite cumbersome to use Spark, which the test of the specialization was about.

You cannot use Spark throughout the course, because of the grader functions. You have to jump in and out of the Spark domain, which hurts performance and will not allow you to write a complete Spark program.

创建者 Iurii S

Nov 19, 2017

Would have liked more tests provided with the capstone to supplement often vague specifications. Feedback from autograder is often obscure as well as it refers to some input parameters of the randomized test - hard to take guidance in code improvement from it.

创建者 David P

Jun 16, 2017

Tough to design a capstone for a course, but I was never really able to get excited about the capstone project. It felt tedious. Not sure if this is the course organizers fault thought...

创建者 Jędrzej B

May 22, 2020

More about number crunching than fp. The dataset is within the jar, which caused a lot of problems and excluded efficient solutions (and the course is about efficiency as well).

创建者 Kyle L

Jul 21, 2017

I have finished previous 4 courses, they are excellent. But this one not easy to understand, doesn't have some simple test cases.

创建者 Partha

Mar 20, 2018

Lots of ambiguity in the course assignment, especially the 5th week one. Also response from teaching staff is very poor.

创建者 joshua

Jul 17, 2017

Overall I liked the course but some of the grading output was hard to understand what exactly I was getting wrong.

创建者 Anton

May 25, 2017

It was too algorithmically and math heavy. Also, it would have been good to have more videos.

创建者 Canh S L

Apr 21, 2017

Good project but instruction is a bit draft. Probably because I joined their first ever one.

创建者 Ciprian L

Jan 19, 2018

too much UI

创建者 Will D

Jul 16, 2019

I appreciate how hard it can be to write coding assignments. Especially in this case it seems as though the limitations stipulated by Coursera may have been quite restrictive for a big data spark project. However, I was really disappointed with this course. Rather than getting to test out my scala/spark skills I found myself trying to shoehorn functions into the methods provided by the grader only to have them fail unexpectedly with little feedback. Some more pointers on how to setup appropriate unit tests would also have been quite helpful. It seemed not so straight forward for spark.

创建者 Nils-Helge G H

Jul 13, 2017

There were too much ambiguity in the assignments. The structure and definition of the assignments made it unclear and difficult to solve with some of the included frameworks. It would be a lot better having a stricter definition and limit it to one or two frameworks that were suitable for the specific definition of the assignments.

创建者 Adriaan T

Apr 12, 2017

For a course that requires you to work on your own project, it still forces you to follow a code skeleton outline. This limits the freedom with which to tackle the project's issue. There is not much guidance or support from course organizers, which makes this course not very educative.