Chevron Left
返回到 Scala 函数式程序设计原理

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 Scala 函数式程序设计原理 的评价和反馈

4.8
8,083 个评分

课程概述

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

热门审阅

RS

Oct 8, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ

Sep 23, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

筛选依据:

1526 - Scala 函数式程序设计原理 的 1550 个评论(共 1,581 个)

创建者 Kyungnae L

Aug 30, 2016

Content is not updated. Now is 2016.

创建者 rajat k a

Dec 19, 2021

It is good if know bit scala before

创建者 Vlad B

Jun 18, 2017

Great video, too abstract practice.

创建者 Austin M

Aug 5, 2017

Great material, pace is good too.

创建者 Jordi R

Mar 30, 2017

The learning curve is a bit steep

创建者 Daniel S

Apr 17, 2017

good class. I did learn a lot.

创建者 Srinivasarao M

Oct 16, 2019

Very Good explanatory Course

创建者 Joaquín D R

Aug 27, 2019

Basic Level in my opinion :D

创建者 Gabriela

Dec 7, 2016

Thank you! I learned a lot.

创建者 Bogdan T

Feb 5, 2017

Not all examples are right

创建者 JayanthKumar K

Jun 8, 2019

The Course was superbbb.

创建者 Mahesh N

Dec 1, 2017

Overall training is good

创建者 Chen, L

Jun 8, 2017

Good course! I love it!

创建者 SyamalaRishithaSri

Dec 10, 2019

very good expalanation

创建者 Amin S

Apr 18, 2017

quick intro to Scala

创建者 Ngoc-Bien N

Jan 14, 2019

A very good course

创建者 Abdulhadi C

Jul 24, 2016

Too mathematical.

创建者 Alex S

May 24, 2016

I am interest

创建者 Andy X

Sep 28, 2016

it was sweet

创建者 Aleksey

Oct 5, 2017

g

o

o

d

c

o

u

r

c

e

创建者 prashant b

Nov 10, 2016

Excellent

创建者 Andrew H

Dec 25, 2016

This was a decent overview of FP principals, but a poor introduction to the Scala language. In fact, the requirements should just come out and state that you must have prior Scala knowledge to most thoroughly appreciate the course. The last 2 assignments may have been ok for 3 hours (doubtful) for someone with Scala experience, but they really should be marked more appropriately for time for those of us new to Scala. I'd say 6 hours; easily more than that for the last assignment.

Also, no slides or related handouts are provided. If you remember seeing something on one of the slides shown, you'll have to look back, scanning through all the videos trying to find it. This is a very poor way to manage course content - forcing students to rely solely on the videos.

I'm left feeling I've only learned a smattering here and there of Scala, and don't think I'll take the remainder of the specialization as I had intended.

创建者 Geoffrey N

Jun 29, 2016

This is a reasonably thorough introduction to the principals of functional programming in scala, but to fully grasp the material presented I found it necessary to include supplemental material such as the functional programming in scala book by Paul Chiusano (forward by the course instructor funnily enough). One point of frustration however was the near total unavailability of the course TA's or instructor. Also because the only forum for interacting with them is entirely public it's impossible to receive any formal code review apart from the automated tests they run when you submit. There were multiple occasions where I wanted feedback on not just the technical correctness of my solution but also to know if there might have been a more idiomatic or generally efficient (read: tail-recursive) way to express some peculiar bit of logic.

创建者 Egor K

Nov 25, 2016

The first couple of weeks were awesome - love Scala the language and the whole functional approach, and the detailed description of how the language actually fits together.

Also love how the homework teaches you how to setup IDE, create unit tests, and submit actual code as homework - not just workbooks and multiple-choice quizzes like in some other courses.

But why oh why was it necessary to go in specific detail over how to define natural numbers from first principles using classes, or spend a whole week on lists, etc? All that might be fine for general education in a university context, but as someone who does want to understand Scala, but from a perspective of getting cool things done - that bit was a total waste of time.

Would be a better and shorter course if those 'didactic' bits were trimmed.

创建者 Rodion G

Apr 14, 2019

I completed this course in a single day (about 8 hours) having substantial experience as java programmer. However I feel that if course is to teach Scala, it should not be so heavy on all functional programming tricks (which in the given examples and assignments are often too artificial, inefficient and awkward). Or if the course is to teach functional programming, probably Scala is not the most user-friendly choice. Also as a developer I feel displeased with assignments stub code poorly formatted with indentation bORken both in classes and functions.