Chevron Left
返回到 科学论文写作

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 科学论文写作 的评价和反馈

4.9
2,186 个评分
668 条评论

课程概述

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

热门审阅

SD

Feb 26, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

SO

Jun 23, 2019

Great course. Learned so much that will help me be a better writer and editor, not only in the sciences, but in other areas. A fantastic professor, clear thinking, speaking, writing. an inspiration.

筛选依据:

626 - 科学论文写作 的 650 个评论(共 670 个)

创建者 Nedyu Y

May 15, 2019

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.

创建者 John W

Oct 29, 2017

A very nice overview of writing for the sciences -- everything from journal articles, peer reviews, letters of recommendation, to news items and press releases. Many of the main points were known to me -- remove jargon, use the active voice -- were already known to me, but it always good to be reminded. I also learned some new things -- for example, I had never heard of a "nut-graf" before!

One suggestion for improvement: the series of (three?) interviews with Kristin's colleagues were somewhat repetitive. I believe she asked the same series of questions to each of the three subjects. It would have been better, in my opinion, to focus on different topics with each one, and give each interview its own unique subject.

All in all, a very well-organized and well-taught class.

创建者 Rouletta B

Nov 18, 2019

Very informative, most of the information is presented in a way that is easily viewed and understood. The biggest con is that when the edits/markups are performed using pen/pencil on the slides are basically impossible to see on the Coursera format. If we could view them full screen or as actual slides it might be easier, but to try to follow someone's edits verbally is really difficult. Overall the course was fantastic!

创建者 tanujsapra

Jul 08, 2018

Overall I really liked this course. Even with many years of experience in writing and publishing papers, I learnt a lot. There were certain instances where I did not agree with Dr. Sainani's recommendations. But one's writing choice and style sometimes boils down to personal taste and the scientific content. I hope there is an advanced version of this course in the near future.

创建者 Ashley C

Dec 04, 2019

This was a really great course and was worth my time. It provided me with a number of strategies to make my science writing clear and succinct without losing important scientific concepts needed for my field. It also had me consider best practices in summarizing my findings for audiences outside of my field, outside of science, and for the public.

创建者 Lorrie C

Mar 29, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It challenged me coming from a non-scientist background. I work in a hospital and am exposed daily to medical terms which is what brought me to the course. Overall I feel that I improved my skill set which allows me to advance my career.

创建者 Preeti L S

Aug 06, 2019

It's a great course that provides a great perspective on academic writing. I especially enjoyed the interviews that were included. However, some of the content does seem a bit old, newer versions would be great and more relatable.

创建者 Cristina C

Aug 14, 2019

I thought this was extremely helpful and insightful. I do not like waiting on other to review my submissions. I don't have control over what others do. And I don't have time to plea with others to do so.

创建者 sophie T

Jul 26, 2019

Very well laid out. Examples provided for all explanations, even the interviews. Very useful for someone who needs to adapt to a new way of writing.

创建者 Jacob B

Mar 18, 2019

This course was extremely informative, but a tad boring. It also needs a little updating, especially because social media has become so pervasive

创建者 Manar M H

Jun 12, 2019

I got a great experience from this course, but it may be better if we have a direct discussion with the instructor though e-mail or messages

创建者 Daniela S

May 21, 2018

Very interesting and helpful course not only for those who are starting to write scientific documents, but to improve writing skills.

创建者 Dr A K

Feb 09, 2018

Thanks Dr. Kristin Sainani for this amazing course and providing an in-depth account of effective and engaging scientific writing!

创建者 Juan R

Apr 11, 2018

The course is great especially the first half. Great tips and practice to improve your scientific writing skills.

创建者 Anna C

Nov 27, 2017

Very good introductory course on the different type of writing that scientists can face. I enjoyed it very much!

创建者 Camila P S B

May 19, 2019

First lessons were very helpful and well taught. Last ones are a bit basic for those with academic background.

创建者 Mohamed S

Nov 28, 2017

It was very nice and easy. I think you may review some videos as the sound doesn't go wit the pic.

Thank you

创建者 M K

Nov 30, 2018

Wonderful course. I enjoy the personality/humor of the professor. Reasonably difficult and fascinating.

创建者 Julia P

Feb 18, 2018

The first few weeks are useful for not just scientific writers but also anyone who wants to write more

创建者 Tara S

Dec 03, 2019

Great in-depth review and explanation of writing in the sciences. This will be beneficial for my

创建者 Ayush S

Apr 15, 2018

Could have been better if the instructor would have shared examples from other disciplines.

创建者 Gitanjali V

Oct 12, 2018

Very sensible and practical. Esp the one on writing for lay audiences. Love the Nut Graf!

创建者 Nancy A

Aug 12, 2019

There was a lot of helpful information that pertains to more than scientific writing.

创建者 Saurabh A

May 14, 2018

Wonderful! Helped a lot in understanding the way of writing a scientific article.

创建者 Hieu V

Oct 06, 2019

This course provided me a lot of knowledge in writing a scientific papers!