Chevron Left
返回到 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

学生对 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的评价和反馈

4.5
601 个评分
241 条评论

课程概述

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

热门审阅

AA
Jun 13, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF
Sep 27, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

筛选依据:

76 - Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的 100 个评论(共 237 个)

创建者 Mahima A

Jul 15, 2020

Loved it! The only thing is I wasn't able to interact with my peers, but I've learnt a great deal and have ended up with a script in hand that I can now work with and hopefully put out there soon!

Thank you very much!!!

创建者 arya k s

Apr 1, 2018

It's a very good course. If you want to write . Complete script this course will help you do it. It is very crisp and to the point. I would love to recommend this course to anyone interested in learning script writing.

创建者 Chandra B S

Sep 11, 2020

The assignments help a lot. This course is best for new writers. If you want to write something and want feedback, this is the course for you. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to start their writing career.

创建者 Franka E E E

Aug 15, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and David Wheeler's style of explanation. The videos are really helpful. Also, the mentor - Jan Zurcher, is always there to address concerns and answer questions. Thank you !

创建者 Amy A

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

创建者 Jeanne H F

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

创建者 Maria T

Jan 10, 2017

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

创建者 Ernest L W

Mar 17, 2016

One of the best courses I have ever taken. When I first started this course, I began with a passion and throughout each week, it was starting to become a reality. Thank you David Wheeler.

创建者 Ellen H

Oct 2, 2018

This is a tough course but what makes it simple is how the instructor breaks everything down little by little. I love that I can re-watch the videos. That helps a lot. Feedback is real.

创建者 Satyapriya K

Apr 19, 2018

Amazing course. Detailed explanations foe every task. A community that reviewed and scrutinized your work. At the end of the course I have a chiseled three act pilot and season outline

创建者 Deleted A

Dec 27, 2016

I really enjoy screenwriting and this course has not only gave me some interesting points but also, help me develop my own tv show idea and start writing it. It's really good so far!

创建者 Manuel R

May 23, 2017

A perfect journey. It has been very useful and inspiring. Active learning, peer to peer evaluation, helpful tutors. This is one of the best experience in online learning I ever had.

创建者 Oleksandr V

Apr 28, 2020

Awesome course, I really enjoyed it and liked it. I wanna thank every moderator on this course and guys from Michigan State University and Coursera for making this course

创建者 Jagriti R

Oct 13, 2020

I just loved the way I have learnt every small aspects of script writing in this course. Thank you Coursera, Thank you David Wheeler sir and Michigan State University.

创建者 Arnab B

Aug 4, 2017

It was a very good course and in a small time i came to know a lot about the script writing sorry that i cannot complete the whole course due to my other commitments

创建者 Afaf F

Nov 1, 2020

Thank you for the amazing lesson. I got to write a wonderful script and this course opened my mind on to be more creative in writing. I will miss this course.

创建者 Lorenzo M V I

Jul 22, 2017

Great experience! You jump right into the meat, into the grind. It's a no nonsense approach that allows you to get hands on experience and critical critique.

创建者 Dasha A

Jun 3, 2020

Very interesting course! Thank you very much for this hard but exciting experience! Finally I just started to wright and created big world from my head

创建者 Dr.Ravi K D

Feb 16, 2021

A fantastic course which leads the learner with baby steps to accomplish a tough learning goal, ably delivered by the charismatic David Wheeler.

创建者 Jon R

Mar 9, 2017

Learned a ton about Script writing. Who cares if it is MSU or any other University. The Professor teaching is what makes all of the difference.

创建者 L. A S

Aug 6, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series is a very challenging course. However, if you goal is to write a TV Pilot, this is

创建者 Noureen

Nov 15, 2020

Amazing course! It helped me learn a lot about plot, screenwriting and characters needed for when it comes to writing a script! I loved it!

创建者 Fernanda M

Jun 18, 2020

Great course! The project-centered methodology forces you to write and get the experience and knowledge about script writing first hand.

创建者 Jinkie J C

Jun 8, 2020

Very interesting and enjoyable class, which reveal a lot of information dealing with TV script writing. Thanks for the lesson learned.

创建者 Elyrice A

Oct 7, 2016

I learnt a lot . I am most appreciative of reviewers who spent a great deal of time reading my work, and leaving constructive comments.