Chevron Left
返回到 睡眠:神经生物学、医学和社会学

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 睡眠:神经生物学、医学和社会学 的评价和反馈

4.8
81 个评分
18 个审阅

课程概述

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

热门审阅

JQ

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

MA

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

筛选依据:

1 - 睡眠:神经生物学、医学和社会学 的 19 个评论(共 19 个)

创建者 olivier h

Dec 27, 2018

The content is excellent but this is not intended for "beginners" as advertised. The lectures are very interesting and the overall level is high. You need to have some good knowledge about the structure and the working of the brain or you won't be able to follow the lectures (the level is higher than with most MooC here) The main problem with this MooC though is that there is nothing more than academic lectures. The forum are empty, there is no (sense of) community, this long course (12 weeks) lacks some storytelling linking weeks together, and, worse of all, the quizzes are useless: very short, simplistic, you may even pass guessing the correct answers. Such high level lectures demand for high quality quizzes allowing the students to really test and challenge the acquired knowledge. Quizzes and all sorts of interactive exercises must be included in the experience. If we only get video lectures, why not publish a DVD with a companion book ?

创建者 Eric T

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course !

I really enjoyed this course ! All the modules are clear enough to understand the basis of the neurobiology of sleep and to become familiar with basic concepts and mechanisms from neurobiology of sleep and neuroscience. Very Impressed with how detailed and rigorous the course is ! The" honor track" is particularly challenging and fascinating ( especially mathematical modeling of Sleep-Wake Regulation and Molecular biology and Genetics of Sleep)

Thank you Professor Ralph Lydic and Helen Baghdoyan !

创建者 Miranda C

Aug 02, 2018

I would highly recommend ALL students whom are interested in Sleep Medicine to enrol on this most FASCINATING, ENGROSSING and WORTHWHILE COURSE. The course tutors on this online course instill into you the DRIVING FORCE to forge ahead with learning a whole new range of knowledge in Sleep Medicine and Neurobiology. The course is quite difficult, but then my philosophy is that ANYTHING THAT IS WORTH ACHIEVING IS NOT EASILY GAINED and this is TRUE of this Sleep Medicine, Neurobiology and Society course; however, do NOT allow the difficulty of this course to discourage you - TAKE IT AS A CHALLENGE. A challenge that will open up a new avenue of learning and knowledge for yourself and your personal future and future career. GOOD LUCK. And you will NOT be disappointed, you will be entirely IMMERSED and ENGROSSED with this most fascinating course.

创建者 SUSHIL K S V

May 30, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and among the best ones that is from the University of Michigan on this platform. More this way!!

创建者 Nicola J

May 05, 2019

Excellent course in which I learnt much about sleep, sleep disorders and the effects of sleep deprivation. Some of the modules I found challenging but all were of interest and I learnt much. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

创建者 kishore k

Mar 05, 2019

It was really useful for me to know about the science behind why and how we actually sleep.

创建者 Aldi L

Feb 13, 2019

Very informative and well explained !!

创建者 Mohammed M A

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

创建者 DANIEL R

Dec 08, 2018

Superior presentation of well organized material.

创建者 Sadam M Y

Sep 26, 2018

thank you very much , it was very useful

创建者 Alexis B

Aug 12, 2018

This is a very good course that bring you an update to the current evidence of sleep and help you to understands the mechanic and purpose of sleep.

创建者 Marcelo C C

May 01, 2018

Excelent lectures.

创建者 Thiago D M

Mar 04, 2018

Very good course! I liked it a lot not only on professional perspective, but also personally to understand the importance of a good sleep and how everything is related.

创建者 Duane F

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and look forward to continuing my education on the subject.

创建者 Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

interesting course. However, it did not, another sleep disorder called Klein Levin syndrome which disrupts the thalamus in the brain that controls sleep. This causes the sufferer to sleep for months at a time or long extended period of time, causing disturbing sleep, increased appetite and an inability to wake up properly.

创建者 Nayme O D

Jan 27, 2018

great

创建者 JOHN Q

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

创建者 Djana R

Dec 23, 2017

Great course! |Recommended!

创建者 Bentata K

Dec 10, 2017

my best MOOC never seen in sleep medicine, Thanks a lot for this great work