Chevron Left
返回到 Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation 的评价和反馈

4.8
stars
373 个评分
146 条评论

课程概述

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

热门审阅

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

OM

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.

筛选依据:

1 - Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation 的 25 个评论(共 143 个)

创建者 Leigh F

Oct 04, 2016

Becoming a Changemaker Course was fun and I have learnt a lot as a result. The course met my expectations but I was expecting more - it is geared towards people who have an idea and aims to harness that idea into something tangible. I am a little further down the line and this would've been fantastic had I done it a few years back, although it was fantastic going back to basics.

I am hopeful that a "Part 2 - Social Business Incubator" could be developed in future which delves into more detail to lead people who've decided to become a changemaker through the process of putting together a business case and measuring the impact of what they have started so that they are prepared to scale the social innovation and be better prepared to raise the necessary finances to succeed.

创建者 Kimble P

Jan 09, 2018

top notch. The resources alone allow the uninitiated to enter into a heretofore unknown world of both strategies AND people who CARE. Fellow course members are the life blood of the course, and we have access to the input of previous course members interaction. AMAZING ideas and aspirations lie awaiting or have been put into action somewhere someplace. Reading what other people aspire for their part in the world heartens jaded minds. I learned of an academic branch of study that I had had no idea of: Design Thinking. I am writing this review and I still have 2 weeks to go. What a roller coaster ride of thinking and doing, renewing and challenging oneself and keeping the respect of others. I would link this course to their critical thinking course to skill up for the work and thought process.

创建者 Tista M

Nov 30, 2017

Have only completed week 1 but the course materials and narrative is simply excellent. I have always been curious about how to actually make social innovations work in context to the problems around me. This course is only helping me to analyse problems betters and pursue an independent solution oriented discourse, while at the same time keeping an eye out for how serious global challenges like poverty, illiteracy and climate change are tackled by innovators.

创建者 Daiza V C

Oct 10, 2016

Great job! Thanks for sharing your ideas and experiences. For me, it would be more helpful if the teachers or mentors, will give their own feedback in week 4's assignment- Prototyping. Their feedback is very much needed as it is their expertise. Thanks!

创建者 Neville P

Dec 17, 2016

Even though it is only an introduction level course it really opened my eyes to hat is possible and exposed me to valuable tools in starting my project. I would definitely like to learn more. Thank you so much!

创建者 Andrea H

Sep 26, 2016

This course has changed my life and I hope I can do even just a tiny bit to change the world. Well worth it for anyone tired of seeing the need for change and not knowing how to take action.

创建者 Cecilene L B M

Mar 14, 2017

A excellent course-especially for professionals who want to add to their skills set. It also provides a good introduction to Social Innovation.

创建者 Joan L F

Mar 29, 2017

Worth following with practical tools to understand better the required thinking to design innovation. I strongly recommend

创建者 Justine K

Dec 06, 2019

In terms of content this course is 5 star. A mix of segmented videos with read along. You can cut to parts of the video by pressing its corresponding written sentence underneath.

The assignments are simplistic enough to do yet the idea behind it is challenging. I really enjoyed the assignments.

Its very easy to skip over research and assignments reflect this with some people.

The start is lost because this is a student based marking system. You mark 3 assignments and get marked by three students. This is floored. If not enough people come through you haven't got enough to mark and similarly enough students need to keep progressing in order to mark yours. This doubles down if you choose to do honours assignments. The very last assignment is basically marked by no one as I have marked well over 50 assignments and I'm heading into assignments over 2 years ago that are still sitting there. So this system needs some adjusting. Especially if you pay for the certificate.

创建者 Sarah H

Feb 07, 2017

I found this course truly inspiring, particularly because I hail from the Cape Flats in South Africa and have knowlege of (although I don't completely pretend to understand) the manifestations discussed by Marlon and the Rlabs team.

I also understand that the problem is a transhistorical cultural-structural-psychological-physical one, and my interest is to understand these problems in its structure, so that it can be dealt with in its structure and not only in terms of individual manifestations, as this course attempts to do.

I do however find that dealing with our interconnected problems in its structure, is an uphill battle, and I am keen to try out the advice given in the course, to see at least if a dent can be made, however small.

Thanks, and all the best. Dr Sarah Henkeman

创建者 Julia F

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course, beyond expectations. It took me a big deal closer to where I want to go - create an organization to unleash digitalization in remote areas. It really gives you a great overview, great practical insights with the RLabs example, and it answered all my questions - the ones I had at the end of a module where always answered by the next module, amazing :) The instructors are great, high quality videos, and the practical examples, specially the inclusion of RLabs, extremely motivating. Even the assignments are a pleasure doing, and the exchange with my classmates as well. I got a lot of very valuable feedback. I highly recomment this course to anyone who feels an urge to do some action for a better world! THANK YOU FRANCOIS, WARREN, MARLON and TEAM!

创建者 Amarnath

Jan 01, 2019

This is a very useful as well as interesting course. It must be undertaken by a social and development professional to reflect back on his experience and knowledge. It also helps consolidate and further explore the development and social sectors with a much organised way. The course tries to cover most parts of a social innovation ecosystem. It provides tools relevant, share examples and case studies from real life and puts you in practicing those competencies through assignments and peer reviews. I especially enjoyed the quiz and the assignments in the course, though assignment makes it little lengthy with respect to time but it is meaningful inventing that much time. Thanks, Amar, India

创建者 Hildegard O

Jun 27, 2017

This course is amazing in combining theory-based approaches with practical thinking and tools which can be applied easily to a broad variety of complex problems. It offers a broad range of useful readings and the opportunity to discuss questions and issues with other students online. Being well familiar with beeing graded at school and university I like the free approach because it trusts that students want to learn, that cooperation contributes to learning and that learning is about compassion. The course also connects theory with individual motivation and making concrete steps. I deeply appreciate this offer and am thankful that I have found it.

创建者 Nanako

Jul 15, 2017

This course was fantastic!! What I loved most about it was that the course was client-focused. I had an idea, and their course helped me to develop and improve the idea so that I can positively affect my community. It was a class where I wanted to get all the ideas down because they were so innovative. I love how there was one main case study, R Labs, and how we were able to learn about their challenges and how they managed to successfully impact their community. The professors were great, they had an abundance of knowledge and I learned so much from them. Well done!

创建者 Fezile M

Sep 29, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I will definitely be sharing my experiences with other people. It has helped me look at the social problem in my community in a different lens. I learnt a lot from reviewing other peers work and i quite liked the activities that we had to do. they were engaging, out of the box and enjoyable. The videos lessons are short an straight to the point an are jam packed with information. The extra reading material for each week was also helpful. All in all it was good. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Olivier K R

Apr 15, 2017

This was really an enriching journey. The way the course is structured makes it extremely easy to go through and the concepts are presented in a way to assimilate and adopt.

The topics that were covered touched on the exact questions I had been struggling with while trying to go through the exploration phase of my social innovation initiative; Furaha Education Support, which is a platform that helps asylum seeker and refugees to get access to tertiary education through funding.

Regards,

Olivier Rumb

创建者 Kim C

Nov 01, 2019

This course has opened my mind to seeing opportunity in everything around me and it's helped me to realise that achieving big things does not always have to be complicated. It's taught me that being open to diverse input and critique from others is a lot more valuable than I've realised and that failing in business can bring us closer to success if we work through it step by step and if we work closely with all all staff and beneficiaries within the business.

创建者 Sahrreal

Nov 15, 2019

This class was excellent. I began with an idea already in my head about a social innovation project, but I didn't think I was anywhere near ready to begin. This class showed me how to look for hidden resources, identify new ways in which my idea could be applied, and gave great tools to get started today. Even if you don't have a solution to a social challenge yet, but are able to identify a need in your community, I would highly recommend this Course.

创建者 Benson M

Mar 26, 2019

I really believe this course is one that all learners, irrespective of their chosen line of career development, must experience to gain some basic knowledge and skills necessary for them to become relevant to societal needs. The course has great potential to develop every individual, who desires to present themselves as a service or product provider, to a level where they can fully appreciate and understand community settings for a better impact.

创建者 Scott G

Feb 24, 2018

Interesting, engaging, and genuinely inspiring.

This course will subtly alter your thinking, improving your problem-solving skills, creativity, and even your empathy.

I found the lectures on uncommon resource identification particularly insightful, and enjoyed the assignment in week 4 that combined everything we'd learnt up to that point.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone, from business-people to students alike.

创建者 Adrian Z

Dec 19, 2017

This is a fantastic course -- and I have many years of university and other studies under my belt. The information is very digestible and framed by the real-world example of the successful RLabs project. This course is also inspiring and has a real feeling of kinship and warmth. If you care about changing the world for the better, this course will benefit you whatever stage you are at. THANK YOU EVERYONE AT RLABS!!

创建者 Shirley K

Nov 02, 2019

This course has taught me much more than I expected. Good examples of social innovation. And very practical assignment to help create the impact I wish to make. I have broaden my vision and consciousness in how the many levels in society can aid to a problem and how to ask questions, delay solutions to get innovation. I advise this course to everybody who is ready for agency to be a change maker.

创建者 Haneen E M

Dec 24, 2019

Extremely Informative. It truly clarifies the structure behind social innovation, which lays the foundation for all social change or initiatives. This course also includes a lot of information on already existing organizations ad their success stories, which I found very motivating and inspiring. 10/10, would definitely recommend this course for any one knew to the world of social innovation!

创建者 Philippine W

Jan 17, 2018

Very meaningful course, well build and well balanced, interesting pairs submission and huge personal impact.

I feel hopefull and energetic about social entrepreneurship, and that is very valuable. We can all make a difference and there is so many model around us.

I will get out of my confort zone and make the world a better place, because we can. That is all that course made me feel like !

创建者 Shubhda G

Nov 19, 2017

This course was truly a revelation to my passion for social development. Through this course, I managed to identify skills to market myself as a Freelance English Trainer at a Government run organisation. It also played a huge role in me getting an internship at an NGO and most importantly, has equipped me with skills that I never thought I would be capable of developing.