Chevron Left
返回到 太阳系科学

学生对 加州理工学院 提供的 太阳系科学 的评价和反馈

4.9
337 个评分
114 个审阅

课程概述

Learn about the science behind the current exploration of the solar system in this free class. Use principles from physics, chemistry, biology, and geology to understand the latest from Mars, comprehend the outer solar system, ponder planets outside our solar system, and search for habitability in our neighborhood and beyond. This course is generally taught at an advanced level assuming a prior knowledge of undergraduate math and physics, but the majority of the concepts and lectures can be understood without these prerequisites. The quizzes and final exam are designed to make you think critically about the material you have learned rather than to simply make you memorize facts. The class is expected to be challenging but rewarding....

热门审阅

GN

Nov 29, 2017

Challenging. Amazing. Mind-Blowing.\n\nSpace enthusiasts should totally do this course. And yeah, did I say that Mike Brown is the coolest teacher ever. Never a dull moment in the lectures. :)

PK

May 25, 2019

The lectures are engaging and replete with thought provoking material. Professor Brown's in depth knowledge of the field and his passion for planetary science aroused an everlasting curiosity.

筛选依据:

26 - 太阳系科学 的 50 个评论(共 109 个)

创建者 Alejandro D

Mar 05, 2018

Awesome! Highly recommended to anyone interested in astronomy. Thank you Prof. @plutokiller!

创建者 Bruce J A

Jul 31, 2017

Anyone wanting to know basic current information about our Solar System and the new missions that support the continued discovery in this field should take this course. Professor Brown you did a superior job creating this very informative course, thank you.

创建者 Rodrigo C

Dec 01, 2017

Awesome!

创建者 Richard H

Aug 10, 2016

Very happy with the Mars unit above all.

创建者 Rich K

Oct 15, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course. It's both broad and rigorous and uses the appropriate math and chemistry to show how we know what we know.

创建者 Bruna P C

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent!!!!

创建者 Scott M

Sep 03, 2017

This is a great course. I'm a regular guy with no science education, just a keen interest in science and astronomy. The lectures delivered by Mike Brown and guests are clear and high quality, so even I could follow along. The mid-lecture questions, weekly quizzes, and final exam are designed to make you think about what you have learned rather than just regurgitate facts - this really helped me with the learning process. I just need to learn how to take better lecture notes for future courses. Thank you to all involved for an excellent ten weeks :)

创建者 Alexander W

Mar 08, 2017

Fantastic course.

创建者 David M

Jun 01, 2016

The was the best course I've taken through Coursera. The material was fascinating. The instructor has a great enthusiasm for the topic and delivers his lectures in an engaging style. The test and quizzes were quite challenging. Can't recommend highly enough.

创建者 Carol J

Jun 04, 2017

Fantastic and wonderfully entertaining course.

Dr. Mike Brown makes each lecture exciting and interesting.

创建者 Eoin P

Jul 09, 2017

simply amazing. The pluto Killer is a genius

创建者 Sara B

Jun 09, 2017

Awesome! Challenging & thought-provoking, with excellent teaching!

创建者 Richard E

Jun 01, 2018

This was definitely an excellent course, presenting interleaved layman and technical perspectives of our solar system. Not quite 5 stars but certainly better than 4 stars. Some issues: (1) Missing lecture transcripts. (2) The transcripts frequently need manual clean-up. (3) The case made for why Pluto is not a planet needs the addition of a more rigorous discussion of what should the definition of a planet be. I'd love to see a debate between Dr. Brown and Dr. Alan Stern!

创建者 Brendan C

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent course with engaging speakers, and a good community.

创建者 Kim

May 28, 2017

The more you hear in this class, the more you will look up at the night sky in awe and wonder. Do it, and tell a friend! :-)

The video lectures are a fantastic and entertaining look at the puzzles of our solar system, how some of the answers are being teased out, and the special world of astronomy in general.

创建者 Petrik d H

Oct 09, 2016

The course taught me a lot, and was perfectly balanced between being informative and technical. Highly recommended.

创建者 Simon C

Apr 08, 2016

Who only five stars? Because that is all I have to give. I'm sorry, this course deserves more.

I am repeating this course,but not because I need to. I passed last year, but I know that there will be new material that I want to learn. I'm pleased to see that there are familiar faces from last year.

Prof. Mike Brown obviously know his stuff, and enjoys communicating it to students. There are plenty of references for students who want to explore things further. The discussion forums are excellent, with people sharing information, and Mike somehow finds the time to monitor the forums and contribute to the discussion.

创建者 Jon A

May 30, 2017

Such an awesome course from an awesome instructor! Challenging but well worth the effort. I took this course a couple years ago, and want to re-take it now to see what's new with Europe, Jupiter, Saturn, Titan, Pluto, and Planet Nine!! Keep exploring!

创建者 Egor Y

Mar 08, 2017

Outstanding course!

创建者 Marina D

Jan 03, 2017

Very interesting Course.

创建者 Isabel G

May 17, 2016

This course is amazing! Professor Mike Brown is great at what he does, and everything is well explained.

创建者 Steve R

May 17, 2016

I don't want it to stop !

创建者 Alexandra R

Jun 17, 2018

Great course, nicely taught and regularly updated. It taught me a lot.

创建者 Erich K

May 13, 2017

Simply AMAZING.

创建者 YiFan ( Z

Jul 06, 2018

Absolutely fantastic; stunned at the detail and complexity in which the material is covered with. The Instructor is very engaging and he has a genuine passion for this topic. The material is challenging but manageable. Definitely will recommend.