Chevron Left
返回到 Distributed Computing with Spark SQL

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Distributed Computing with Spark SQL 的评价和反馈

4.5
416 个评分
100 条评论

课程概述

This course is all about big data. It’s for students with SQL experience that want to take the next step on their data journey by learning distributed computing using Apache Spark. Students will gain a thorough understanding of this open-source standard for working with large datasets. Students will gain an understanding of the fundamentals of data analysis using SQL on Spark, setting the foundation for how to combine data with advanced analytics at scale and in production environments. The four modules build on one another and by the end of the course you will understand: the Spark architecture, queries within Spark, common ways to optimize Spark SQL, and how to build reliable data pipelines. The first module introduces Spark and the Databricks environment including how Spark distributes computation and Spark SQL. Module 2 covers the core concepts of Spark such as storage vs. compute, caching, partitions, and troubleshooting performance issues via the Spark UI. It also covers new features in Apache Spark 3.x such as Adaptive Query Execution. The third module focuses on Engineering Data Pipelines including connecting to databases, schemas and data types, file formats, and writing reliable data. The final module covers data lakes, data warehouses, and lakehouses. Students build production grade data pipelines by combining Spark with the open-source project Delta Lake. By the end of this course, students will hone their SQL and distributed computing skills to become more adept at advanced analysis and to set the stage for transitioning to more advanced analytics as Data Scientists....

热门审阅

GT
Jun 9, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone in the BI and Data space interested in learning Spark. The course gives an easy to understand to the framework and applicable hands on examples.

KS
May 13, 2020

Amazing course that really cuts through the fundamentals of using distributed computing power to analyze and manipulate data. Well organised structure on fundamentals

筛选依据:

51 - Distributed Computing with Spark SQL 的 75 个评论(共 102 个)

创建者 Aaqib A

Aug 30, 2020

Great Course for Beginners...!!!

创建者 Karthik C

Apr 14, 2021

Very Good Course Content

创建者 Phú T

Oct 28, 2021

very easy to follow up!

创建者 Mohammad M R

Apr 17, 2020

Good course for spark

创建者 David M G

May 1, 2020

Fantastic Course!

创建者 pablo s l

Mar 27, 2020

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

!

!

创建者 EDGAR I M P

Nov 18, 2021

cosa bien hecha

创建者 Borysiuk O

May 25, 2020

Nice work! Thnx

创建者 Ammar S

Sep 20, 2021

Great course!

创建者 Estrella P

Jul 21, 2020

Great Course

创建者 Rinrada P

Jul 16, 2020

great course

创建者 Katerine C

Jul 5, 2020

Very good

创建者 Muhammad I I B J

Jun 25, 2021

AWESOME

创建者 ANDRES F C

May 25, 2020

great

创建者 Julio R Y

Nov 16, 2021

done

创建者 Julio C R F

Nov 4, 2021

good

创建者 Bryan G G C

Oct 24, 2021

good

创建者 Erick R M A

Nov 28, 2021

..

创建者 Justin M

Mar 15, 2021

I liked how the instructors delivered material; their videos were informative and easy to follow, and they did a good job. The assignments were fine, especially the quizzes. I got a good sense of why distributed computing is useful and how to do it in spark.

I will say that the course material might be too complex for the time allotted. I think the instructors did a good job, but some of the topics were pretty advanced and likely required some knowledge that was beyond the scope of the course. Some of the assignments reflected this. In some of them, I was writing most of the code and could follow what was happening pretty easily. By the last assignment, though, I was pulling code from custom packages that the profs had written and doing regressions using equations that they wrote out for me. I think that was necessary-- going through all of this would have been too time-intensive for this course-- but if I had to write a ML model by myself, I doubt I could do it.

BUT, I definitely understand the models on a conceptual level. In this sense, the course was very successful. While I likely couldn't reproduce a lot of the code, I understand the computer science behind a lot of it. So overall, I think the course was very strong.

创建者 Joanna M

Jun 21, 2021

Overall a lot of knowledge and an interesting course. I was disappointed that the last part focused more on Machine Learning instead of on databases, data lakes etc. as I feel this would be more relevant to the specialization.

I did not like the assignment as they were not demanding enough. Majority of the code was written for us, it did not require us to analyze the code more to actually understand what we are doing and learn it.

创建者 Kota M

Apr 29, 2020

Very great introduction to the Spark SQL and databricks environment worked perfectly as a hands-on.

It would be great if the course covers the Spark ML applications. We used sklearn in the course and utilized a trained model by using the user-defined function. I wonder how it compares with the case where we use Sp ark ML for the training as well.

创建者 Carolyn O

Feb 7, 2021

The course was a struggle. I didn't take calculus or trigonometry. So, the square root means was a bit over my head. It was nice that the machine learning queries were already in the assignments. However, it would have been helpful to explain them better. Then I would be able to understand why they are written a specific way and how to read them.

创建者 Hitesh G

May 10, 2020

Positives - Just having SQL knowledge got me to learn how the large data can be processed using SPARKSQL. I had a great time getting hands-on experience for spark SQL notebook.

Negative- I just wish the videos are too paced as there was a lot of information to cover in all the videos.

创建者 Laura M D V

Aug 4, 2020

It was very helpful to me.

I would improve the assignments' design. Sometimes it felt like something was missing and not very clear, at least not as it is in the real world. And I loved Brooke's way of teaching.

创建者 Linlin L

Dec 14, 2020

This course provides hands-on experience in using Databricks's Spark. I learned a lot. I recommend people with some SQL experience to take this course for efficient programming skills!