Chevron Left
返回到 体育和社会

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 体育和社会 的评价和反馈

4.8
580 个评分
136 条评论

课程概述

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

热门审阅

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

筛选依据:

1 - 体育和社会 的 25 个评论(共 135 个)

创建者 Meghann J

Feb 20, 2020

I loved this course. The content was well-designed around key themes, the readings and lectures were entertaining, and the course felt rigorous even though it only took a couple of hours to complete each week (including all of the reading). I will definitely think about how I participate in and watch sports quite differently from now on. There have been many recent developments related to gender and sport, and I'd love to hear what Professor Starn has to say on this - is he any more hopeful about gender equality in sport in 2020 than he was when he developed the course? I'd also be interested in a deeper discussion around cheating in sport. Thanks so much for offering this course!

创建者 Priyesh S

May 31, 2019

This was a really interesting course, gives lot of insight into the various types of sports in the world, explains the science and detailed theory behind some of the worlds most popular sports, not to mention a lot of trivia and history behind the sports and how it relates to society and the various cultural relations it has all across the world.

A wonderful course and a very fun ;earning experience.

Special thanks to Professor Orin Starn and everyone at Duke University for bringing this course and making it possible. Cheers

创建者 Allison K S

Oct 30, 2016

This is without a doubt my favorite class that I have ever taken (especially online)! The videos were well done with the right balance of lecture, visuals, and videos. The quizzes were challenging, yet not impossible. My sincerest gratitude to Professor Starn and his team. I'm hoping Professor Starn creates more courses like this one! Thank you for stimulating my mind and keeping me intrigued!

创建者 Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

创建者 Aldo T

Feb 12, 2020

I learned a lot about the sport and the game, what makes them different from one another, I also learned when we wanted to play, what was inside the game (EROS and THANATOS). I also learned capitalism in sport, racial difference.

This lecture gave me a lot of knowledge about the sport and my friend. Thanks to Professor Orin Starn also Coursera.

创建者 Crys L

Jul 06, 2018

This was a great course! I went in not knowing much at all about sports, and I think I learned a lot. Everything was easy to understand, and the lectures were easy to follow. Some of the readings were challenging, but in a "hey, I learned a lot and this made me think" way rather than a "this is too hard, I give up" way.

创建者 Joshua B

Aug 27, 2019

Sports and Society is tied for my favorite course that I have taken on Coursera.org. I majored in Sport Management, so I was familiar with a good portion of the materials. However, I learned new and interesting facts in the lectures and readings. Orin Starn made the lectures informative and the class very enjoyable.

创建者 James Y

Mar 25, 2020

A terrific professor with various-angled knowledge of sports. This course offers me a chance to know more about sports theoretically and comprehensively. I very appreciate all the hard work of Professor Starn. Wish I could meet you in person one day! Thank you!

创建者 Joachim T L

Apr 11, 2016

Professor was awesome. Very knowledgeable about various sports and how sports fits into the bigger picture of life. I really enjoyed the lectures and felt the reading was perfectly matched to the videos.

创建者 Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

创建者 Rohan C

Jul 24, 2017

Orin Starn has a unique and interesting way of communicating his ideas and knowledge. The course has helped me to deepen my knowledge about the relation of sports and society.

创建者 Xiaolan

May 04, 2020

Really interesting course, definitely one of those I would recommend to everyone, especially sports enthusiasts around me. The course is not very deep or difficult in any sense, it's more about providing you with a comprehensive structure of questions that modern sports are associated with, and then offering a wide variety of materials that you can explore on your own, that includes both popular movies and academic publications. So for people planning to enroll, please don't forget to check out those amazing resources listed in the discussion section. I am very much looking forward to a more advanced version of this class. Thank Professor Orin Starn and the team from Duke University for the amazing work, it's been a great journey for me!

创建者 Чаава И Р

Apr 23, 2020

I would like to extend lots of thanks to the author of the course, professor Orin Starn and the whole team who helped in creating this course. I enjoyed and learned a lot about sports world and the society who is keen on sports. I would like to say that it was a great idea to provide us with the list of words beforehand( though I would have provided them not in one list but in separate sections right before watching videos) And I also enjoyed reading articles and extracts from books. Special thanks for the list of movies about sports that I unfortunately haven't seen earlier and thanks to the quarantine I will have time to do.

All in all, I would like to say that it is one of the best courses that I've takn om foursera.

创建者 Marie B

Apr 07, 2020

This course provided so much information and Professor Starn, with an anthropologist's perspective, including so much interesting information. This is not just a course for athletes, but for all learners who enjoy learning about the intersection of many different aspects of life - from sociology to pop culture, fine arts, biology, anthropology and history. Professor Starn has a wide breadth of knowledge and an approachable lecturing style - and a good sense of humor.

创建者 Randall W A

May 18, 2020

I REALLY liked this online classes. I was never really ready for online but with this vires and all. I thought I will check it out. I,m happy I did. Now I don't feel holpless as I "STAY @ HOME" Order. This helped me fill that void and will help me out in the future as I,m looking to go full time in my baseball/Sports. I,m looking to becoming an International Scout when I retire in a few years.

创建者 Samir B

May 07, 2020

Professor Orin Starn is so engaging and you can tell he's extremely passionate about the course content. I flew through this course in about 3 days because of how interesting each lecture was, and just wanted to continue to learn more and more each time. As a sports fan with a Kinesiology background, I really enjoyed this course and I'm sure you will too!

创建者 Aniket M

Apr 27, 2020

This is an absolutely fantastic course put up by University of Duke here. Loved the video lectures and the study material provided - additionally the book and film suggestions were wonderfully well thought too. Instructor Orin Starn and his team - you have my sincerest gratitude.

创建者 Arjay G

Aug 13, 2017

An eye opener and very entertaining, I am a MAPEH (Music,Art,Physical Education) teacher from the Philippines and lessons and insights here is a big help for me and to my students..You will gain elevated perspective about sports while taking this wonderfully presented course.

创建者 Leo M

Apr 02, 2017

Excellent course not only in terms of content but also the instructor is very well spoken and knowledgeable on the subject. He also made it very entertaining and enjoyable; not just an academic exercise. Most definitely I will like to listen more courses by him on the subject.

创建者 Faisal

May 21, 2020

Honesty loved it! Opened my eyes to how sports has evolved with the times and often reflected the unique characteristics of each different region. I didn't realize even realize just how pervasive sports has been in culture and political over the centuries

创建者 Pablo M A S

May 16, 2020

I really like this course!! you note hard work for get the course, professor Starn guide a great journey into sports world mixing interesting facts with theory, and in fact it helped me too much with my degree

congratulations, thanks a lot

创建者 Webster C

May 19, 2020

Wonderful and well crafted course that lets you in on all the need to know essentials on the relationship between Sport, Society and Politics! Amazing content that will help me get closer to my goals no doubt.

创建者 Nichakarn H

Apr 12, 2020

I’d learned a lot about the history of the sports, social behavior that relevant to the sports, and vice versa from this course. I really enjoyed all along until finished the course. Thank you professor!

创建者 Alejandro R M

Dec 10, 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.