Chevron Left
返回到 体育和社会

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 体育和社会 的评价和反馈

4.8
392 个评分
83 个审阅

课程概述

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

热门审阅

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

筛选依据:

1 - 体育和社会 的 25 个评论(共 80 个)

创建者 Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

创建者 benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

创建者 Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

创建者 Lee J

Nov 09, 2018

Very insightful, and well communicated by the teacher. Very enjoyable!

创建者 Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

创建者 Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

创建者 zhangzhe

Sep 22, 2018

perfect

创建者 Sagar A

Sep 27, 2018

It is an excellent Course!!Great insight into one of the important aspects of sports

创建者 Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Nice and refreshing course. I liked best the video game lecture and the book recommended.

创建者 Jaime S

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course, well prepared and presented!

创建者 Jennie v d B

Jun 14, 2018

This class is so fun and touches on so many topics (and sports)!

创建者 Aroosha R

Mar 12, 2018

I learned a-lot through this course. Thank you for introducing.

创建者 Luv R A

Mar 21, 2018

I really got some new insights about sports and how the climate of sports has changed and some really good facts about sport.

Thanks for the lovely lectures Mr. Orin!

创建者 MICHAUD

Jan 28, 2018

Ce cours était très captivant et intéressant! Merci beaucoup!

创建者 Ana E T H

Feb 06, 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

创建者 Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

创建者 JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

创建者 Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

创建者 Stacey B

Jan 28, 2016

AMAZING COURSE!!

创建者 Rajesh S M

Nov 02, 2017

best

创建者 Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

创建者 Oscar D

Oct 07, 2016

Excellent course!

创建者 Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

创建者 Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

创建者 Alejandro R M

Dec 10, 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.