Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

学生对 IBM 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的评价和反馈

4.7
13,105 个评分
1,533 条评论

课程概述

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

热门审阅

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

筛选依据:

1101 - Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的 1125 个评论(共 1,514 个)

创建者 TULONGA M T H

Mar 20, 2020

Upon initiation the course does cater for people with no background with many exercises. Maybe a small introduction to python would do, just to teach the people abit on python because with assistance from youtube there are always different methods to approach the problems. Maybe a clarification of problem questions should considered. Some questions are really hard to understand what is actually asked for.

创建者 Asad A

Oct 11, 2018

A great course about SQL and Databases but the final assignment should have been about writing python code to access database and analyze data, as shown in one of the videos where a pandas dataframe was created. Instead, the assignment made us write SQL code inside Jupyter Notebook. That was not needed at least as far as I am concerned. If we had to write SQL, we could have just done it on IBM Db2 Cloud.

创建者 Lauren J

May 2, 2019

As someone with zero experience with SQL, this was a solid introductory course. At the end of the course I understood many core SQL concepts and was even able to do some coding without any help. The only negative aspect I experienced was that the course used some functions that only exist in the IBM cloud that the course uses, but this shouldn't persuade someone to not take this course.

创建者 Ahmed F

Dec 19, 2018

it is a very good course that I have learned a lot from, however, I got confused in too many situations when trying to run queries and complete assignments. I dont know why but instead of trying to type the proper query, the course pushed me in a way to find the proper query somewhere, copy it and that's it. A very positive point was the amazing support and quick responses from Rav.

创建者 Marie D

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course as an intro to SQL. The materials is presented at a good rate and there are good lab exercises to practice what you learn. The final assignment really puts what you learned to the test. There is a section in week 3 about APIs that lost me and I had a hard time seeing connecting it to the rest of what was being taught, but otherwise a useful course.

创建者 Abhishek G

Nov 11, 2020

This course involves good theory on databases. It makes you familiar with different databases. Further, it takes you deep into database queries and how to perform them. The best part of the course is it provides the opportunity of doing practicals on the IBM DB2 Database. Overall, it first teaches you the theory and then practical experience.

创建者 XFAN

Mar 30, 2020

It will be better if instructor could provide more tips or attentions or common mistakes on using SQL, for example, when retrieving string results from multiple tables and joining them together, their format should be exactly same, or there will be no value though the syntax is correct. Then we will avoid wasting more time on trail and error.

创建者 James H

Apr 25, 2020

I enjoyed this class. It was interesting and gave me lot of hands-on work with SQL that i needed. That being said, there were quite a few moments where I had to dig deep into the discussions to figure out how to get stuff to work with the IBM DB2 Cloud. The text/video was not up to speed with the changes to the IBM console/setup....

创建者 CHIN W L

Dec 7, 2019

A good introduction to SQL and Databases, informational and easy to follow. There is a need to update the instructional material in the course to be in-line with the current IBM cloud and DB2 set-up page, new user will be lost due to the inconsistency between the instructional material and actual web page of IBM Cloud and DB2 set-up

创建者 Pietro S

Aug 9, 2019

Dear IBM Program People,

Great Course. I would have preferred not waiting up to one month to get my final assignment reviewed.

That makes irrelevant the efforts a student makes in completing the course as soon as possible to start learning other courses. That is the only reason I give 4 stars.

Best Regards,

Pietro

创建者 Anup K

Jun 28, 2020

Some automation in the final submission review may save time. Especially where answer is a objective type. For the subjective answers always peer-review is a good option which is in practice. Otherwise, it's a great course helps someone to start their journey in SQL with exposure in IBM cloud space.

创建者 Olavo S

May 18, 2020

A good, but shallow, course for learning basic SQL and Relational Database concepts. Good for those looking to learn the fundamentals and start working hands-on as soon as possible. Those looking to learn beyond the basic should look for other sources in concert with, or instead of, this course.

创建者 Nikhil D

Sep 16, 2019

I want to share my experience with coursera is really awesome and the course i completed Databases and SQL for Data Science is also best for my carrier and have a best content to learn DB and python. so go for it. course content is not so long or not a so small so you can lear hear very easily.

创建者 Sasanka B

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very excellent however I have faced an issue with IBM DB2cloud .At the time of final assignment submission it was not working and always showing 502 bad request ,So I have faced little obstacles during completion of my final assignment.Otherwise the course is brilliant

创建者 Phyllis J

Feb 2, 2020

Good course with very useful and valuable material. However, there were times when there were issues with loading data to work on assignments. Additionally, IBM updated their cloud system, it can be challenging to follow the course directions because they are not up-to-date.

创建者 Rituparna d

Aug 25, 2019

Peers need to understand the description and the submissions to review the assignments. I have been reviewed as not attempted for Problem 7 and partially mark for a completely correct Problem 9.

I don’t want any person who cannot understand the questions and answers.

创建者 Sridhar M

Aug 25, 2020

It is a good introductory course for individuals who would like to understand the the basics of how to work data (Load data into a database, query for relevant data using primary and foreign keys from different tables) and understand the fundamentals of SQL

创建者 Bhavesh S

Jun 9, 2020

well done excellent work i am giving four because you need to improve in the areas add important points such as the schema to be used in the assignment should be similar to the connection made and time stamp should also be included in important section

创建者 Charissa B

Nov 7, 2020

Hands on LAB was helpful for practicing. Though there were too many terms to memorize that it would have been helpful to actually have a kind of cheat sheet hand out prior to each video lesson to help in understanding and following the lectures.

创建者 Andreas P

Jan 28, 2020

This course offers a good first overview of working with SQL and database systems. It relies a bit too much on external IBM tools while a more general approach, with the open to get introduced to IBM tools, would be more appropriate.

创建者 Nataly O

May 5, 2020

I took this course to refresh my SQL skills. In general, this is a good course, but I think there was a little practice. It will be more useful for students to be required to do more tasks and assignments for asessments.

创建者 Alberto R

Jan 14, 2019

The course provides an introduction to SQL but some arguments - such as basic syntax - are only presented and not explained in-depth.

On the other hand, the second part of this course features very interesting labs.

创建者 Paul S

Jun 21, 2020

Issues with DB2 loading tables apparently due to different versions was the only technical problem encountered by myself several others (see forum) made me loose a lot of time. Otherwise this is a great course.

创建者 Rodrigo C M

Aug 27, 2019

It will give you an idea of what can you do with free databases resourses using sql to manipulate relational databases. you'll also utilize jupiter notebooks to query data connecting the notebook to a database.

创建者 Timothy-Ray H

Oct 11, 2020

This was a very interesting course. It was harder than it needed to be due to a few errors in code, but that also made it more interesting and challenging to verify that you were retaining the information.