Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

学生对 IBM 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的评价和反馈

4.7
13,916 个评分
1,687 条评论

课程概述

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

热门审阅

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

筛选依据:

1201 - Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的 1225 个评论(共 1,693 个)

创建者 Kindrat V R

Mar 22, 2020

Nice

创建者 TANGIRALA S P S

Mar 6, 2020

Good

创建者 Debakanta S

Feb 18, 2020

good

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 10, 2020

good

创建者 iyyanar

Oct 10, 2019

Good

创建者 Prabhu M

Sep 2, 2019

good

创建者 Nidhi G

Mar 15, 2019

Good

创建者 Mahesh A

Jan 5, 2019

Nice

创建者 ASHISH K J

Nov 11, 2018

good

创建者 Ahmad B

Mar 17, 2020

Thx

创建者 Josh H

Jan 9, 2020

aaa

创建者 André J A

Jul 22, 2021

ok

创建者 Kiran K

Jun 16, 2020

NA

创建者 Muhammad T A

Sep 11, 2019

<3

创建者 Aqeel A

Oct 13, 2021

创建者 Vu C T

Sep 1, 2021

创建者 Ali C B

Nov 17, 2020

.

创建者 koradedinesh@johndeere.com

Jan 23, 2020

G

创建者 Mao T T

Mar 22, 2020

Of the courses in this professional data science certificate I have taken, this is probably the best designed one. The labs force you to think and apply what you learnt in the video and not simply make minor modification to example codes. By the end of the course, I have internalized some of the commands. Overall, the labs were rather effective at drilling the concepts into students.

Some of the labs in the second week were rather lazily written. Instead of asking students to practice what they saw in the videos, all labs should contain actual questions that ask students to apply what they have learnt to new examples and problems, forcing them to think about what they have learnt.

The grading system is also in need of improvement. Some graders do not seem to know what they are doing. Simply resubmitting the assignment can result in a drastically improved score simply because the first grader was marking down answers that were actually correct. Perhaps there could be multiple graders assigned to any single assignment and the average score taken, or something to that effect.

创建者 Amy P

May 8, 2019

This is a great course and I particularly appreciated the integration with Python/Jupyter notebooks. As in previous courses in the IBM certificate program, the labs were the highlight. They challenged students to answer questions using real data sets. Going from start to finish - from sourcing and downloading data all the way to analysis - was very helpful in mastering all of the techniques.

A couple of sections felt out of place: in my opinion, the optional database schema topics could become a separate course of their own, while the section on joins deserved more attention. The lecture slides, with the pictures of interconnected tables, were a bit hard to read and could do with an upgrade. Overall though, great pacing, with easily digestible videos. Highly recommend.

创建者 Yohaunin Z

Sep 1, 2021

I think the learning process was easy with this one, minus a technical issue, so far this one has been my favorite:

Learning the various commands in SQL was very simple and straight forward, the course was surprisingly detailed regarding SQL, using Python with a database api to interact with the database Db2, establishing a connection to that database and using SQL magic to make interacting with Db2 more simple and straightforward.

There was a technical issues with SQL Magic (resolved) ,

however the course is very easy to study, surprisingly detailed, includes lots of hands on labs to practice coding on, it even comes with a bonus section for more advanced people.

Overall I really enjoyed this course!!!

创建者 PIERRE A

Feb 18, 2020

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍

创建者 David A

Sep 9, 2018

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

创建者 Shuo J

Aug 5, 2020

The instructor and course materials are very good! But the peer reviewing for the assignment is NOT well-organized, as one problem in my assignment was not graded correctly, and obviously it's a "trembling hand error" made by the grader. Coursera has in-built mechanism to prevent such error: it uses median grade for each problem as your grade. But this mechanism only works if each problem is graded by enough students, which is not the case in this course based on my observations in the forum. I would suggest the course designer to require each student to grade at least three assignments before they can earn the certificate.

创建者 Cia A Y

Aug 22, 2021

This course was structured well and very informative. I was able to understand everything well even with very minimal SQL and Python knowledge at the beginning of this course.

One point of improvement is the service credential/connection issue faced by many people that prevented us from doing the assignments and thus continuing with the course. For me, the root of the problem was the location of my account (I chose the US instead of London, UK). The organisers of this course should further look into the cause(s) of the connection problem and ensure that it gets fixed ASAP.