Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.6
12,720 个评分
3,271 条评论

课程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

热门审阅

JG

Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

筛选依据:

201 - SQL for Data Science 的 225 个评论(共 3,349 个)

创建者 CAIO C C

Jan 5, 2022

This course is amazing. I have never get into SQL before and after the course I feel that I know way better now. It's a great start for people that never learned SQL before. Now, my next step is to do more SQL courses to be better prepared to become a data scientist in the near future.

创建者 Diego R G

Feb 24, 2020

I took another Data Science course from Michigan and it was horrible! I was concerned about going into this course, but it completely regained my faith in MOOCs and Coursera in general. This is a great course without question. Take your time on each assignment and you will learn a lot!

创建者 Rick E

Mar 31, 2022

I really enjoyed the content and pave of this course. I am brand new to SQL, and this course has given me the confidence to look at a query and not be freaked out :) I am confdent that I can now write and execute basic queries and understand the results after completing this course.

创建者 SIDDHI R K

Sep 1, 2020

The instructor has explained the topics with so ease and lots of examples. The thing I loved about this course is the practice questions provided. They are well-tailored and helped me to understand the concepts well. A must course if you are looking to start learning SQL from scratch.

创建者 Mithila H

Jul 22, 2020

It was a good start to the basics of SQL. I would request for inclusion of more sessions/videos in this course. These videos can enable students to gain deeper knowledge of SQL. Also, I request one to one sessions with the mentor. This will help in clarification of queries/doubts.

创建者 Anthony P G

May 15, 2021

This covers the right fundamentals especially for those who are new in SQL. This has the right recipe of how to profile the data right from the beginning. I encourage those who are wanting to upskill their analytics skills or any one with no experience with SQL to grab this course.

创建者 Jason L

Apr 30, 2019

So far this course is great for introductory classes. I took IBM's SQL for Data Science and I had a bad experience. Here the course is very well structured with clear concepts at a well-taught speed. I highly recommend it. So far 5 stars. I'll update this review once I'm fully done

创建者 Jeff M

Oct 21, 2020

SQL for Data Science is an excellent course for beginners or data professionals looking for an extensive refresher. The instructor Sadie St. Lawrence did an outstanding job teaching the material, keeping a steady pace, and motivating the students to learn and finish the materials.

创建者 mark w

Dec 17, 2017

I enjoyed the course and learned a basic understanding of SQL. The final project is very difficult and seems geared more towards advanced SQL users. If this is your first exposure to SQL you will find the final project frustrating and you will need to refer to other texts to t

创建者 Brenton M

May 13, 2022

​I felt this was a great inteoductory course for me. The content was well organized and presented. I would've liked to see the different tables coming together rather than just the SQL query (especially when learning about the different joins). Overall really good. Thank you!

创建者 jon h

Jun 17, 2022

C​ourse was great. Video's short, easy to follow. Quizzes were challenging but doable. Final project very challenging. Only suggestion, would be nice to work in an actual database. Was frustrating working in the tiny box provided to run sql queries & output was very limited.

创建者 Aman K S H

Mar 28, 2022

The course is well organised and the quiz along with the coding questions tests one's knowledge very nicely. This course provides a indepth revision to the people already knowing SQL . To me this course provided a good revision and also helped me to learn some new concepts.

创建者 Rainier G T

Aug 26, 2020

This course was really intensive and the course material is high-quality. The discussion and lectures were really helpful and straightforward. By far, the best course I had for learning SQL. I recommend this to everyone wanting to get familiar or diving into SQL as a start.

创建者 Sergio G C

Dec 12, 2018

Loved this course. Easy to follow videos, they go straight to the point and you can practice queries right away from the first lesson. Gradually increases in difficulty and you end up doing a very interesting and helpfull assingment. I fell I earned all the basics in SQL.

创建者 Rashi S

Jul 31, 2019

I liked the course and the way it was taught. Just a suggestion if possible for coding from the starting of the module till the end that is for the complete lectures practice questions can be given so that entire coding can be practiced. Thankyou for the great opportunity.

创建者 Li F

Aug 5, 2020

The MCQ in between lectures is extremely helpful in keeping up to the content. I also especially enjoy the coding questions that are really practical in helping learners understand and execute the knowledge covered in the lecture. Overall great presentation and structure!

创建者 Angelos S

Jan 4, 2020

It is a well structured and detailed course in terms of data analysis, SQL principles and differences between relational models (ER) and NoSQL. The difficulty level is between novice and intermediate and the instructor is very helpful and analytical. Overall recommended.

创建者 Aurora S P

Nov 4, 2019

I believe this course is perfect to have a first approach towards SQL. Moreover I like how it relates to Data Scientists' context, and how it helps to understand Data Scientist's role and mindset. In general it was very useful and easy to follow lessons given by Sadie!

创建者 Tina M

Jan 11, 2020

This was a great course, it provided me with great examples not just in the Instructor notes but in the side reading material that I have taken and created a review reference folder for future review. This is a great class and and I am glad it is apart of the program.

创建者 Nathen M

May 29, 2022

Best course I've taken on Coursera. Everything is so well done. Best learning experience when it comes to SQL when compared to all the googleing, youtubeing, other cources I've taken. Made me feel like I can actually take these skills to the bank. Thank you so much!

创建者 Юдаков Е О

Jun 21, 2021

Если ты можешь перевести какой-нибудь технический текст = БЕРИ и не думай.

Параллельно смотрел лекции, тем самым дополнял знания полученным на курсе.

Иногда было сложно понять, что конкретно от тебя хочет программа, но можно несколько раз перечитать и все будет окей.

创建者 Ana-Natalia M

Aug 20, 2020

A good amount of info for a basics course. I would have liked a bit more detail and examples when the more complicated concepts came in (joins, more specifically).

The final assignment is pretty challenging but interesting and satisfying once you reach your results.

创建者 Azka A

Apr 29, 2020

It is a very good course for beginners who want to learn SQL. It starts from the very basics and no previous knowledge is required. The instructor is really great and the lectures are informative. It will benefit anyone who wants to start learning SQL from scratch.

创建者 Kenneth L

Sep 8, 2020

I am very pleased with this course mentor as she has a very clear speech. The data is split into many small videos that are overall quite easy to digest. The tests and exam has forced me to learn the material in depth and leaves me with a sense of accomplishment.

创建者 Ignacio G

Jul 25, 2019

I had already some experience with other databases and higher education on science and I founded it interesting enough, not very difficult, easy to follow, do not expect very challenging things. All in all, I have learned a lot and I am satisfied. I recommend it.