Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Statistics

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Introduction to Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.6
512 个评分
97 条评论

课程概述

Stanford's "Introduction to Statistics" teaches you statistical thinking concepts that are essential for learning from data and communicating insights. By the end of the course, you will be able to perform exploratory data analysis, understand key principles of sampling, and select appropriate tests of significance for multiple contexts. You will gain the foundational skills that prepare you to pursue more advanced topics in statistical thinking and machine learning. Topics include Descriptive Statistics, Sampling and Randomized Controlled Experiments, Probability, Sampling Distributions and the Central Limit Theorem, Regression, Common Tests of Significance, Resampling, Multiple Comparisons....

热门审阅

ST
Oct 2, 2021

The course is very informative and easy to understand. Each topic was explained clearly with examples. Hope that there will be an advanced course

RM
Sep 27, 2021

It was not an easy course for me due to my background, but the content is really well explained. I now want to learn more about the statistics.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to Statistics 的 25 个评论(共 104 个)

创建者 Margaret A

May 9, 2021

This course covers the most popular statistical ideas (it closely follows the O'Reilly book "Practical Statistics for Data Scientists"), so the material is relevant. Unfortunately, the course is not designed well for comprehension. The instructor glosses over things very quickly, and fails to define crucial terms and concepts. For instance, he never once says "this is the formula for deriving the standard deviation," instead he only ever says "now we will standardize" and you need to know what he means. When calculating probability in the early lessons, he does not pause to help you learn how to assign A and B, nor does he stop to say which values he has assigned to A and which to B. As of May 2020, halfway into what I believe is the first iteration of the course, the Forums were not turned on so we cannot seek help from our classmates, even though about 3,000 are currently enrolled. I'm five weeks in and completely undecided about whether to continue or not; I am not learning statistics; for the most part I am just retaking the tests over and over again until I pass. Please at a minimum turn on the forums for students. But also consider re-recording the Probability section to include more instruction about how to assign variables to A and B, and to more clearly specify what the teacher considers to be A and B in the course examples. IAlso, if the profession consistently uses the phrase "standardize" to mean "calculate the standard deviation" please say that somewhere. n addition, the Week 3 Quiz includes a question not covered until the Week 4 material.

创建者 Hassen P

Apr 16, 2019

It's an Introduction to Statistics and it means it should help those who are new to statistics. But it's way far from that.

The instructor explains topics very very very very and again very summarized. While he drops mind boggling formulas on to the screen, he explains you the 1/100 of the tip of the ice berg.

You just cannot use this course for an introduction to statistics. You need a lot of books and a lot of time to get the quizzes right.

创建者 Ching-hsiu L

Jun 7, 2021

I've completed 10 modules. However I decide to stop learning statistics here although I've passed the 10 modules with high scores.

I think the learning materials of this course are valuable and the instructor, professor Guenther Walther is excellent. However, for global students, this course is awful, comparing with the other beginner level courses in Coursera, A lot of concepts in the videos are not introduced clearly, for example, what is median? How to find the median? How to distinguish dependent variables from independent variables? What is a sample? What is a category? What is replacement for a draw? When should be replacement? I think the instructor assumed every student here is a Stanford student or an American student.

To be honest, this course is not supportive to students because it doesn't open the discussion forum for students to discuss the problems coming from the materials and correct the incorrect calculation in the instruction. In addition, there is not any handout to help students to summarize what are taught in the module or give more examples. Only quizzes, but no exercises. These makes the learning here generate a lot of difficulties and failures despite there are explanations following the quizzes.

In spite of that, I will miss the voice of professor Guenther Walther. The voice sounds sincere and friendly.

I will come back when I think I can continue to learn here. Hope this course will be improved in the future.

创建者 Grant B

Aug 30, 2019

Enjoyed the course but had repeating problems with the Coursera platform not submitting quizzes for weeks. Coursera provided no support and no communication (zero). Had to contact Stanford administration to get any action on the problem. Still Coursera did not communicate and were slow to respond to the school administration. Finally fixed two days before course deadline.

Critical bugs in the Coursera platform. Absolutely no response from Coursera to flagged bug reports. Absolutely no Coursera support. Cannot recommend.

创建者 Praneeth k P

Jun 30, 2021

No proper explanation of concepts, no in detail examples, no proper set of quizes,content is lagging

创建者 Jordan B

Oct 15, 2021

The lecturer is extremely dry and the course materials contain many gaps. Concepts are discussed without having been properly introduced.

创建者 Ashish J E

Jan 13, 2021

Excellent content - explains complex concepts in simple words. Though i had prior knowledge of statistics and i undertook this course as part of the Foundation in Data science course, i found this excellent content.

创建者 Neha N M

May 29, 2021

very good basic statistics score, explained in detail and all the basics cleared, everyone should go for it

创建者 Patricia R

May 7, 2021

The course is great for those who want to brush up on the foundational statistical concepts for advanced learning. If Prof. Walther offers more educational content that's relevant to me, I'd gladly take it!

创建者 Derrick L H P

Jun 12, 2021

V​ery good introduction to statistical concepts that help you build on your intuition.

创建者 Shu I

Sep 8, 2021

It is a great course to learn the key foundamental concepts about statistics theories. I did not grasp the whole concepts at once, but by repeating the video and reading the materials I was able to understand the key concepts. Good starter for data science field study.

创建者 Sao-Mai T

Oct 2, 2021

The course is very informative and easy to understand. Each topic was explained clearly with examples. Hope that there will be an advanced course

创建者 mezzanatto R

Sep 28, 2021

It was not an easy course for me due to my background, but the content is really well explained. I now want to learn more about the statistics.

创建者 Pankaj S

Sep 6, 2021

Excellent course... Only improvement I can suggest is to add more problems in the lectures as well as quizzes.

创建者 Peter L

Aug 24, 2021

Solid exposure to introductory content. Prof Walther speaks clearly and the examples help in practicing!

创建者 Dixon A

Jun 27, 2021

This course will surely help kick start my career in data science. I have learned alot.

创建者 Pratap C

Dec 24, 2020

Very good introduction to Statistics!

创建者 Maya M

May 18, 2021

A wonderful course. However, I don't think it's strictly a beginner course because several concepts could be better comprehended with a pre-existing knowledge of the subject. This course makes concepts clearer and enhances understanding.

创建者 Joye B

Jun 28, 2021

I found that some of the content was confusing.

创建者 Shawn W

Dec 23, 2018

Good material, very very dry instructor.

创建者 Yuhua Y

Oct 16, 2021

No well explained in some theorem

创建者 Alejandro E

Jul 17, 2021

INSUFFICIENT LECTURES

创建者 Kapil C

Jul 1, 2021

I have completed almost half a course and I want to thank Mr. Guenther Walther for making statistics understanding so easy and fascinating. Very useful course for people who wants to make their carrier in data analytics because I think statistics is the core foundation for any data analysis. Once again thanks to Mr. Guenther Walther, Stanford University and Coursera for compiling the course.

创建者 Dylan A

Sep 28, 2021

Excellent course. As a data analyst, a familiarity with Statistics is very useful. This has given me a really good background to statistical concepts and key terms. I feel much more confident with concepts such as confidence & significance, statistical tests and regression. I find some of the later modules very interesting, such as data snooping, bootstrapping and the monte carlo method.

创建者 Y. Z

Sep 30, 2021

This course helps me call back a lot of concepts and methods that I learned at University but have forgotten. The instructor gives concise but to-the-point explanations and easy-to-remember examples, which even enables me to gain better understanding about some concepts that I used to confuse. I have picked up my interest in learning. Many thanks to the course and to the instructor!