Chevron Left
返回到 How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC 的评价和反馈

4.7
335 个评分
98 个审阅

课程概述

Who? If you’re an entrepreneur at any stage of your journey, or even an aspiring one, and you need money to start or grow your business, this course is for you. What? This course will introduce, and help you put to use in your startup, the five models through which your customers can – and will, if you ask them! – fund your business. These five time-tested models have been put to use by entrepreneurial superstars like Michael Dell, Bill Gates, Richard Branson and more. Sadly, though, the five models are rarely talked about and not widely understood. Until now! The five models will be brought to life by the real-world stories of an inspiring collection of incredibly creative entrepreneurs from around the world – including successes and failures – through a series of captivating no-holds-barred interviews with founders and others, and investors, too. Why? More than two generations ago, the venture capital community – VC’s, business angels, incubators, and others – convinced the entrepreneurial world that writing business plans and raising venture capital constituted the twin centerpieces of entrepreneurial endeavor. They did so for very good reasons: the sometimes astonishing returns they’ve delivered to their investors and the incredibly large and valuable companies their ecosystem has created. But the vast majority of fast growing companies never take any angel or venture funding. Are they onto something that most of today’s entrepreneurial ecosystem has missed? Indeed, should a business angel or VC be seen as the first port of call for getting your nascent entrepreneurial venture off the ground or growing it faster? Perhaps not. How? You’ll be asked to do a series of exercises – out in the real world – to put your growing toolkit to use in your business or the one you hope to start. Hands-on, practical tools to help your business start and thrive – without venture capital. You’ll join our discussion board of fellow participants, if you like, and learn from others who are putting the tools to work, just as you are. And to suit today’s fast-paced lifestyles, we’ve broken what you’ll get – short lessons, interviews, thought-provoking questions, even some optional things to read – into bite-sized chunks, so you can log in and grab them whenever and wherever you are. And what else? If, after checking out and perhaps completing this course, you find your company in a position where seeking venture capital turns out to be the right thing to do next, John Mullins leads an inspiring and hands-on executive education course at London Business School – this one face-to-face – called Financing the Entrepreneurial Business. There, among a room full of investors and entrepreneurs, you’ll study a series of captivating real-world cases and learn everything an entrepreneur – or an investor, for that matter – needs to know to handle the person who sits across the deal table and take an entrepreneurial business from start-up to exit. See https://www.london.edu/education-and-development/executive-education/topic/finance/financing-the-entrepreneurial-business#.WIVY_FyTQ-0 for info....

热门审阅

KK

May 13, 2017

It was an amazing opportunity wherein we had a great chance to both learn about various customer funded models through interviews, guest talks and practice them through assignments in parallel

HR

Jun 14, 2016

Excelent course, with great interviews. I am sorry I didn't get it 5 years ago. I would have saved hours and hours preparing for a VC, that I would have used to get customers.

筛选依据:

1 - How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC 的 25 个评论(共 93 个)

创建者 Marco P

Apr 17, 2019

This course is very well organised and entertaining. Most of all its content is extremely useful and well backed up by theories (although they are explained in simple terms like the Porter's 5 forces framework) and resources (books, articles, interviews). As a mentor of start ups I already advised this course to some mentees and I myself will get back to it expanding through the main text book. Thanks

创建者 Christian R

Jun 18, 2019

The course is excellent but some parts of the curriculum are a little outdated so I think it needs to be refreshed.

创建者 SHASHANK S

May 25, 2019

The course is good but the peer-graded assignments are a headache. There is too much work and the given time is very less, this is something which I didn't like about the course.

创建者 Roberto R

Feb 22, 2019

Great course!!!

创建者 Mubarak Y

Feb 26, 2019

Just began this course and it's already an eye opener!

创建者 Danai M P

Dec 11, 2018

Excellent, snappy presentation, very relevant and engaging interviews, good assignments that signify in the real world. Very helpful explanations of the five customer funded models. pitfalls to avoid as important as success stories. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

创建者 Alexandru G

Feb 07, 2019

Great insights from this course. Excelent!

创建者 Sergey P

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent course with practical cases!

创建者 Pradeep N

May 15, 2018

It's a great course. Really loved it. No ready to use solutions, but certainly helps you unlock your potential to be a successful entrepreneur. At least that is the way I found it. The brief moments of pause John had given to the participants asking to think through, is a marvel. It made me come up with many ideas, which never happened in that rate before. If you patiently walk along, rather trying to finish it quick, may be you may find it the same way as me or even better. Best of luck to all of you with your projects and plans!

创建者 Abdul R

Mar 14, 2018

It is a "must course" for every entrepreneur.

创建者 Zigor K N S

Jun 22, 2017

It was a wonderful learning and give me so many knowlegde!!! Amazing program.

创建者 Daria M

Jan 17, 2018

John Mullins, thank you for creating such an amazing and compact course, that I believe every start up founder should do! All the truth and advice hidden in all the interviews is just priceless!

The rich content and easy to follow tips, provide easy to implement knowledge! The variety of business models discussed make the course relevant to majority of the start ups.

I can't wait to put all that valuable knowledge into practice now!

Daria Marczak

创建者 Emi H

Apr 02, 2018

I can not recommend this course highly enough. It literally has changed my life and is from my perspective a must take for every aspiring entrepreneur and also for those already on the path.

创建者 Jarryon P

Nov 13, 2017

A beauty of a course. Has definitely saved me many hours and many future tears. Thanks John!

创建者 Alan S R

Dec 11, 2017

Great teacher and interesting interviews with successful entrepreneurs

创建者 sajjad

Sep 26, 2017

its really awesome

创建者 João N S

May 10, 2016

Very useful course for entrepreneurs who don't want to invest their time looking for investors money

创建者 Alejandro C

Nov 12, 2017

This course is mandatory material for those wanting to start a business. I am surprised to learn of things i am currently doing without being told, and discovering other things i should be doing and did not know of.

创建者 Nikhilesh T

May 01, 2016

Fantastic course. A must for every entrepreneur.

创建者 Daria Z

Dec 11, 2017

Very useful course for start-uppers seeking for VC. It gives many insights on DO's and DONTs through the whole process of building you business.

Happy to discover it exactly on the stage of the beginner. I think this course will help me avoid many stupid mistakes.

创建者 Mais J

Jun 19, 2017

Very insightful especially for someone who is at the idea stage of a startup. Thank you coursera, LBS, and professor John!

创建者 Umair N A Q

Feb 28, 2017

Excellent course so far, right course about Finance.

创建者 Natalie

Oct 14, 2016

Great course with lots of interviews from entrepreneurs and VC professionals. Great insight from real-life cases.

创建者 Dominic v M

Aug 03, 2016

Thank you for very interesting lectures and inspiring interviews

创建者 Pablo P

Jul 10, 2017

Exceptional. Very good and complete, and easy to take.