Chevron Left
返回到 Improving your statistical inferences

学生对 埃因霍温科技大学 提供的 Improving your statistical inferences 的评价和反馈

4.9
471 个评分
154 个审阅

课程概述

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 10.000 learners have enrolled so far!...

热门审阅

YK

Mar 02, 2017

Excellent course. The lecturer has written code snippets that let the students visualize the meaning and interrelationship of p-values confidence-intervals power effect-size bayesian-inference.

MR

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent course with a lot to learn. After 10 years in data analysis it provided me with great new insights and material to further improve my skills and understanding of data analysis

筛选依据:

126 - Improving your statistical inferences 的 150 个评论(共 153 个)

创建者 Habiba A

Dec 29, 2016

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

创建者 Vít G

Nov 12, 2016

Dear Daniel,Let me thank you for this marvel of yours. Your course helped me to revise and to (re)structure previously learned issues, it enriched me with new contexts that were presented in a truly enjoyable way, and last but not least, it gave me completely new insights including the role of simulations in teaching.Many thanks for your work!

创建者 Carlos L F

Jul 18, 2017

It's a really interesing course about statistical inferences. You can learn a lot about how to recollect data, how to analyse it and how to interpret it. It is very recommendable for all kind of researchers.

创建者 EDILSON S S O J

Apr 09, 2018

Nice!

创建者 Pavol K

Aug 16, 2017

Amazing course. Definitely worth to accomplish. Highly recommended for every researcher, lecturer, PhD. student or student that is interested in prestent state of art regarding choosen important topics statistics and methodology, especially in Psychology.

创建者 Bruno V

Feb 19, 2019

Thank you daniel, very educational, I learned a lot

创建者 Caroline W

Jun 17, 2017

I thought this was an excellent and enjoyable course. Daniel Simons is a great teacher, and I learned a lot as well as picking up some practical tools for the future, such as easy to use spreadsheets to calculate and convert effect sizes, and confidence intervals. I'm an R novice, but got on fine with it and really appreciated the pedagogical value of the R-simulations.

创建者 Xiwen O

Dec 26, 2017

Very great work to help people to listen this great courses!

创建者 Farhan N

May 21, 2018

I found out about this course as i stumbled across Professor Daniel's blog one day and i feel very lucky that i did. Chances are, like me, you are making some very common mistakes in using and interpreting statistics which is why this course is a MUST for anyone in a discipline that uses statistics and i wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who has taken a few introductory courses on the subject, regardless of their level of expertise.

The instructor goes through very real and practical topics in the use of statistics and weaves it with adequate theory, examples through simulations, exercises and plenty of additional sources. Common mistakes are highlighted and very useful solutions/tips are provided. The level of difficulty is very accessible and there is not much mathematics beyond algebra and basic probability, although you can go more in depth into technical supplementary readings, should you choose to do so. The instructor also replied to queries and helped out where he could. There is also a really good corresponding (although independent) facebook group on methodology that is very informative and from which i learn new things everyday.

This course is one of the main reasons i am now learning more mathematics so i can properly use statistics in my field of study (Psychology) and i would like to thank professor Daniel for making such a wonderful, eye opening resource for everyone who uses statistics.

Enroll as soon as you can!

创建者 Alexander P

Jul 23, 2017

Phenomenal course!

创建者 marcus n

Feb 04, 2017

Great high level overview of intermediate applied statistics. The instructors presentation skills and pace are very good as well.

创建者 Farid

Mar 12, 2017

Exactly what i needed. But now it

创建者 Daniel K

Jan 15, 2019

Thanks to the creators of this course for putting together an engaging curriculum. One note of criticism is that the assignments for Week 5 required G*power software which as far as I can tell is not available on Linux (I'm running Ubuntu).

The practical examples, specifically the example of the impact of Facebook's A/B testing were particularly interesting. I think this course has improved the tools I have at my disposal for interpreting the language commonly used in academic reporting, and I'm confident the information and tools presented will help in my own research in the coming years.

创建者 Leanne C

Jan 03, 2019

Very informative course, well taught and with lots of useful practice built into the assignments.

创建者 Lior Z

Oct 10, 2018

Great course! Highly recommended.

One thing to improve - I would like to see more theory behind the different effect sizes (eta-squared/omega squared/etc)

创建者 Alicia S J

Nov 11, 2018

Good pacing and ratio of exercises/lecture. I found the assignments very useful and the instructions easy to follow. Comparing my performance on the pre-tests and pop quizzes at the beginning of the course to those at the end clearly demonstrates that the coursework honed my stats intuition, and I'm very grateful! The only critical feedback I have is that occasionally, I found the wording of test/quiz questions to be a bit confusing. Thanks!

创建者 Alex G

Oct 26, 2016

To get this out of the way: The one star deduction is not related to the content of the course, only to the fact that there is occasional imprecise language and some parts of the material have typos and grammatical slip-ups that show that the course has room for some tightening up.

That being said, the selection of topics that are covered is great. You get a small but full package of both knowledge and tools that'll help you to significantly (no pun intended) improve your research. Not only are statistical pitfalls covered and solutions offered, you also learn something about how to approach your research with the right mind-set in order to produce solid empirical knowledge that contributes to a cumulative science.

I was particularly impressed by how the instructor manages to pack lots of important topics and concepts into his 10 or 15 minutes lectures without it becoming overwhelming. The key to this is his ability to maintain focus and his generally clear and concise language. The course material, too, reflects the ability to present just the right amount of information - not too little, not too much.

Overall, the course feels very pragmatic and hands-on. It proves that good and fruitful science is doable and that you can start right now. It makes you *want* to start right now.

创建者 Mage I

Jun 20, 2018

The course was very useful, I enjoyed Daniel's advice. However, I wasn't able to make R work, so I couldn't do the exams.

创建者 Robert C P

Jan 21, 2018

This course is a great complement to other statistics related courses. Instead of spending time on a bunch of formulas, this class is more about best practices and how to (correctly) apply some of the basic statistical methods.

创建者 Sanne D

May 27, 2018

Questions are sometimes hard to understand if you are not a native speaker of the English language

创建者 Ramón G M

Apr 23, 2018

I recovered my faith in statistics with this course.

Makes me alert not to believe every effect I see in the data.

Teaches to do good science.

创建者 ese10

Jul 29, 2019

Very informative.

创建者 Max R

Nov 29, 2019

It was nice. I initially hoped the course would have made some technical details intuitively graspable, but it was fine as it is.

创建者 Marija A

Oct 12, 2018

I find this course very useful, since these are topics that do not stick when you are completely new to statics, but are very useful once you have few years experience in practice. My only remark is that sometimes the multiple choice answers in the quizzes were not clear enough, so a bit confusing.

创建者 Luis A

Aug 21, 2017

Dr. Lakens is a very good instructor. He speaks cleary and he is extremaly focused in each subject he's teaching, Unfortunatelly, he keeps making some jargons in somehow he understand frequentist statistics. I'll list some of mistakes:

1. The p-value is a probability computed assuming *the null hypothesis is true*, that the test statistic would take a value as extreme or more extreme than that actually observed. When he cite "assuming null effect", he merge "effect size" and "NHSTs". This becomes even worst when we use NHST to analyze variable distributions where, by default, we don't have an "effect", but an "assumption". This is valid for all normality test, such anderson-darling or kolgomorov-smirnoff.

2. Furthermore considering the way he decided to approach to null hypothesis, any statistician knows that a null is always wrong and it is the why we dont accept the null. During all the time, in his videos, he insists to use "accepting the null". When he does that, is like a broken guitar in a symphony. It disturbs the video.

3. The control of type II error always involves some sample-size calculations wether we want to acchieve, at minimium, 80% of power. He simply attached a R script to run and he didnt't mention how we can verify if some study has an effect or not. Point and clicking button, in my opinion, is not adequate when we are in a statistical class where the goal is to improve our inferencial skills.

4. Some of quizzes and evaluations have items where options are not presented in a properly way. The subject of each response vary substantly.

I trully hope this feedback will be read in an academic way, which was the intention.