Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,862 个评分
612 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
Jul 5, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

筛选依据:

101 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 125 个评论(共 601 个)

创建者 Sujan S

May 1, 2020

This Course was so exciting and enjoy full too. As there was a Speaking Assignment too . I have one Suggestion that If that Speaking Assignment was Live than It would be too interesting to the Learners.

创建者 Paulo A

Jun 26, 2017

Muito bom o curso, além de ser uma ferramenta para auxiliar no estudo da língua inglesa, também você consegue aprimorar o conhecimento de outras áreas, neste caso da ciência. Ótimo curso, recomendo!

创建者 Donato R

Jul 6, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

创建者 Eliana B

Jun 19, 2020

Me resultó muy interesante. Aprendí mucho lenguaje relacionado con el medio ambiente. Me parece muy bueno que vayan alternando el conocimiento científico con el correcto empleo de la gramática.

创建者 Amauri B L

Jan 28, 2020

I would like thanking for this great course, I did not only learn about english language, I've learned about science and technology as well. Special thanks to Jack Sullivan and Alyssa Swanson.

创建者 Vitalii V

May 25, 2020

Very useful course. It provides an opportunity to refresh your knowledge of English, as well as to get acquainted with an interesting and important topic in the fight against global warming.

创建者 Berikova S

Apr 11, 2020

I really appreciate the people who organised such a perfect platform where peple can learn , teach and develope skills. Best in inventing more magic and giving us opportunity to enjoy study!

创建者 Eiko E

May 1, 2020

This was a great course to take during the Corona Lockdown. The instructors have a real smooth and understandable language and were able to bring the necessary information right on point.

创建者 Serhii S

Feb 13, 2018

I from Ukraine, really liked the course, instructors are professionals in their field, everything is very clear and interesting, thank you guys for the course, good luck and prosperity!!!

创建者 PO-CHI B C

Jan 13, 2020

It is a great course and it is not only in English language skills and climate change impact on our planet, but also in how to verify the news and information. I do love this course.

创建者 Aleksey P

May 27, 2020

An amazing balanced course for different levels of language proficiency. He not only teaches English, but also raises and develops a topic that is quite important for us all. Thanks!

创建者 Mahmoud H M

May 22, 2020

The course was very good and the professors were good but it wasn't very useful for improving my English as improving my knowledge about global warming and climate change 😄🤷🏻‍♂️

创建者 Ana C F

Mar 23, 2020

It is essential for my career and studies to improve my English skills related to Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics areas. I am really satisfied with this course!

创建者 Anyi C M D

Apr 15, 2020

It was amazing, I learned so much and improved some skills in English. All topics were really interesting and help me to have more concience about our Earth planet.

Thank you!

创建者 Noemi F

Jun 7, 2017

I have been supporting MOOC groups at my BNC American Space in Sorocaba, SP-Brazil,CCBEU-Sorocaba. We have more than 160 people enrolled in 5 groups!

Great fun!

Noemi Fontao

创建者 Diego A C F

Jun 5, 2020

Excelente curso para poner en práctica los conocimientos sobre el idioma y también da un gran plus para aprender nuevos temas y vocabulario relacionado con STEM. Muy bueno.

创建者 Kh

Jun 2, 2020

Perfect course, perfect teachers, perfect program, very interesting topic, Very valuable information, every thing was perfect, I'm really appreciate that, thank you so much

创建者 Ali T

Jun 10, 2020

It was and excellent course not only for learning English bu also to gain knowledge regarding protecting our planet. Many thanks to dear instructors and coursera website!

创建者 GRACE B B

Feb 3, 2021

Very amazing software it made me learn a lot about climate change, and available to everyone, solutions from the organization of UN, and many more, 10/10 would recommend

创建者 Paulina M S

Apr 7, 2018

Thanks for everything! I learned a lot about climate change and current studies, experiments and possible solutions in the world.

I have also improved my English skills.

创建者 Bauyrzhan S

Jul 27, 2020

The course contains helpful and interesting information, good instructions about scientific advances from 2010s. A nice introductory course about science for beginners

创建者 Mónica V M R

Sep 11, 2020

Los temas son muy interesantes y eso te motiva a seguir leyendo, ya que aprendes ingles y lo que esta sucediendo entre la comunidad científica, en el área citada.

创建者 Ricardo N M

Jul 8, 2018

This course is very valuable, because it improve us in the english language and to same time teach us about enviromental issue very important for the human being.

创建者 Nathalia P d O

Jun 13, 2017

Curso muito didático, apesar do meu nível de inglês ainda consigo acompanhar as aulas.

Achei perfeito o material e os professores, sem dúvidas aprendo a cada dia.

创建者 Gabriela P

Jun 9, 2017

It is an excellent course. This course is rich in information about climate change, global warming. Many thanks to the instructors and University of Philadelphia.