Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,721 个评分
563 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
Jul 5, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

筛选依据:

151 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 175 个评论(共 552 个)

创建者 Abigail F P

Nov 30, 2017

I have learned so much that I'm very excited to share them with my students. Thank you for coming up with this great course.

创建者 Ingrid N O S

Jul 14, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn more about engineering and technology, hope to use this knowledge in my diary life !

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 26, 2019

this is not only useful for non English-speaking country, but this also provide a supportive English-learning environment.

创建者 Tiago P G N

Sep 20, 2017

Ótimo para praticar e aprender. Além de ser um assunto que interessa a todos nós, o que torna o curso mais atraente ainda.

创建者 pushpatamang

Sep 12, 2019

it is very difficult . but i did not lose my confidence and do ahead . today i fell very happy . and thank you coursera .

创建者 Sérgio d A A

Oct 1, 2018

Curso excelente com muito conteúdo interessante ensinado de forma criativa e descontraida. Excelentes professores também.

创建者 Blanca P

Apr 21, 2020

This course was excellent; I learned about English and Science. It helped me to improve my English as a second language.

创建者 Emiliano J B M

May 27, 2020

Realmente me pareció un curso muy didáctico, entretenido y por sobe todo se aprende mucho de temas varios y del ingles.

创建者 JOSE R C P

Apr 10, 2020

It has been a well-developed course, especially when familiar words are reviewed in practice and applied to technology.

创建者 Tsz K T

Aug 1, 2019

I have not studied a course since I graduated around 10 years ago. This course makes me take back my passion to learn.

创建者 Iryna A

Feb 24, 2019

Very interesting course! Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This topic is very important! Thank you for your work!

创建者 Mileydis M V

Jun 24, 2020

I enjoyed this course, I improved my skills in writing and listening in English also gained other scientific skills

创建者 Gabriela V

Dec 15, 2019

It is amazing how you get envolved by the subjects aborded and learn at ther same time. Thank you for the knoledge.

创建者 Tatjana J

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent course! My reading skills have improved tremendously as well as the ability to write effective summaries.

创建者 Ossitashvili N

May 1, 2020

It was a great opportunity for me as a teacher of English to learn more and get certificate "English for Science"

创建者 Kristian C B

Sep 18, 2019

This course has thought me valuable lessons about climate change and its effect in the environment and the people.

创建者 Dubrovina I G

Apr 27, 2020

Many thanks to the organizers of the course for the opportunity to replenish their knowledge about this topic !!!

创建者 Iris C M P T

Apr 16, 2020

The course shows important concepts for STEM, I am so thankful for the financial aid that coursera provides to me

创建者 Felipe S d C

May 24, 2019

I recommend this course because it contributed to much my knowledge,

especially with my English language skills.

创建者 Oscar B A

Jul 20, 2020

Useful course about climate change and nanotechnology applications; also, you can improve your language- skills.

创建者 João P A

Jun 24, 2020

Very complete course. It is very good to people that are starting the studies, mainly with scientific interests.

创建者 Anahi V H

May 10, 2020

Amazing, It´s a great way to learn about climate change and english.

helped me practice and improve my English

创建者 Alexei R

Jul 19, 2017

It´has been a really good course en which I could learn to know technic words and new language. I recomend you.

创建者 Maria G

May 29, 2020

Excellent course! I've increased my English vocabulary and reviewed several important questions about science.

创建者 Loienko A

May 22, 2020

Thank you so much for this experience, for this strongly interesting and useful course. I will recommend it.