Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,600 个评分
525 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

DR

Jul 06, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

UF

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

筛选依据:

26 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 50 个评论(共 516 个)

创建者 Erin R D G

May 30, 2017

Fue muy gratificante y reflexivo este curso, para tomar conciencia de que nuestro planeta nos necesita, y tenemos que usar los recursos naturales de manera responsable, porque los que primero sentimos las consecuencias del cambio climático, somos nosotros mismos. Gracias al generoso pueblo norteamericano,que a través de sus autoridades, nos brindan la oportunidad de tomar estos cursos para desarrollarnos como mejores personas.

创建者 Nekpen O A

Oct 04, 2017

This course, I thought, was very well put together. The facilitators were phenomenal and were great in their delivery of all information related to this course.

Unfortunately, I did not put as much time as required for this course as I would have loved to even though I manged to complete it.

I feel this course was a good intro for me having been away from Coursera school for "many moons".

创建者 Walid D

Jul 10, 2020

Is a very pedagogic course, thanks of this course, I improved my scientific English, that include grammar, vocabulary, reading, writing, many videos about climate change and you learn many other thigns, like write an article or surmise ! and I can tell you, if you know just a little bit of English, you can understand this course ! is for everyone ! I LOVE IT !!

创建者 Muse M I

May 07, 2020

I am highly appreciating for Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for their wonderful preparation for this course which has allowed us to compete with people who studied English in science during school time.

Special thanks to my dear lectures Miss Alyssa Swanson and Mr. Jack Sulliban for their valuable time and breaking the difficulties into smaller.

创建者 Ali M A

May 04, 2020

This is a great course for both STEM students and laypersons. It is such a rich seam of information on the planet, the kind of damage we are causing on a daily basis, and on ways to save mother Earth. The course is well balanced, easy to navigate, and sure to boost the English of all enrollees, even expert users! I do recommend wholeheartedly!

创建者 Samson Z

Nov 06, 2019

As a audio learner, I much appreciated the use of technology in the class in conjunction to discussing ,readings and presentation projects. I think it's one of the most progressive lit courses I’ve ever taken between the somewhat unknown readings and way of instruction. I feel like my writing has not only improved by my mind is more open.

创建者 Jose A R N

Jul 18, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

创建者 Cleber A

May 26, 2020

I learned the principles about climate change, the sources, the causes, and the effects. furthermore, I learned also the new technologies for slow down greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. This course helps me to learn more about grammar and the English language, the video lessons are so good to understanding, because they speak calmly.

创建者 oswaldo m f

Apr 21, 2020

This was an excellent course which made me learn too much about scientific topics that I did not know existed in the field of engineering was also surprising the way they developed the topics and vocabularies used are very good for someone who is starting to connect with the English language.

Thank you for the course and excellent work.

创建者 Ludmilla L

Jul 06, 2020

The course is wonderful! In addition to assisting in learning English on relevant subjects in the areas covered with innovative scientific research. With the course you can learn new vocabularies, grammar, improve reading and writing, text interpretation. Not to mention the range of knowledge you will acquire with the course. Amazing!

创建者 Safia B

Jul 10, 2020

The course has certainly deepened my knowledge on climate change and has given me more valuable information on how scientists are working to mitigate its effects by using renewable energy and nanotechnology. This course is really priceless and It worth more than five stars. Thank you to the instructors and the university of PENN.

创建者 Alaeddine G

Jan 14, 2020

it's really an interested courses i have ever gotten. i understand all about climate change and global warming etc ; now i am able to distinguish between notions and vocabularies related on climate afterwards i learned almost all pioneering and promising methods to create clean an renewable energy. It's really outstanding !

创建者 Nicolas F

Jun 01, 2020

It´s a extremelely complete course. Interesting and useful for anyone who is interested in climate change. Also the teachers are clears and the interviews are really informative. I highly recommend it to you if it is your first time here or if you want to learn some new vocabulary and new information about climate change.

创建者 Sutthiphan H

May 19, 2020

This course provides a wider range of contents about global warming and English strategies. The learners implement strategies in order to communicate effectively under STEM contexts. This course is recommended for those whose English is not their native language, especially those who involve with science and teaching.

创建者 Benedict M P A

Nov 17, 2017

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.

创建者 Mahmudul F

May 29, 2020

The design of this English STEM course makes me to gather knowledge more about what may be next and the instructor show the way how I can feel like in the real life class room. I am owed to Coursera, UPenn, andU.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs .

创建者 Абдыкаримова Г

Apr 30, 2020

This course is the first I've managed to complete and this is mainly due to how interesting it was! Moreover, all the information in the course is very important and I think everyone should try it! Also, I am very thankful for the opportunity to study and to get the certificate for free. Thank you very much!

创建者 Rodrigo A M P

May 26, 2017

It is one great English course in which grammar is given within the course's content! I think the course is also good for advanced learner's as it reviews grammar points, gets in touch with the American English (for the ones who has been studying the British and Aussie variations), learns new skills!

创建者 Prapaporn P

Sep 08, 2019

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

创建者 Saule Y

Jun 07, 2020

I just loved this course! Thanks a lot for such a brilliant opportunity! I will definitely share this info with my colleagues and friends! Things I have learned in English for STEM course I statrted using in my lessons with 9-10 graders. Many thanks to coursera team and our presenters))))))))

创建者 jamal m

Jul 06, 2017

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

创建者 Jennifer F

Jun 11, 2017

I am not ESL but I have always had trouble with science. I took this course so I could take more courses in science and be able to understand them. I think classes like this should be made available to people like me from elementary school on. I'm glad I was able to take it now.

创建者 Chin M Y

May 12, 2018

I like this course. It helps me with my vocabularies and the tutors' teaching method is fun and interacting with games and discussion forums, and the assignments are just cool and helped me with my pronounciation and of course give me a better understanding in global warming.

创建者 MARCIO D S C

Jul 10, 2017

This was one of the best English language courses I've ever attended. Bringing a real background to study, in this case climate change, has not only made it easier to learn the English language, but also gave us a deeper understanding of what is really happening to the world.