Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,923 个评分
635 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

TL
Mar 14, 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

筛选依据:

601 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 623 个评论(共 623 个)

创建者 isa v r

Jan 28, 2021

very helpfull

创建者 Rodrigo F S B

Apr 2, 2021

Good course

创建者 Lucia E

Feb 14, 2018

very useful

创建者 jeyson d

Jan 29, 2020

buen curso

创建者 salud g p a

Dec 9, 2019

very good

创建者 Prince K

Jan 23, 2019

I like it

创建者 khaled A M

Feb 8, 2021

thanks

创建者 enkhujin

Jun 20, 2019

good

创建者 Mike C

Mar 17, 2019

good

创建者 Priscila O

Nov 17, 2019

The content of the course is very interesting. I got disappointed, however, in peers' evaluation of other peers' assessments. Clearly, most of them do not take a good care of reading what is required when evaluating a assignment not even the assignment itself. I believe that every assignment should be rated by the teacher or mentors only.

创建者 Ma. D A P T

Mar 24, 2020

I like the content but the certificate is below my expectations! It does not even indicate the name of the university in big, bold characters, instead there are just two seals positioned on the upper portion of the document! It does not look professional. I really hope this can be fixed!

创建者 Pablo N P

Mar 17, 2021

El curso está muy centrado en el inglés para divulgación científica. No aprendes mucho de inglés en general, solamente tecnicismos y lenguaje relacionado con la ciencia.

创建者 Tamiris B d S C

Aug 8, 2020

Pela descrição do curso eu imaginei que o foco seriam professores que aplicam a netodologia STEM o que, conforme o cutso foi concluindo, se mostrou muito diferente.

创建者 Vivien H

Nov 14, 2017

The structure and the content was good and interesting. But the told English was too easy and I expected more detailed scientific content.

创建者 V N L V T

Aug 14, 2020

Well framed course. But there are few knowledge gaps in incorporation of Mathematics and Engineering streams.

创建者 Mehmet S T

Jun 7, 2017

It was nice. But you could add some Math on this course. It was all about scientific vocabulary.

创建者 Jbene M

May 24, 2018

This is about environment and pollution, I'm more interested in technology.

创建者 Anas M

Oct 15, 2017

It's more concerned with science. Few tips on English language.

创建者 Aleksandra

Oct 1, 2017

ok for beginners

创建者 Виталий Р

Oct 20, 2020

The courseis very simple for adult people.

创建者 Aayush H

Dec 16, 2020

Keeps crashing, not able to submit the assignment.

Cannot type in a normal sequence.

Places the cursor at the start, after every word it resets from the left corner of the typing box.

Great course, but issue with assignment submission, not able to gauge my ability.

创建者 myeccoland

Jan 2, 2018

This Course is for english beginner and not on science or technology high level

创建者 Paulina V A

Mar 20, 2020

very basic level