Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,812 个评分
597 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
Jul 5, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

筛选依据:

51 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 75 个评论(共 585 个)

创建者 Prapaporn P

Sep 8, 2019

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

创建者 Машрыкова Н Т

Dec 20, 2020

Hi everyone! My name is Nardzhan. I'm online student of coursera. Right now, I'm so happy because I finished my course English for STEM. COURSERA it is big online course system, if you want to study at there you'll never regret. Because COURSERA- the course of your dreams...

GOOD LUCK to everyone!

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 7, 2020

I just loved this course! Thanks a lot for such a brilliant opportunity! I will definitely share this info with my colleagues and friends! Things I have learned in English for STEM course I statrted using in my lessons with 9-10 graders. Many thanks to coursera team and our presenters))))))))

创建者 jamal m

Jul 6, 2017

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

创建者 Jennifer F

Jun 11, 2017

I am not ESL but I have always had trouble with science. I took this course so I could take more courses in science and be able to understand them. I think classes like this should be made available to people like me from elementary school on. I'm glad I was able to take it now.

创建者 Chin M Y

May 12, 2018

I like this course. It helps me with my vocabularies and the tutors' teaching method is fun and interacting with games and discussion forums, and the assignments are just cool and helped me with my pronounciation and of course give me a better understanding in global warming.

创建者 MARCIO D S C

Jul 9, 2017

This was one of the best English language courses I've ever attended. Bringing a real background to study, in this case climate change, has not only made it easier to learn the English language, but also gave us a deeper understanding of what is really happening to the world.

创建者 Marcelo M

Jul 17, 2017

Thank you

I liked the course, the didactic way in which the course was presented, the slow way of speaking helped to understand the pronunciation well. I liked the games that encouraged you to learn in a didactic and fun way.

Congratulations on the teaching method. Hugs

创建者 BO G

Jul 6, 2017

I strong love this practical and efficiently online courses. I think I catch the main ideas of each chapter. The ways of expressing STEM ideas will help me. Although there are some minor mistakes in the courses, I still believe it is a high quality course for everyone.

创建者 Mario F

May 1, 2020

I want to say thanks for this nice course! it was innovative, with real new and awesome information, you can improve your English and at the same time, you learn more about climate change and the researches done to reduce and mitigate its impacts on the plant's life.

创建者 Carmelo L

Oct 30, 2020

This is my first time in this course. For me, this module is well made, really brings knowledge, the teachings are clear, it may not be the last. If I am allowed to I want to learn more, To the teachers, Pennsylvania University and builders of Coursera, Thank you!

创建者 AGBENOU K

Jul 25, 2017

The course was so interesting. It helped me not only to widen my knowledge at English but also to understand more about the causes and the impacts of climate change and the solution ways to save our planet from those impacts.

I recommend this course to everyone.

创建者 Lindy L

Nov 18, 2017

Taking this course is really a great help for me. I've been teaching SCIENCE in grade 9 and the topic climate change will be discussed on the third quarter. A lot of information i get from this course which i can use in my class discussions.

Thank you so much.

创建者 PRADO G M A

Apr 19, 2020

This was a pretty good course for someone who is in an intermediate level of English and even it helps for some C1 too. This climate change issue it's very important so everyone needs to see this as a real problem rather than something that "just happen".

创建者 Hisham K

Jul 22, 2017

I liked the articles.

I was able to know more things about climate change and global worming.

The video presentations were marvelous with the cartoon illustrations and experiments.

The whole course was informative and added to knowledge.

Thank you so much!

创建者 Сорокин З Ю

Apr 26, 2020

The course taught me to understand the text in English, to be able to speak and write well. He also spoke about the environmental problems of the world, about their solutions and consequences. I realized that the future of the Earth depends on us.

创建者 Karina I

May 11, 2020

I am very happy to have completed this course. I got a lot of new knowledge on the topic of STEM. The organization of the course is very well structured and prepared. Watching a video is a pleasure. Thanks a lot for the opportunity to get better.

创建者 Sridharbabu Y

Apr 30, 2020

WOnderful course, well explained each and every part of the course. Thanks to Mr. Jack Sullivan and Ms. Alyssa Swanson. I also learned how impressively and effectively one can explain a concept. Great experience. I strongly recommend this course.

创建者 Sandy Y

Feb 24, 2019

This course is so great, I've learned so much from it. I've learn how to read STEM articles, how to write essays, how to present my thinking, and so forth. I really recommend this course to anyone who intend to step into college or academic area.

创建者 Orakan K

Nov 29, 2019

This course opened my mind to learn more about climate change and new technology. I never realized before that the climate situation that we faced now is bad. Anyway, I think I improved my language skill. Thank you for making the useful course.

创建者 miguel a g g

May 21, 2019

It's a course where you can learn many words else what are the causes of the climate change, differences between climate change and global warming, how help to the environment etc. I'm very satisifed with this course. A great greeting everyone.

创建者 César S H

Nov 11, 2020

Fue un curso que me ayudo con mi ingles, ya que me aprendí de un tema que es de interés por mi carrera, así que en resumen, es un gran curso, no solo si estudias alguna carrera de ciencas básicas, sino también, si es de tu interés estos temas

创建者 Maha N E

Mar 3, 2019

This course is very useful ,added to my knowledge a lot , made me aware of the changes which are happening around us and encouraged me to make change in my lifestyle and be a part of the solution to help our environment to get better. Thanks

创建者 Angélica J S C

Jul 31, 2019

Es un curso muy completo, en el cual pude aprender una gran cantidad de vocabulario relacionado con el tema STEM y mejorar mucho mi inglés en cuanto a pronunciación, lectura y escritura. Los profesores son muy buenos también, muchas gracias!