Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,875 个评分
616 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

DR
Jul 5, 2017

Great course! You can learn about modal verbs, intensifiers, present progressive and much more very easily. And is important too to know the methods and techniques for write a scientific article.

筛选依据:

126 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 150 个评论(共 605 个)

创建者 Lucas M

Jan 5, 2021

Em geral é um curso voltado para estudantes com nível Intermediário de Inglês. É bem consistente e reforça principalmente as habilidades de reading e writing.

创建者 younsi z

Jun 7, 2020

The course was a comprehensive and really effective and informative course. I would like to express my gratitude to Coursera and Penn University.

thanks a lot

创建者 Tun L A

Jan 15, 2018

To develop systematically your English language skills and to improve scientifically you knowledge about global warming. This course will give you all above.

创建者 Miguel A G M

Sep 4, 2020

Un curso que nos ayuda a comprender mejor los conceptos científicos en inglés y aparte nos nutre de vocabulario y gramática que se utiliza en la universidad

创建者 Leandro S

Feb 24, 2020

Excelente curso, adorei a metodologia, a qualidade dos textos para leitura, e dos vídeos dos professores, super recomendo, ampliou muito o meu vocabulário!

创建者 Piangtawan C

Apr 17, 2020

Very well-engineered course suitable for non-English speakers who are interested in science. No need for scientific background. Many engaging activities.

创建者 Rick R C L

Dec 19, 2020

Overall, the course was able to help me improve my English skills and proficiency while providing me information on how to take care of the environment.

创建者 Willie V

Nov 1, 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

创建者 Gabo

Feb 23, 2021

It is a great course the couching and topics are very well and have information real of the pollution by use fossil fuel and effect of greenhouse gas.

创建者 Sophía G

Jul 10, 2017

The topics covered in the STEM course are of transcendence for all of us, how it is alternative sources of renewable energy and reduce global warming

创建者 Mohammad M A

May 29, 2017

A very very big thanks for providing such an amazing course, after taking this course I really become more comfortable with my career in Engineering.

创建者 Karen M S

Dec 5, 2019

Me gustó mucho. Es un gran curso para dominar vocabulario en inglés y aprender más sobre diversos temas relacionados a la ciencia y las matemáticas.

创建者 DOLORES G S

Feb 26, 2021

The most interesting part of the course was Going Green wherein there were new technologies/discoveries creating new solutions in renewable energy.

创建者 Richard E N O

Jul 14, 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

创建者 Adrián B

Feb 24, 2021

Even some years after releasing this course is still actual. It is pointing at problems which should be solved already but we know they are not.

创建者 Enderson N C

May 3, 2020

Excelent!! The course helped me to improve my language skills and my knowledge STEM subjects.

Materials are very intresting and useful.

Thank you.

创建者 Akrm s a

Jul 9, 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

创建者 Pauline M A

Jul 7, 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

创建者 Marcus L

May 22, 2020

Great course with appropriate language and vocabulary. There are valuable discussions about very important subjects, especially climate change.

创建者 José F P B

Oct 14, 2019

This course has everything necessary to learn English , makes me more confident in this language , I feel very happy to have this opportunity.

创建者 Adriano H F

Dec 1, 2019

O curso é muito bom!!! Os instrutores são extraordinários. Os conceitos científicos foram apresentados com clareza bem como a língua inglesa.

创建者 SANTHA A

Jan 17, 2018

A very interesting, useful, wonderful course, through which I learnt a lot about global warming and saving Planet Earth. Thank you very much.

创建者 Gabriel R R

Sep 27, 2019

I'm very grateful because I really learned a lot with this course. It was great and I enjoyed it so much that I want to continue learning.

创建者 Jonatan V d M F

Jun 16, 2020

Very good course for those interested in improving their english and learn about the environment at the same time. I really recommend it.

创建者 Israel R G

Apr 28, 2020

its a great course to know about enviromental vocabulary and lear grammatical rules, with the videos we can practice the listening. Tanks