Chevron Left
返回到 Summary Statistics in Public Health

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Summary Statistics in Public Health 的评价和反馈

4.8
371 个评分
97 条评论

课程概述

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

热门审阅

TN

Mar 26, 2020

Very good course! Lectures were easy to follow and gave great examples! Would highly encourage taking this course if you are looking for a biostatistics course or even to refresh your memory!

UK

Jul 06, 2019

Great course. The lecturer makes things so easy to understand. I love that there are additional examples available. I will definitely recommend this course to everyone in healthcare

筛选依据:

1 - Summary Statistics in Public Health 的 25 个评论(共 99 个)

创建者 Anthony C

May 05, 2019

Instructor is dry, audio recordings are poor. The instructor reads off the power point way too much, doesn't simplify in a way that encourages creativity or out of the box thinking. For JHU I am very surprised - it didn't feel any different from stats work I have done in class at Purdue.

创建者 Elizabeth L

Feb 24, 2019

I appreciated the content of this course. It is presently appropriately, at a good pace, with useful explanations. I like being able to pause the video to take notes about the slides and then restart the video listen to the professor explain them. Everything is not flawless (there are a few typos in the quizzes and occasional errors in the slides), but it is on par to what would be experienced in a classroom setting. Being able to understand differences regarding numbers of standard deviations, odds ratios, relative risks, incidence rates, and incidence rate ratios is very useful in my work --- and this course fit the bill for presenting the information straightforwardly and clearly without the professor making assumptions about my previous knowledge. The use of the Additional Examples videos helps to solidify the application of the concepts. Highly recommended!

创建者 Francisco C

Apr 12, 2019

Este primer curso del programa especializado me parece simplemente fundamental en la formación de todo profesional de salud, teniendo en cuenta que el 90% o más del material que se utiliza en la práctica diaria está relacionado con el proceso de Medicina Basada en Evidencias. Realmente recomiendo este curso.

创建者 Nancy Z

Mar 26, 2019

Excellent course, very succinct and easy to understand, the professor is fantastic! I was going to just take this class and now I am enrolled in the specialization, some professors are so good that make you wanna learn more, thank you.

创建者 Anyanwu R

Apr 28, 2019

This is a well structured content. The course is presented in the most simplest form to accommodate complete novices. I found it very educative, practical and lucidly intense.

创建者 Aïcha D D

Aug 20, 2019

The instructor is very well-spoken and the course material is explained very clearly. The additional example videos are also great if you need to further your understanding.

创建者 huaqin p

Feb 13, 2019

Dr. McGready did an excellent job putting abstract statistical terms and methods in plain languages (with good examples). I find this course very helpful!

创建者 Ayush B

Mar 23, 2019

Excellent teaching and good examples which help in manipulating and visualizing huge data samples . Good course which i recommend for everyone.

创建者 Konstantin G

Feb 27, 2019

Great course for an introduction into the literally limitless possibilities of interpretation of population data.

创建者 Daniel Y T Y

Apr 28, 2019

Easy to understand, explains normally difficult concepts very well, engaging project quizzes

创建者 Daniel C

May 10, 2019

This is a wonderful course on summary statistics! I have encountered some of these statistical methods during my degree, but the mechanism behind how they work was always skipped. John McGready, our amazing instructor, delivers well and uses interesting studies as examples. I would highly recommend this course if you want to further your statistics and understand scientific and public health literature rather than just take the numbers for granted.

创建者 Sruthi S K

Dec 17, 2019

The course was very interesting and enlightening. The foundation of the statistics was made so easy and clear by the instructor. I was handling the basic statistical analysis of few projects in public health eye-care. Now that i have a good knowledge about the risk ratios, time to event analysis, the odds of publishing a good scientific paper is 3 or 4 times more! Thanks to Coursera!

创建者 Marion S

Jul 27, 2019

The lectures were easy to understand and very practical. The use of various types of examples was very useful in being able to apply very complex mathematical calculations in understanding outcomes and conclusions. I have always struggled with statistics and anything remotely related with numbers and figures. I am happy to have found this course!

创建者 Michael B

Mar 27, 2020

Excellent course with step by step explanations and examples how summary statistics may be used in public health. If you are new to statistics this will be a great course to follow but even for those already acquainted with mean, standard deviation and such, but not with specific applications to public health, it is still valuable.

创建者 Joy K

Sep 09, 2019

Instructor did an excellent job of summarizing and communicating complex concepts! Thank you!

It would have been great to have a recommended source for practice exercises with solutions to give students and opportunity to practice and solidify the learning and understand some of the nuances of interpretation.

创建者 Sampoorna R

Mar 23, 2020

Some basic and important concepts in medical statistics explained with interesting real-world published data. This is a good refresher course for biostatistics, but if you are new to this field, working with a textbook as you go through the lectures will give you a better grounding.

创建者 Tammy P

Jun 11, 2019

This was an AMAZING course, largely due to Dr. McGready! You made a sometimes difficult subject make perfect sense. I actually loved learning how to interpret different statistical measures. Thank you for the awesome instructional lectures and examples.

创建者 Ariane M S

Dec 02, 2019

The best biostatistics course I have ever done. Prof. John is incredible and he gives lots of examples with real world data (and real world problems) this makes everything much easier to grasp! Thank you for the amazing course!

创建者 Muhammed A E

Aug 22, 2019

One of the best statistics courses I've ever had. What I loved most about it is that it started from the very basics and continued step by step together with the examples. Thank you Coursera so much for this course.

创建者 Mark S

Feb 24, 2019

Absolutely fantastic explanation of some basic concepts in statistics that I thought previously that I had a solid understanding of. I will definitely look for additional classes taught by Dr. McGready.

创建者 Tochukwu N

Mar 26, 2020

Very good course! Lectures were easy to follow and gave great examples! Would highly encourage taking this course if you are looking for a biostatistics course or even to refresh your memory!

创建者 MD M H

Mar 30, 2020

At the beginning of the online courses, I thought, perhaps it will be easy. True to say, once I am working on the assignment and course projects. It is really tough and challenging.

创建者 Ulrick S K K

Jul 06, 2019

Great course. The lecturer makes things so easy to understand. I love that there are additional examples available. I will definitely recommend this course to everyone in healthcare

创建者 Juan D L R

Jul 28, 2019

Extremely good course on biostatistics. The lecturer is able to explain the content in a such a way that every new concept builds on other concepts previously explained.

创建者 Staliarova N

Nov 10, 2019

The course is extremely well structured. The content is amazing, additional examples at the end of each lection are such an asset. I'm so happy that I took this course!