Chevron Left
返回到 可持续发展导论

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 可持续发展导论 的评价和反馈

4.8
656 个评分
216 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

热门审阅

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

筛选依据:

26 - 可持续发展导论 的 50 个评论(共 212 个)

创建者 Aranza D V G

May 01, 2017

Este curso me hizo entender nuestra problemática ambiental de una manera más profunda, me gusto mucho el curso porque al principio tienes una idea de lo que está pasando con nuestra mundo, la manera en que lo estamos contaminando y al terminar el curso las ideas que previamente tenías se profundizan.

创建者 Kathy H

Dec 08, 2015

Dr. Tompkin is one of the best professors I have had the pleasure to encounter. That is going some because I have two PhDs. He clearly and concisely explains important concepts, putting the subject matter within reach of anyone who is interested. I hope that he will offer more courses.

创建者 Russell J

Feb 07, 2016

Very well designed and implemented course. Practical and pragmatic. Videos interesting and easy to watch. Smart questions and quizzes that promote learning. The work load is not too demanding, but leaves you feeling like you earned the passing scores. Just right. Highly recommended.

创建者 Albert K

Jun 30, 2018

Introduction to Sustainability was enjoyably challenging and enlightening, many thanks to Professor Jonathan Thomkins and the production values of his teaching materiials. I thought however, he could have presented a fuller description of possible disaster scenarios.

创建者 Jessy F

Jun 24, 2017

This is a very good indepth program with rich material and rigorous quizzes. Thankful to Dr.Jonathan Tomkins for the time and effort taken to put this together. It also got me interested overall in the concept much more and gave a optimistic view to our future.

创建者 Mohammed A

Sep 06, 2017

One of my favorite courses so for, It was presented with details and good quizzes, I can say that I finished this course with more valuable knowledge and the most important: more curiosity to learn more about every aspect and field related to sustainability

创建者 Sze K F

Nov 01, 2015

This is a good course and I can get a brief idea what the position is the earth is. Also, I can remember some key figures about the environment situation. The difficulties of the quizs are designed suitability for student memorizing key point and concepts

创建者 Laura M N

May 17, 2016

Me gusta mucho el curso, tienen un gran concepto, enseñan el contexto y ofrecen muy buenas referencias bibliográficas, me gustan mucho los exámenes porque más allá de preguntar conceptos, se evalúan análisis con base en lo explicado en las lecturas.

创建者 Rebecca W

Nov 13, 2015

I think it is a diverse course that looks at many different aspects of sustainability. Gives a rounded explanation on sustainability, goes through its problems in detail and possible solutions for the future. Really does make you think! Great work!

创建者 Trista B

Sep 05, 2016

As someone who, upon starting, did not know anything about this topic, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Although someone said he was not 'engaging' enough ... I found the instructor to be very engaging and he was easy to follow and understand.

创建者 Brinda K

Aug 09, 2016

A great course with a great instructor!

Perfect for beginners - the course is simple and is laden with many relevant examples, which help you understand concepts easily.

The interactive assignments and homeworks are very interesting too!

创建者 Camilo A G M

Apr 13, 2016

It's an excellent course. It's very complete and it's a perfect introduction to this topic of sustainability. It would be great that this course would be a starting point for an entire academic program of sustainability. Thanks for all!

创建者 SATHISH C B

Mar 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It gave me in depth knowledge about many concepts of Sustainability. I would like to thank Dr. Jonathan Thomkin from University of Illinois and whole Coursera team for designing such a wonderful course.

创建者 Sian P

Aug 10, 2017

Excellent informative course that is very well narrated by the course lecturer. Fact based and many interesting theories introduced - which provide great context to understanding the subject of sustainability. Really enjoyable!

创建者 Natália C L d A

Oct 04, 2019

It was an aggregator in my learning about sustainability, the course is very well designed. I intend to do a master's degree in this area, so it helped me a lot to clarify some doubts on the subject. The course is excellent.

创建者 TRACEY W

Feb 19, 2018

This was a great course and I highly recommend to anyone interested in learning more about sustainability to start here. This course was a great intro to many different aspects of sustainability and I learned so much.

创建者 Kylie P

Dec 15, 2017

I learned an incredible amount from this course. The pacing was fair and the assignments were useful for the content. It was slightly outdated but not terribly so. I'm very thankful to have purchased this certificate

创建者 David D

Feb 08, 2016

Excellent approach, divided each week into 'bite-size' components. One learns new vocabulary associated each subject area and the tests were well done to assure one understood and retained most of the expose. Bravo!

创建者 Vishnu V R

Sep 01, 2016

Thanks for your efforts in making this course. I learned a lot about lot issues like population, climate change etc., In my opinion, it is essential course for anybody who cares about society and their well being.

创建者 Olivier C P

Feb 10, 2016

Great course given by U of Illinois about sustainability. Very complex concepts well explained by Dr Tomkin. Highly recomendable for all people involved in economic, energy, environment, food and nutrition ...

创建者 Jenny S

Mar 17, 2017

Lecturer Jonathan Tomkin was very clear on his delivery, The pace of the course is just nice and I like the references for additional readings. I would love to have at least one lecturer- graded assignment.

创建者 Catalina M V

Oct 02, 2019

I wanted to learn the basics of sustainability and I found a lot of information about it, maybe I need to update it a bit to date but in general the course gave me the tools I needed, thank you very much.

创建者 Katherine F

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

创建者 Jes W

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

创建者 Lucas B d O

May 09, 2016

I learned a lot. Now I need to study the legislation of my country to apply, with the knowledge acquired in this course, and help to improve our world for the next generations.