Chevron Left
返回到 可持续发展导论

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 可持续发展导论 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,446 个评分
487 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

热门审阅

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

筛选依据:

51 - 可持续发展导论 的 75 个评论(共 489 个)

创建者 Thuan n

Jun 08, 2020

This course provides very comprehensive set of information about sustainability from beginning to the end. Its content is really broad. To learn well, it requires learners to think and to read a lot. I like the fact that it provides many interesting talks from Ted and other sources. I would really like to see more recent statistics to be included.

创建者 Dipesh T

Jun 05, 2020

Teaching of professor Tomkin was very much interesting that i have got so interest in this course and enjoyed a lot learning this course which makes us familiar with the things and facts that are happening in our environment and how they are going to affect our real world in the current and upcoming future situation of our world.

创建者 Christian P H

Mar 22, 2020

I took this course to learn. Now, I did not just learned, I understood things deeper about the environment. Now I'm conscious about embedded water, embodied energy, food miles and many more. These are important things that we often take for granted. Thanks to Coursera, Dr. Tomkin and the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign!

创建者 Raquel O G

Aug 01, 2020

Very interesting and useful. The videos, reading, and homework were very easy but I learned a lot. I recommend this course. You won't regret it. Investing time in knowing more about our planet situation and the sustainability path that we are following, is very important. Pd. The English used in this course is very easy.

创建者 Chaitra S J

Jul 28, 2020

Extremely satisified with the course! This is my first course on Coursera and totally enjoyed learning about Sustainability from Prof. Tomkin. It would be better if you add some recent graphs and content including data from 2015 and beyond. Overall, I loved the course and would want to enroll in other courses too :)

创建者 Sehresh M

Apr 23, 2020

I really liked this course because it analyzes with balance the data, concepts and instruments of the great problems and challenges of global sustainability. Overall, it is an excellent course to get an overview of sustainability. if anyone want to know about sustainability I will recommend to join this course.

创建者 Carol R

Jan 05, 2020

Interesting course which challenged some of my personal views and made me reconsider many opinions I held prior to completing this course. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in sustainability, or even just to debate issues like climate change and the impact of world population with buddies in a bar.

创建者 Uduigwomen D

Mar 28, 2017

Introduction to Sustainability has given me greater insight on the world on a sustainable path. Whether we are approaching a J curve or S curve. This course broadens your knowledge and sharpens your mind to be a great thinker when it comes to sustainability. And i'm glad to partake and complete this course.

创建者 Aranza D V G

May 01, 2017

Este curso me hizo entender nuestra problemática ambiental de una manera más profunda, me gusto mucho el curso porque al principio tienes una idea de lo que está pasando con nuestra mundo, la manera en que lo estamos contaminando y al terminar el curso las ideas que previamente tenías se profundizan.

创建者 Rajkumar V

Jul 20, 2020

Introduction to sustainability is a perfect blend. Sustainability is in everything, to the less I know this course has broadened my view. It covers all the topics in detail and I am glad to choose this course to begin my sustainable journey. Thankful to University of Illinois & Jonathan Tomkin.

创建者 Kathy H

Dec 08, 2015

Dr. Tompkin is one of the best professors I have had the pleasure to encounter. That is going some because I have two PhDs. He clearly and concisely explains important concepts, putting the subject matter within reach of anyone who is interested. I hope that he will offer more courses.

创建者 Russell J

Feb 07, 2016

Very well designed and implemented course. Practical and pragmatic. Videos interesting and easy to watch. Smart questions and quizzes that promote learning. The work load is not too demanding, but leaves you feeling like you earned the passing scores. Just right. Highly recommended.

创建者 Shahar g

Apr 28, 2020

opened my eyes to many of the issues effecting our environment, and also educated me on the correct terms, studies and methods in addressing the crisis we are in. this is a great first step on the path to fully grasping the state we are in, and hopefully contributing to a solution

创建者 Albert K

Jun 30, 2018

Introduction to Sustainability was enjoyably challenging and enlightening, many thanks to Professor Jonathan Thomkins and the production values of his teaching materiials. I thought however, he could have presented a fuller description of possible disaster scenarios.

创建者 Rayhana A

Apr 29, 2020

It was really an excellent course. Learned new perspectives to know about sustainability. Relevant examples regarding the topics made the course more enjoyable and easy to understand. I could easily relate the terms in my real life through writing the assignments.

创建者 Margot L

Jun 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course ! I loved to know more about the "technical aspect" of sustainability. However, the pieces of information remain accessible. There is a lot of reading though, but they might not be mandatory.

Thank you Jonathan for all that knowledge :)

创建者 Jessy F

Jun 24, 2017

This is a very good indepth program with rich material and rigorous quizzes. Thankful to Dr.Jonathan Tomkins for the time and effort taken to put this together. It also got me interested overall in the concept much more and gave a optimistic view to our future.

创建者 Shailesh K G

Jun 24, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have learned and experience a lots of facts about environment, population , agriculture etc. For me the most intersting fact in the course is approach of sustainabilty which have been taught by Res. Prof. Jonathan Tomkin.

Thank You!

创建者 harpreet k

May 05, 2020

I loved the course. This gave me a new perspective on life and energy. the knowledge I gained from the course will help me throughout my life plus I will try my best to further provide the same to most of the society to bring the earth to a sustainable path.

创建者 Mohamed A

Sep 06, 2017

One of my favorite courses so for, It was presented with details and good quizzes, I can say that I finished this course with more valuable knowledge and the most important: more curiosity to learn more about every aspect and field related to sustainability

创建者 Frederick-Simon O P

Jul 27, 2020

The best online course I have ever taken in my life!! The course was so interesting while everything was taught in a way that was relatable. The assignments and peer reviews exposed you to different school of thoughts. This is one course I highly recommend

创建者 Fazla Z A

Jul 07, 2020

This has been the best, most educative and helpful course,Thanks to Dr Jonathan Tomkin, we've learned a very clear concept about the earth, its environment and its systems, and most importantly, sustainability and sustainable measures for a better future.

创建者 Sze K F

Nov 01, 2015

This is a good course and I can get a brief idea what the position is the earth is. Also, I can remember some key figures about the environment situation. The difficulties of the quizs are designed suitability for student memorizing key point and concepts

创建者 Chiara D R

May 31, 2020

A good starting point for whoever is interested in the various facets of sustainability. It requires a certain flexibility, since it deals with many topics, but it's rewarding. The course is very well made and it feels like a real university course.

创建者 Laura M N

May 17, 2016

Me gusta mucho el curso, tienen un gran concepto, enseñan el contexto y ofrecen muy buenas referencias bibliográficas, me gustan mucho los exámenes porque más allá de preguntar conceptos, se evalúan análisis con base en lo explicado en las lecturas.