Chevron Left
返回到 The Technology of Music Production

学生对 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 The Technology of Music Production 的评价和反馈

4.8
531 个评分
160 条评论

课程概述

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

热门审阅

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

筛选依据:

1 - The Technology of Music Production 的 25 个评论(共 159 个)

创建者 Dmytro K

Jul 06, 2019

Great presentation! Did this having some experience in production already, and it was valuable and generally exceeded expectations. Amazing production quality, good material, well planned, pleasant to go through. Done over a weekend.

创建者 Christian K

Oct 10, 2019

Excellent. Reinforced what I already knew and greatly added to my knowledge. Even somethings that I do, I found ways to make my workflow more efficient. I highly recommend this course for producers of all levels!

创建者 Arjay G

Jun 17, 2017

the best, Learned a lot from you guys, despite financial issues I now have my music production specialization certificate from an international organization! Thank you!

创建者 Brendan H

Nov 16, 2016

Learned all the previously daunting technical aspects of music production I wanted to learn and feel much more confident in my ability to record and mix audio. Thanks!

创建者 Jay M

Mar 28, 2017

I've just completed the course subject to peer review grading. I must say that this was the WORST online course I've ever taken and I've taken a lot of online courses (including YouTube tutorials by people who were clearly intoxicated when creating their masterpieces).

To begin, the recommended software options for screen movies and presentation are awful choices - not to mention "Prezi" is subscription service. I didn't use it. Try Open Office which has a "PowerPoint" type presentation software if you are looking to save costs. There's also an enormous technical problem with the screen movie makers suggested (at least with the PC versions). You cannot record from your microphone and capture internal sound card information (i.e. sounds produced by your DAW) simultaneously with any of the "suggested" programs I tried. The solution was a virtual sound card (I used Voice Meeter) where I could route the sounds accordingly so you could hear the sound produced by my DAW while I spoke. Considering this is a technology course, you would think this would be addressed. It is not.

There is almost no practical discussion. There's plenty of "what," --- an overwhelming amount of what actually --- but not much "how" or "why."

Others may experience this course differently depending on your goals. If you record vocals and real instruments and want to learn how to do this so everything sounds fantastic, this isn't the course for you. There's a tiny bit of that discussed with microphone placement and the like, but it quickly moves to digital sound creation. If you want to use synths and effects and noise things and such to create EDM music ... well, this isn't the course for you either, but maybe it would be more beneficial to you than most other categories.

So, who is this course for? I can't say I'm sure of the answer to that. If you are wanting to be a sound designer, perhaps you would learn the vocabulary for sound design but not much "how." If you use Logix as your DAW, perhaps you will learn where something is you hadn't seen before (although the videos are hard to follow as some things are happening off screen or aren't the focus of the video).

In the end, this course was very much a "self teaching" course. I didn't learn much from the video lectures provided by Berklee other than application of a few terms in music I'd never considered much with a background in playing instruments rather than playing a digital synth, like "ADSR." I spent more time on other websites and YouTube videos and in my DAW's operation manual as we were often told, "Go to your DAW and figure out how to use an XYZ." Rarely did it include "how and why" to use that XYZ for musicality.

The quizzes were awful as well. There's a lot of "minutia" detail in the lectures that never seems to have any relevance because there's no practical application discussed. Make sure you know this not very relevant information because it will be on the quiz --- like how to determine the word length and bit depth using some formula involving 2 to the power of something.... it still doesn't make since because I don't know why or how it applies.

Also, note that not everything is completely uniform in DAWs with some terms being different in each one. This was extremely confusing because I don't use Logix and the lessons do. I had a terrible time figuring out many things simply because my DAW had another term or button name for it.

I'm glad this is over. I feel like I learned a little bit, but don't feel like it's information I'll retain for long since I have no idea how to use much of the information for my purposes. Maybe on a game of Jeopardy?

Sorry for the length of this, but I hope you find the information helpful in deciding whether you will benefit from this class.

创建者 Ковальчук И И

Apr 11, 2018

For those who want to understand the basics of sound movement in the environment and digital media.

For those who want to understand how the DAW system is arranged.

For those who just started working in sequencers.

For a beginner musician who wants to write quality music.

The course is very huge, but everything is explained very well.

There was never a misunderstanding of the material, everything was always chewed up to the smallest detail.

If something is not clear, there are comrades with topics on the forums.

For me, this course has removed all fears and I look at my software and all the equipment that I have.

I do not have a job of English, but despite this, even with Google translator, everything is very clear.

Now it is clear how this can be used, and most importantly, understanding what and when it will be appropriate, how to make the sound cleaner, more pleasant and atmospheric.

Many thanks to the team for the work done!

创建者 Benjamin H

Nov 16, 2017

This was a great course. I really liked that the material was presented at a conceptual level instead of just being a walk through of how to get a particular pieces of software to do x, y, or z (the next course in the Music Production specialization does that). The presentations as projects were a very good idea since just watching the lectures, though informative, don't require me to engage deeply with the material. The presentation projects meant I really needed to learn a topic but without requiring that I be producing a particular track.

创建者 Luisa A

Oct 05, 2016

This is probably one of the best courses I have ever taken. Although time was a limiting factor, a broad range of essential topics was covered thoroughly (given the time), and I really feel that I learnt a lot about hardware, software, sound engineering, and production skills. I also learnt a lot of terminology, which I was finding very confusing during my efforts to teach myself, and feel like I had a good foundation upon which to continue my learning and improve my skills.

创建者 phylene a

Jan 20, 2019

This is perfectly what I hoped it would be. Experienced musician new to digital music production and songwriting. The lessons answer every question I had struggled with and wasted time blindly experimenting with in three DAW's. I'm confident this will get me to a fully functional place with the confidence that comes with knowing what you're doing and especially, why. I aim for fluency in a workflow so that I may be creative without frustrating technical troubles

创建者 Yang H

Sep 11, 2016

This course is great! As a beginner interested in music production, this course taught me many basics that I had no opportunity to learn! I gained a basic understanding of music production without paying a single dollar! Thank you cousera and Berklee for offering the opportunity! I recommended this course to my friend and any one interested in music should definitely try this course.

创建者 Karl K

Nov 29, 2016

Loudon was a very good instructor and was able to explain technically complex concepts in easy to understand language. I have learnt so much about the technical aspects of music production and been able to apply these in my DAW environment. The fortnightly presentation exercises were a very useful tool to demonstrate understanding of certain topics. I would highl

创建者 Suryadeep D

Dec 25, 2019

Covers a lot of ground on the basics of music production tech in a methodical manner. I've been a self-taught producer and been using DAWs for 10+ yrs now, but still found quite a few new insights, and this course still helped me cover a lot of gaps in my learning. Would have been great had it included a bit on Mastering as well. Overall, HIGHLY recommended!

创建者 Gabriel C

Jun 30, 2017

This course is incredible. It really brings the student much closer to a good headstart by teaching the fundamental information about the DAW and the fundaments of sound, so that a student doesn't get lost like it often happens to beginners who go start by downloading a DAW and watching a couple of punctual youtube videos. I recommend it to EVERY beginner.

创建者 Tamer S A

Aug 14, 2016

amazing..it is the right start for anyone who wants to pursue a career in recording, production, sound engineering..I was lost in many resources earlier, but I always had the feeling that they start from the mid-point..this one felt like starting from scratch..excellent work..thanks Berklee and coursera

创建者 Boni Y

Nov 18, 2019

Great course laying out the foundations on the technology of music production. I am really happy to have taken this course and I believe the knowledge provided and suggestions for further research is unparalleled. It is a great start of your development as a music producer. Highly recommended.

创建者 Taif I

Jan 05, 2020

I really don't know where to start and i want to be brief , but what i am going to say or actually do , is take every course from berklee , right now i'm taking a course in basic music theory.

Thank you Loudon , you are great and you put your heart into this , i enjoyed every video you made .

创建者 Matteo T

Jan 11, 2017

I would like to thank Coursera, Berklee and Mr. Loudon Stearns for this really informative course on the technology of music production. I enjoyed the course a lot and I learned a ton of things about the fundamentals of sound, of the mixing process and on synthesis. Highly recommended!

创建者 Dan C

Jul 07, 2018

This is a great course! Loudon is a great teacher and speaker. He has great pacing in his lessons. Ton's of great information packed into this one course! I also really like the idea of the assignments making us teach a topic back to the class. It is a great way to master a topic.

创建者 Zachary M

Oct 19, 2016

This is the course to take if you don't know what phantom power is, how attack on a compressor works, or what a high-pass filter does. It gives a solid overview on all the major recording mixing components, and explains why you'd use them, and shows you examples of how.

创建者 Arturo F C F

May 04, 2019

I found the technical info really useful, especially because understanding what's going on physically while recording, gives you a more accurate sense of what needs to be done to improve the settings timing, leaving you with more time of fun instead of frustration.

创建者 Ivonne C

Oct 31, 2016

It is a really good course that covers the basics of music production and a lot of the lessons involve a lot of further practice to learn them thoroughly. The material is something that you can keep coming back to until you understand how to apply it to your work.

创建者 Daniel W

Jan 11, 2018

From the start it's all the main points you need and have to know. Coursera & Berklee have taken what usually costs hundreds of thousands of dollars and years to accomplish and gave the rest of us that same chance. This class is absolutely killer!

创建者 Diego B

Sep 05, 2019

I'm just finishing week 2, and I can see this is what I was missing to advance in my production.

Covering from the simplest hardware, passing thourgh all of the relevant configurations of DAW software, this completes all the pieces I was missing.

创建者 CARLOS A

Apr 02, 2018

It is a wonderful course. The instructor has a complete understanding of all the topics and a fluid way of transmitting the knowledge. I learned a lot about Technology and clarified doubts about what I already knew. Thank you very much!!

创建者 Todd C

Jan 09, 2017

This course is packed with information about the basics of many of the musical elements you need to consider when producing. I think even experts would learn a thing or two from this course because it covers such a wide range of topics.