Chevron Left
返回到 The Science of Well-Being

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 The Science of Well-Being 的评价和反馈

4.9
22,646 个评分
8,460 条评论

课程概述

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

热门审阅

KV

Jun 15, 2020

This course helped me think of news ways to think and new ways to reach certain goals that I would have not thought about. It's kind of long but I was interested and completed the course feeling good.

SS

Aug 22, 2020

Amazing course and amazing instructor. The environment and vibes throughout were positive and helped me feel much happier and understand much more about looking at life through different perspectives.

筛选依据:

276 - The Science of Well-Being 的 300 个评论(共 8,471 个)

创建者 Donna F G

Jun 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was a challenging time to have embarked on this new journey, yet i have learned so much that I will carry forward with me. The content was thought provoking and the delivery was so engaging. Thank you.

*****One specific comment regarding the peer submission assignment- Prompt 5 did not specify that we were to reveal our specific grades but only that our scores changed from the beginning of the course to the final assignment. When it was my turn to grade my peers, the rubric stated that we evaluate the score based on stating this info, in my case I lost points because I did not state my grade because it was not clear that was required. While i am happy that i passed the course, i took the time to answer, review, and tweak in anticipation of a perfect score:/

创建者 Miguel D L

Sep 18, 2020

This course came to me from an Interview Laurie had In a podcast I was randomly listening to just at the beginning of the Quarantine in my country. I really help, I marked a weeks path along, very useful.

Seeing the content I found out that I had already some of those good habits incorporated in my life, habits that are not always well perceived by society, The course helped by validating my way of living and address the thing I still have to incorporate, like sleep and exercise.

Along the course, I shared the lessons with my family members and friends, as a way to help them in these difficult times. Thanks, Laurie and thanks to all the people who have made It possible for this to be available for the world. I will keep spreading the word and what I have learned.

创建者 Roberta R

Jun 10, 2020

I found this course well organised and well presented. I loved how the instructor relates to the students and the public at large. I enjoyed listening to her and actually would have loved even a bit more lecturing time from Lori who I found extremely relatable and unassuming yet so knowledgeable.

The one minor thing I would improve on is the use of "like' in the conversation, mostly from the students but also from Lori. I find that a bit distracting...and I am also aware that it is probably a sign of my being older...in any case, I thought I would point it out as constructive feedback.

Well done Lori and I look forward to you running more courses as I think you are a spectacular teacher.

Thanks very much for giving me the opportunity to participate! R

创建者 Connie S H

May 09, 2020

Wow. Just wow. This course changed my life.

In February 2020, I quit smoking after 26 years (it is a very depressing process). Three weeks later, I got fired from my Executive-level job. Two weeks after that, I was home-bound by the pandemic. I was having panic attacks pretty much 24/7.

I started the class with little hope--not that I had hope in anything. But, I have a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology, so obviously I believe in mental health.

The change wasn't immediate, but once I started the rewirement process, it all took hold. I read three of the books that were referenced in the course-FLOW, Stumbling upon Happiness, and Mindset. These also helped solidify the information in my mind.

Thank you. I plan to work on getting happier and happier!

创建者 Sanae T G

Sep 17, 2020

I feel inspired and fascinated by this field of science #PositivePsychology, #CharacterStrengths #happinesshabits #Flow #Savoring #Gratitude #Meditation #Exercice... Thanks to this course, I can think about human being in a new way and I am now confident to say that I have the power to control my own happiness.

I am grateful for the amazing quantity of information that was compiled in a such comprehensive way. My mind was on fire with wonderment!

Well-done Pr. L. Santos!

This Learning can transform you into the best version of yourself and make your ambitions a reality.

Learn about The annoying features of our mind, Intentional strategies for overcoming above biases, Strategies for putting knowledge into practice...

PS: Still some books waiting for me :)

创建者 Delma B

Oct 09, 2020

The lectures were super interesting, the course design was appealing and easy to keep the pace, friendly platform and doable exercises, plenty of backup information to go deep on scientific documents and additional studies. The taking notes option was super useful. It was helpful to watch the TED talks to reinforce the information given during the lectures, etc., but the four weeks of rewirement challenge was a little hard to keep up the initial enthusiasm. Personally, I was able to value everything that I had learned through my personal and professional experience on how I have growth to be the person I am today. I’m always hard on myself, but with this course I’m able to appreciate my strengths and learn to be more compassionate toward my weaknesses.

创建者 christina d

Jun 08, 2020

Extremely glad to have found & enrolled on this course, It has been amazing learning , reinforcing & practicing various habits , specifically the rewirements. The possibilities & the things that we can do to mindfully look after our wellbeing & happiness. The practice of gratitude, kindness,savoring, social connections, sleep, meditation & discovering our signature strengths. Most importantly, measuring our happiness before & after the course, & the evaluation of the actual wellbeing have answered why this course is called the Science of Well-Being. Thank you, Coursera, Professor Santos, all the resource persons who have been valuable in the contents & make up of the course, I pledge to contimue to apply to my daily life what I have learned.

创建者 Stephen P

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent, 10-week road to a better understanding of the many actions we can take to make ourselves happier. It is taught in a straighforward, honest language with a nurturing tone that is relatable and doesn't talk down to the students. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in exploring their own happiness and how it fits into the society in which we live today. I have always (naively) thought that in a life where you put happiness as your top priority, you will find the most fulfillment. It turns out, I wasn't wrong, I just wasn't able to fully see my happiness as it fits into a bigger picture when it comes to socialization, relationships, wellness, mindset, time management, and my own selfish needs and wants.

创建者 David L G

Jun 14, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! I had quite a few ah-ha moments. I would recommend this course to anyone that has been "chasing" happiness and wellness and is looking for research proven strategies to finally achieve some form of wellness in their life. Surprisingly, I was already on track with many of the strategies the course recommended but did learn some new things, which I have begun incorporating in my life. I also can't tell you how terrific it is to have access to all of the books, Ted Talks, and research articles that support the videos and other instructions, along with the surveys you can take for free to gain a little insight into who you are, how happy you are currently, and what your strengths are. This was just a terrific course!

创建者 Sherryn M

Sep 30, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course & appreciated the way Dr Santos delivered each lesson with clear and easy to understand information, achievable activities and an engaging demeanour. I got so much out of this course and would like to continue learning more about Positive Psychology as a result of it. Her podcast is also very informative, reiterating many of the concepts discussed in the course. I will certainly refer back to my notes regularly and use these practices in my everyday life seeing as I have already noticed a huge improvement in my mental well-being. Thank you Dr Santos, I hope every school in Australia implements this course into their curriculum to provide the next generation with these tools to help them flourish & thrive.

创建者 Zahid B

May 14, 2020

To summarize this course: The most impactful lessons in life are often the most simplest!

The content in this course has been thought provoking and life changing. I wish this course could reach the younger generation, as they can develop these productive and positive habits before they enter further education and the world of work! The leaders in our society/media organisations have a duty to showcase a purposeful and productive life, whilst promoting positive well-being in work places if they want to see a happier society. Courses like this are a priceless way of helping people to find solutions to their low mood, negative health habits and ungratefulness. Dr Laurie Santos is a remarkable and inspiring woman who is a role model for many!

创建者 Maria O

Jul 16, 2020

Really great course, thank you. It was delivered very well and I learned so much on how I can make small changes to improve my happiness. The last 4 weeks of rewirement was great too, it was tough and not as successful as I was hoping but I have continued to try and implement some of the teachings in my life. Two big successes for me were meditating and gratitude.. When I feel like I may not be as happy or tired or stressed, I stop and take a few breaths and think about what I am grateful for, this has truly made the biggest difference in my life.....

Thanks so much!! Also, the professor was amazing... Very knowledgeable, realistic and practicing what she teaches in her own life. I really liked how she shared her successes and set backs..

创建者 Angela C

Jul 07, 2020

I would recommend The Science of Well-Being course to anyone who seeks to challenge their own belief systems, mindsets, and patterns of thinking that create inhibition to their personal growth. You are provided with weekly rewirement challenges that help the student attain a higher level of thinking and ultimately a more functional state of 'being.' I've read and partaken in self-development courses and all are valuable when incorporated, and each serves to justify the principles shared in the previous courses. Even if you enroll in this course as a singular methodology or to supplement other training and personal development courses, you will find your thinking challenged and your behaviors modified for your own betterment in society.

创建者 Nathalia P d M

Sep 21, 2020

Aprendi nesse curso que nossos pensamentos e ações são os maiores responsáveis pela nossa felicidade. Não se compare com os outros, não crie expectativas demais, não busque só pelos prazeres momentâneos que vão te dar uma alegria naquela hora, mas depois não vai lhe significar mais nada. É importante invetir tempo em nossa saúde, se alimentar bem, ter boas conexões sociais saudáveis, ser gentil, generoso, e sempre sempre agradecer por todas as coisas que a vida nos trás, sempre se recordar do porquê estamos aqui e qual é nosso propósito, Sou muito grata à Coursera e a instituição Yale terem proporcionado a nós a oportunidade de aprender com esse curso da prof. Laurie Santos. Foi muito legal, recomendo a todos! Atenciosamente, Nathalia

创建者 Leighann B

Jul 11, 2020

I loved this course and genuinely wanted to share it with everyone I know. One study I found particularly relevant in today's political climate was the one which demonstrated that people would rather take a pay cut in order to have a greater lead against their peers instead of raising everyone's pay and having a higher overall salary but be more equitable (have a smaller lead) against their peers.

My only technical feedback is that I found the peer-review form a little confusing: you should be able to post comments after submitting the grade (since grade submit button is higher on the page) OR you should put the comment section above the submit button so that people know to post their comments first before submitting the evaluation.

创建者 Nakshatra S

May 04, 2020

This course is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time. I want to talk about the course in detail. The course is detailed and I am sure you will almost double your happiness levels once you finish this course. Laurie is so good at teaching that it feels like you are physically there in the class attending the lecture. All the extra material that is provided with the course just widens your perspective towards various things. It doesn't matter for whatever reason you are thinking to take this course, once you finish it you will have much more than that. Thank you so much Laurie for this, I can't wait to meet you some day. But Thanks for creating this I feel happy, excited & motivated to do things even while writing this.

创建者 Dana S

Aug 03, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I stuck with it even after she debunked something I have been using for 30 years in her first video. I used to use the idea that "knowing is half the battle" from GI Joe with people and I applied it to myself with being a mental health professional. I have since stopped doing that especially since I had a rough bout of anxiety in June, which reinforced it not working. I have also referred strangers and friends to this program and use all but one of the rewirement strategies regularly. It was very helpful to have these put in a practical context and explained how they help with joy/happiness/contentment. Make the time for it, you have nothing to lose but old strategies that do not work.

创建者 Adriana A

Jun 06, 2020

Oh no it's over! :( I feel so lucky and grateful to have been able to access this course for free, especially during this time of quarantine and CO-VID 19. It was the perfect structured disciplined activity I needed to keep me going and feel productive and healthy. I loved having goals to complete each week be it: reading, writing/commenting, reflecting, and daily tracking my own progress. I highly recommend this course and that you share your insights with others. You will not be disappointed... well actually maybe a little once you find out the research but you'll quickly bounce back and truly implement what is needed that will actually bring your joy and happiness. It takes time so be patient with yourself. Peace and love!

创建者 Diane M B

Jul 09, 2020

Laurie Santo's is a very engaging instructor. I loved her motivation. Everything seemed interesting to her, which made it interesting to me. Wonderful voice to listen too and I could tell she really cares about the students. Always putting a positive spin on things. Really made me want to keep coming to class. When I signed up for the class I didn't know what to expect. Laurie has helped me in many ways. I will continue to use her rewirements and use her positive methods of thinking. Regardless of how high school teaching will be in this COVID times I will be better prepared emotionally. Relieved stress, found ways to step back from issue and became more positive. Thank you so much for the enjoyable and knowledgeable class.

创建者 Amlesh R

Apr 30, 2020

So very grateful to Prof. Laurie for navigating such a meaningful and life-enhancing course in such a lucid and convincing way. Her candid confessions of her own deficiencies in some aspects of happiness, was so disarming. I have learned so much about the fundamentals of well being and happiness and how and why our mind is often the biggest hurdle in our quest for happiness. Be it knowing, what really makes us happy and understanding why we keep making wrong choices for our happiness, in every aspect, this course is spot on. Not a surprise that The Science of Well-being course by Prof Laurie is the best ever at Yale. Hope, this course is done by many. many more across the world in every age group. I am ensuring that my wife

创建者 Homa F

Jun 08, 2018

This was my first course on coursera and I enjoyed every bit of it. I have learnt so much by putting the knowledge into practice, with positive results. I didn't expect the course to take as much time as it did, but that could be due to my time schedule and not how much the course demanded. I paid for the course so I would take it seriously which helped me in being more disciplined and of course to also get a certificate. I would recommend this course if you are trying to lear how to rewire your mind and having a better understanding of 'Misconceptions about Happiness' - 'Why our expectations are so bad' -'What stuff really increases happiness' - 'Strategies to reset you expectations' and 'Putting strategies into practice'.

创建者 Heather P

Jun 10, 2020

After completing this course, I am equipped with new skills to continue living a fuller, happier life. I appreciate the studies Dr. Santos shared with us throughout the course to support various theories, such as Miswanting, Flow, and Hedonistic Adaptation.

The weekly challenges helped me tune into myself further. The challenges helped guide my focus for what elements I wanted to truly implement for the Rewirement Challenge.

Because of my experience, I not only incorporated new healthy habits into my daily life, but their culmination helped me with a major life decision. I feel great about my decision and am grateful for this course and the guidance of Dr. Santos.

I wish success to all as we continue our Rewirement journeys.

创建者 Amanda M

May 17, 2020

Dr. Santos does an excellent job to teach us the science behind well-being and seeking happiness. The timing of the class was fantastic as I needed the refocus on happiness and gratitude during the Covid-19 quarantine. Dr. Santos was intelligent and easy to understand. Her examples and lectures were interesting and helpful. I am very grateful that I took this online class as I was able to choose a rewirement that has made me more happy and is helping my well being. The videos and transcriptions were excellent to use on a laptop. The online class was not as user friendly on a cell phone. The quizzes were easy if you paid attention. The peer reviews and forums were amazing to learn from people from all over the world!

创建者 Michael D

Aug 28, 2019

I have been lucky enough to have a couple of months of downtime as I consider a significant transition in my life. Serendipitously, I stumbled upon this course and engaged out of curiosity. It was the right medicine at the right time. I learnt a lot and was given the language and logic to articulate several matters of personal significance . Before the course, I was feeling relatively content. Upon completion of the course, I am in a very good place. I found the content well presented, engaging and fascinating. I enjoyed the intellectual stimulation of reading around the topic but I particularly enjoyed the experiential nature of the course. Undertaking this course has been time very well spent on a number of levels.