Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的评价和反馈

4.9
868 个评分
275 条评论

课程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

热门审阅

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

筛选依据:

1 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 25 个评论(共 270 个)

创建者 Daniel T

Jan 08, 2019

W. Scott Persons is a spectacular presenter. He speaks clearly and articulates himself in such a way that he can explain a complex subject in an easy-to-understand way. He doesn't speak too quickly nor too slowly. If anyone wants to be a better presenter, they should follow the example of Persons.

I like the questions being asked during the video. Sometimes they are just to make sure you are paying attention, but most times they require you to make inferences based on what you have learned, which is great. If you complete the reading material before watching the videos, you should have no problem at all answering the video questions.

The reading material is extremely in-depth and very informative even beyond what the videos offer. One complaint I have would be that the estimated time of completion for the reading is inaccurate. They say it takes about 10 minutes but if you want to actually read and get a good grasp of all of the material presented in the notes, it will take far longer. Personally, it takes me several hours to consolidate the material in my head and to take notes. Like I said, the reading goes very in-depth.

The reading material also uses anatomical terms of location very frequently. I would recommend learning the anatomical terms of location (rostral, caudal, distal, proximal, etc.) to assist you while you read the notes. Also take some time to learn how to interpret cladograms.

One thing that stands out to me is the Tree of Life, which is basically an interactive learning objective that shows how ALL life to have ever existed on this planet is connected. It is an AMAZING supplement to the course and a lot of fun to explore.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone interested in dinosaurs; paleontology as a whole; evolution and phylogenesis; and ornithology.

创建者 Brice B

Sep 09, 2017

Fascinating class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in five weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, some games and an interactive phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) I have attended all four paleontology courses from the University of Alberta and this is the one I preferred. Having first hand accounts of the discovery of Therapod fossils by Professor Currie is great and as a result the course strikes a good balance between giving facts and explaining the scientific method. Moreover, the historical part of the course, on the debate on the origin of dinosaurs, is very interesting and, as an added bonus, gives an idea of what the state of the field is today.

创建者 Michael S R

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent course......so well presented, so very exciting! I just loved it! I'm a retired neuroscience researcher (dementia) and held held positions as a Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Australian Catholic University. Since retiring I have been pursuing a long dormant passion for palaeontology and have worked on dinosaur projects in Outback Australia and have studied formal units in Palaeontology through the University of New England, Australia, and now this course through the University of Alberta! I have also obtained credentials as a laboratory technician with the Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum. I look forward to doing another course via Coursera through the University of Alberta! Bloody beauty, mate!

创建者 Dhaval S

Jun 11, 2019

That was one of the Best Experience of Learning u people Nailed it Perfectly, waiting for some new courses from your side, Dhaval Shukal

创建者 Matthew M

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent and informative course! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and the class notes will be cherished and re-read every now and again. I'm really happy that the course wasn't too easy and was more aimed at those of us with already a decent understanding of palaeontology and zoology as it really taught me a lot.

The only thing I would mark it down on is that the course notes did not always correspond correctly and were out of order to the videos. I like to make notes and highlight as I watch and it took a lot of page jumping to do that. At the same time I am uncertain if the notes were supposed to be done this way, or worked through after the course.

I look forward to other courses by this University as this one was absolutely fantastic! I would love to see a course that goes more into detail on modern bird evolution and adaptions, the last lesson felt very rushed. I would also love to see courses covering other prehistoric species, perhaps the evolution of cats, whales etc or other dinosaur clades.

The instructors were a joy to listen to and easily understood too. I felt very involved and now have a much better understanding of theropods and their descendants. As an amateur paleoartist this helps me a lot!

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!

创建者 Anne J

Oct 15, 2019

Entertaining, well designed and organized, thought-provoking course with enusiastic presentors and spectacular graphics.

Because I have never paid any attention to dinosaurs from the Mesozoic, and din't have a clue about the variety and naming conventions, I was initially overwhelmed by all the 15+ (seemed like 100+) character long names that were tossed about like popcorn tossed at the villan in a melodrama. It took a while, but I adjusted. Beware if you are not a dino connisseur.

While the course offers a primer in bird anatomy at the very beginning, the more you know about modern bird anatomy the better you will see the convulted map of evolution (and where you are heading) from the outset. My knowledge of bird anatomy was a helpful counter balance to my ignorance of Mesozoic dinos!

I thought that this course would simply be a nice side bar to my understanding and appreciation of birds. Instead it added a remarkable depth to my understanding, respect, and appreciation for the birds I observe and photograph every day.

Many thanks to the University of Alberta faculty and staff that make this course available!

创建者 David M J

May 03, 2018

Exceptional course! This course is great for anyone trying to get into Paleontology or even get a basic understanding of the evolution of adaptions for changing to evolutionary needs and ecology. All lessons are incredibly informative and easy to understand. i took this course because I have always had an interest in Paleontology, but never knew whether I wanted to pursue a career in it. I am in the US Navy and thanks to these paleontology courses presented by University of Alberta, I am now looking to continue forward with a career into Paleontology and pursue this interest that has been there since childhood. Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the origins of Birds is only one of the courses from the University of Alberta I would recommend. To the University of Alberta, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to dip my toe into this field and truly differentiate whether or not, I just loved the concept of dinosaurs or if I actually wanted to pursue a career in Paleontology and research. Fantastic course overall and truly changed my idea of what i want to pursue in my future career. Thank you.

创建者 Diana P B

Jul 09, 2019

A very good and in-depth course that can be taken with very little previous knowledge on the subject. Lecturers go in great detail, not simply giving you information, but really making sure you understand how we infer dinosaur's behaviour and function of different body parts. Biomechanics are taught at a level that is very easy to understand and allow you to apply your learning to different areas. The course is interactive, with many quizzes along the way that ensure you are not just memorising, but actually engaging and learning how to develop your thinking so that you can also interpret fossils to determine function and behaviour. Both illustrations and fossils are shown throughout the course, which are helpful in guiding one's learning. Recommended even for those not interested in Paleontology but are passionate for biology in general.

创建者 Christiane U

Nov 29, 2016

With Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds MOOC I finally completed all Paleo Online Courses offered by University of Alberta. I enjoyed all Paleo MOOCs given their very interesting content and outstanding presentation, but I must say that Early Vertebrate Evolution was far the best one, in my opinion. It is also true to say that all University of Alberta MOOCs, as usual, provided first class lecture notes. I would like to thank all the personnel involved in developing and making available this amazing tool for propagating science and knowledge. And I would like to suggest standardizing the measuring unit system throughout all courses, because there is an interchangeable use of either imperial or metric, and since most of the world uses metric system, that could be a good way to go.

创建者 Erin J

Mar 18, 2020

a great introductory course, interestingly organized and full of detail which introduces avian characteristics of early theropods, talks a lot about specifics of evolution, and demonstrates clearly some of how dinosaurs - and other archosaurs - are classified. I would recommend reading up a bit on the positions in medical anatomy before taking this (distal/anterior/posterior/dorsal etc) but you can also look up terms as you go along. This course doesn’t have a strenuous testing procedure for you to move through the lessons, so the amount you get out of it is really down to your own interest, especially with the course notes, which offer a wealth of resources. Really fun and engaging, thanks!

创建者 kathleen C W

Feb 19, 2016

One of the first big books I remember reading was about dinosaurs and their world: much of the information changed with further discoveries, but the book gave me such a sense of wonder at the big "lizards" that roamed the earth!

I found this course fascinating, especially since it follows on Dino 101. This helped me to see the various evolutionary tracks that were possible, and how the wide avian diversity came about. Looking at the anatomy development was very helpful to this bird-watcher/dino-watcher.

Thank you so much for opening this program -- it has been a joy and I am looking forward to the other course openings as they come up.

创建者 ELAINE M B

May 06, 2020

I found this course to be fascinating, and it was a real achievement to get to grips with the biology and evolutionary changes that led to the Modern Dinosaurs - birds - surviving and thriving. I had, like many others, thought that this was a planet that was now dominated by mammals, after the dinosaurs became extinct. However, the enormous variety of birds that exist means that we co-evolved, and the mammalian branch of modern life is not quite so dominant as we had been taught! This is a really enjoyable course, if you like an intellectual challenge and a genuine sense of educational achievement when completed!

创建者 Bobby H

Aug 15, 2016

Loved it. I wish there were a 10 minute review at the end where everything is pulled together in a meaningful and cohesive way with a summary of the key evolutionary paths from dinosaurs to modern birds. I will go back through all the course material to sketch this out for myself. It would be nice to have an overview/summary/chart to study from though. I'd like to memorize key points and some more signposts to help with that would be great.

I finished the course in less than a week and loved every minute. I am left wanting more. P.S. I have a master's degree in biological sciences.

创建者 Raphael B d O (

Sep 17, 2018

I'm a ruge fan of Coursera style of learning. I think this is a powerful tool for knowledge and a way to spread it. And this course about the connections between theropods and birds just ratify my thoughts. I'd like to say i'm much obliged to you (paleo)scientists of Alberta for the experience and opportunity to learn such a valuable subject for someone that's always fascinated with life's history and Evolution's ways to transform. One day, i shall visit Alberta to see by myself these amazing fossils records you have. Thanks again, you got a (another?) fan from Brazil.

创建者 Joel A C

Feb 27, 2016

This is truly a very interesting and informative course on the origin of birds! My only preference would be that the rich lecture notes would be more thoroughly covered in the video lectures... even though that would make those videos longer (oh, what a "shame" that would be -- yeah, right!!). I was impressed that the video lectures reflected some of the latest findings in fossil & genetic findings. Last but by no means least, the professional yet personal style of the video lectures was not only helpful in my learning but made it that much more enjoyable! Well done!!!

创建者 Brian P

Apr 10, 2020

Fantastic. Both the primary and secondary professors were excellent, had superior presentation (speaking, gesturing, personality) skills and of course, were extremely well informed. The accompanying illustrations and samples of wings and bones also helped tremendously. Technically, the people who designed the online course know what they are doing, are experts. The ease to which we can take notes, go back easily and re-listen to something said, to leave and then later, pick up the lecture anywhere we want, is first rate. Cannot say enough good things. Superb.

创建者 Yang Y

May 05, 2018

A very comprehensive introduction to theropod dinosaurs. It's rare to see good courses on this topic so gave it a 5 star. I have always been intrigued by dinosaurs and finally get a chance to learn more deeply about it. The instructor was passionate and explanation was clear and helpful. I just found that, without these lively explanation, some part of the materials with mere long texts explaining the animals' characteristics get too abstract for me. It sort of gave me headache remembering all the strange name for different groups. But, it was also the fun part:)

创建者 Daniel A V

Apr 10, 2017

The course was simply amazing. I am a Brazilian student of veterinary medicine with an special interst in birds. I love to watch and learn about them, and, if possible, I will work with the medicine and rehab of that incredible group of living dinosaurs. The course was extremely didactic and clear on all past information, making my interest only increase. Unfortunately I can not afford to buy the certificate, which makes me sad in a way. However, I am very grateful to the entire mini-course team and I congratulate you on the incredible work you have done.

创建者 Robert H S

Jul 10, 2017

After completing Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology, I wanted more!!! Palaeontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds was such an interesting course. I started taking Coursera sponsored courses starting in 2013. The two Palaeontology courses I have recently taken are two of the best. The presentations are excellent. Please extend my sincere appreciation to the staff of the University of Albert's Palaeontology team for their hard work and dedication - just an excellent course. Your hard work is very much appreciated. Thank you.

创建者 Isabel B

Aug 29, 2016

I had such a great time taking this course.

Is the second I take from the University of Alberta, I'm sure going to take them all.

The classes are comprehensible, with well made videos, and written material that's great to study later on, or before you watch them.

This written material frees a lot of time on the class, as I usually take notes when watching online courses, this let's me concentrate on watching the material without having to pause over, and over to write down what seems important.

Thank you!

创建者 Nathan L

Jul 21, 2019

This course presents fascinating current evidence for the evolutionary path that leads from non-avian theropods to modern birds in a way that's both fun and accessible. I learned a great deal from this course and feel that I could now explain the basics of this transition to others. I found the interactive phylogenetic tree particularly useful for working out the relationships between the many theropod groups. Highly recommended if you love dinosaurs - the extinct or the extant variety.

创建者 Jeff Y

Aug 05, 2016

Even if you've never had a lifelong fascination with natural history like I did, this course should be fascinating and educational enough to draw you in. Scott Persons is an amazing teacher: clear, concise, knowledgeable and passionate enough that you will never feel lost, learn a great deal and yet never feel bored. Philip Currie is also very informative. Highly recommended for anyone with even a modicum of interest in dinosaurs.

创建者 Carol B

Jun 28, 2017

This course provided excellent information about the evolution of Theropods. Careful examination of adaptations, changes in environment over time, and predator-prey aspects of these dinosaurs all created a good foundation of knowledge to see how modern birds are the only surviving dinosaurs. This course included great diagrams, details, fossil evidence, and interactive features that made it enjoyable and engaging.

创建者 Catherine T

May 08, 2017

This course helped to expand my knowledge of theropod dinosaur biology, their relationship with each other, and evolutionary progresses that lead them to the avian forms they bear today. This course provided a complex set, and range, of information that was carefully and efficiently tied together to help the overall understanding of the concepts and themes. I really enjoyed this course!

创建者 Emil

Apr 09, 2020

This is a nice and a informative course. The main reason for which I chose it was because there was an option to read subtitles in a European language. I have to say, also that it is nice to hear another point of view (more scientific) from an university on the topic of dinosaurs, except from documentaries. This is the reason for which I have enrolled for other courses on this topic.