Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的评价和反馈

4.9
753 个评分
230 个审阅

课程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

热门审阅

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

筛选依据:

76 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 100 个评论(共 223 个)

创建者 kathleen C W

Feb 19, 2016

One of the first big books I remember reading was about dinosaurs and their world: much of the information changed with further discoveries, but the book gave me such a sense of wonder at the big "lizards" that roamed the earth!

I found this course fascinating, especially since it follows on Dino 101. This helped me to see the various evolutionary tracks that were possible, and how the wide avian diversity came about. Looking at the anatomy development was very helpful to this bird-watcher/dino-watcher.

Thank you so much for opening this program -- it has been a joy and I am looking forward to the other course openings as they come up.

创建者 Robin B

Jan 26, 2017

Awesome course =)

创建者 Isabel B

Aug 29, 2016

I had such a great time taking this course.

Is the second I take from the University of Alberta, I'm sure going to take them all.

The classes are comprehensible, with well made videos, and written material that's great to study later on, or before you watch them.

This written material frees a lot of time on the class, as I usually take notes when watching online courses, this let's me concentrate on watching the material without having to pause over, and over to write down what seems important.

Thank you!

创建者 Carol B

Jun 28, 2017

This course provided excellent information about the evolution of Theropods. Careful examination of adaptations, changes in environment over time, and predator-prey aspects of these dinosaurs all created a good foundation of knowledge to see how modern birds are the only surviving dinosaurs. This course included great diagrams, details, fossil evidence, and interactive features that made it enjoyable and engaging.

创建者 Albert

Dec 30, 2017

Excelent

创建者 Scott Y

Nov 04, 2017

Extremely well organized and taught

创建者 James B

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent course for anyone with an interest in the relationships among dinosaurs, and theropods in particular of course. The lectures themselves were well done and the lecture notes had more detail for those who would want to dig in a bit more for themselves. Keep up the great work!

创建者 牛长泰

Aug 11, 2016

good course!

创建者 Robin B

Mar 30, 2016

I really love this course and it is

创建者 Anne D

Aug 16, 2017

It was a very interesting course for us and we enjoyed the way it was presented as well. Thank you for doing such a great job!

For the family tree in week 3 it would have been nice to have a hint or two to complete it correctly.

创建者 WH

Jul 07, 2018

Good pace, great notes, and interesting presentation.

创建者 Alexander P V M

Oct 18, 2016

A great course that offers a well-structured and insightful overview of the evolution of theropod dinosaurs into birds, presented in a wonderfully understandable way.

创建者 Joel A C

Feb 27, 2016

This is truly a very interesting and informative course on the origin of birds! My only preference would be that the rich lecture notes would be more thoroughly covered in the video lectures... even though that would make those videos longer (oh, what a "shame" that would be -- yeah, right!!). I was impressed that the video lectures reflected some of the latest findings in fossil & genetic findings. Last but by no means least, the professional yet personal style of the video lectures was not only helpful in my learning but made it that much more enjoyable! Well done!!!

创建者 Lawrence L

Sep 13, 2016

Awesome. Ivy league level.

创建者 Nicholas B

Mar 31, 2018

Challenging yet thoroughly enjoyable. Thought I knew a bit about birds but now have a much better understanding. Would recommend 100%

创建者 Joshua M

Sep 03, 2016

Great course.

创建者 Sophie L

Apr 18, 2016

Excellent! I love birds, always. Now I know them more.

创建者 Donald J M

May 01, 2016

Excellent. The subject is clearly and concisely produced and delivered; the readings are spot on. Worth every minute.

创建者 Diane E

Mar 11, 2016

Great course.

创建者 Dmitry B

Feb 22, 2016

The course is brilliant.

创建者 Kenneth M

Mar 03, 2016

Fantastic and extremely informative.

创建者 Sourav C

Jun 13, 2017

It was a real pleasure to learn so much about this course. I thoroughly enjoyed and learned huge amount of new things which would very important for me in future. Some questions were confusing and did not had straight forward answers which I think could have been better, otherwise in context of overall learning , I am extremely satisfied.

创建者 Annesha K G

Mar 15, 2017

Great course. I didn't knew it that Dinosaurs are still present in birds. Thank you University of Alberta & Coursera.

创建者 John N L B

May 18, 2016

Completely awesome course for anyone to start, very straight forward and instructing. Would recommend 10/10

创建者 Adnan A S

Jun 24, 2016

The most informative biology course I've ever took. The course is well-structured, interesting, and covers all the important points. The course is directed toward non-professionals, anyone can take it, even if you know nothing about the topic.