Chevron Left
返回到 Transformation of the Global Food System

学生对 哥本哈根大学 提供的 Transformation of the Global Food System 的评价和反馈

4.8
580 个评分
152 条评论

课程概述

The UN predicts we will be 9-10 billion people on Earth in 2050. Providing so many people with nutritious foods is a massive challenge and one that cannot be met by simply upscaling current practices regarding food production and consumption. Providing humanity with nutritional food is at the center of all decisions related to sustainable development. Agriculture is responsible for 80% of global deforestation. The food systems release 29% of global greenhouse gasses. We use an area equivalent to North and South America combined for the production of meat for consumption or to produce the food necessary to feed the animals we eat. 70% of fresh water use is related to agriculture. These figures are staggering, and they show us, that we need to rethink and transform the way we produce, distribute and consume food worldwide. This course focuses on how food systems can become more sustainable. It consists of four modules where each focuses on an essential ingredient towards developing more sustainable food systems: (1) Boosting the small, (2) Transforming the big, (3) Losing less and (4) Eating smarter. In each of these key areas, we will meet people from different countries around the world, who labor every day to find and spread solutions that work. Connecting the challenges that must be overcome to develop a sustainable global food system with the solutions being developed by the amazing group of people you meet in this course has been a huge source of inspiration for me. I truly believe that the global food system can be transformed to sustainably meet the needs of 9-10 billion people and, with this course, I dare you to join me!...

热门审阅

RW
Oct 29, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

SV
Jul 9, 2021

I can easily send a single powerful message :- switch over to labor intensive, cost effective, eco friendly and long lasting organic agriculture, unrefined diet and foods with no chemicals.

筛选依据:

26 - Transformation of the Global Food System 的 50 个评论(共 153 个)

创建者 Mary

Apr 13, 2021

This was an excellent course. I especially liked the final module. It was very informative and inspiring. I would recommend only to balance the message of Module 4 by spending more time on the value of Green proteins and less on insects. Thank you so much.

创建者 Nils I

Aug 13, 2020

Very interesting course, providing an overview of the complexities of the food systems and the required paradigm shift to transform them, to make them more sustainable. The quiz section could have been more challenging, nevertheless, a great course!!

创建者 Vandana T

Jul 22, 2021

This course provides a very good introduction into the global food systems and provides learning material for enabling stakeholders to take concrete actions to reduce GHG emissions, while keeping an eye on the nine planetary boundaries.

创建者 Dora B

Aug 26, 2020

This is a well structured course which provides a great overview of the challenges and emerging solutions for the global food system. I found the Danish/Scandinavian and Nigerian company case studies particularly interesting.

创建者 Lucía T

Jan 16, 2021

Excelente pero habría que considerar la importancia de los océanos, que son la cloaca del mundo , y son la clave de la vida en el planeta así también que toda la información brindada esté al alcance de todos. Muchas gracias

创建者 Douglas H

Mar 2, 2021

The course presented a good overview of the problems facing the Global Food System and presented some interesting feasible options to work toward a more sustainable system that can feed the increasing world population.

创建者 Vasiliki K

Dec 18, 2020

An amazing course. I haven't considered all these before in this dimension. For me, it was mind-blowing and broadened my horizon to a new field. So informative and well-made videos. Amazing! Excellent job! Well done!

创建者 Aileen B

Sep 5, 2020

Really enjoyed this course - informative and great information. How do we make it happen is the challenge I guess. Also some of the data was from 2010 - is there a way to see if more updated information available.

创建者 Margaret B

Sep 21, 2020

An extremely well designed course. It has given me a greater understanding of the global impacts of food production & distribution, particularly the ways that regular people can help make a positive difference.

创建者 Maria F L M

Oct 25, 2020

The course taught me a lot about how simple or small actions especially in the agricultural sector have a huge impact on sustainability. This is a great course for everyone as it affects the entire planet.

创建者 Sachin S

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent course. In the era of sustainable development and the future goals, where 800 million people have no access to food, this course stands as a practical solution to the problem. Thank you mentors.

创建者 Vijaishree S

Aug 26, 2020

It has been a wonderful experience to get to know the future trends in Agriculture.Thank you Dr.Richardson for the exposure you and your team provided to make this field a successful and sustainable one

创建者 Nina L

Dec 2, 2020

This course gave me a good insight in the agri-food industry sector and what is needed in the coming years mainly to decrease the environmental impacts but also touching upon other sustainable matters.

创建者 Rachael W

Oct 30, 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

创建者 Shivam V

Jul 10, 2021

I can easily send a single powerful message :- switch over to labor intensive, cost effective, eco friendly and long lasting organic agriculture, unrefined diet and foods with no chemicals.

创建者 Ghi W

Oct 20, 2020

Very substanstial course 😍 I enjoyed the content so much. Its not like a typical course where teacher is teaching the subject matter. In here, its like you're watching a documentary 😍

创建者 Sara K

Aug 26, 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for every person who cares about protecting the environment and who wants to lead a healthier life in a better world for the future generations.

创建者 soumaya z

Aug 11, 2020

I found this course is very useful and full of information that can help anybody to understand more about transformation of the Global Food System. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Gabriel A F G

Aug 26, 2020

Curso muy interesante que muestra cómo se está transformando el sector agrícola. Muestra algunos casos, principalmente de Nigeria, Costa Rica, Dinamarca y Países Bajos.

创建者 Ingrid M

Dec 28, 2020

Great course! I never imagined that a course with this level is here in Coursera. Take advantage of this course, learn and improve the world by agriculture and nature

创建者 Kirstie W

Jun 17, 2020

Brilliantly conceived and put together course covering the key touch points for sustainable food production moving forward, well done to the University of Copenhagen.

创建者 Elizabeth

Mar 21, 2021

Great course that uses contemporary examples from across the world to highlight examples of sustainable farming, awareness campaigns, and policy initiatives.

创建者 Brandi C

Mar 9, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. There were a lot of great videos and the information was from reliable sources. It also included different areas of the world.

创建者 ELIJAH D I A

Aug 10, 2020

Eye-opener and inspirational. Gives you an in depth view of the world's agricultural system and food value chain. Learned lots of lessons from this course!