Chevron Left
返回到 Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones 的评价和反馈

4.7
446 个评分
159 条评论

课程概述

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

热门审阅

SS

Nov 7, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

PB

Nov 20, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

筛选依据:

51 - Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones 的 75 个评论(共 160 个)

创建者 Patrizia B

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

创建者 Georgia V

May 17, 2020

Absolutely loved the course ! Very well structured and thorough introduction to the topic! Thank you so much for providing us with fantastic lectures, exercises and study material :)

创建者 Lisa N

Feb 23, 2022

I loved this course. A complicated topic broken down to basic segments. Instructors were very good and easy to follow. You get out what you put in -- take the time and learn!

创建者 Aitor M C

Aug 28, 2017

It was very well! It is interesting to understand some things about bones and pathologyes for instance, and in order to know what kind of bone we can find in the shield!

创建者 barbara

Jan 14, 2017

I really recomend this course, It provides good examples, information and practice test. I think it is necessary for any archaeologist or person realated to this field

创建者 Dirk T

Dec 21, 2020

Very interesting course. I have learned a lot about osteoarcheology. The way this course is organized with the different methods of learning worked perfectly for me,

创建者 Sarra G

Jan 7, 2018

Excellent course, very scientific and thorough in its approach. The lecturer was excellent and explained complex concepts very well. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

创建者 Kate B

Apr 6, 2021

An interesting subject that was brought to life by a great instructor and support staff. The assignments were fun and engaging. I would highly recommend this course.

创建者 L L m

Nov 14, 2016

Very interesting course, a lot of information very well explained and showed. Congratulations to all the team that make this course possible !! Thank you very much

创建者 Isabela A F

Jul 4, 2020

This course is marvelous! I really enjoyed doing it and I've already recommended for my friends. Thank you so much for this course and the displayed content!

创建者 Wojciech W

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course with wonderful teachers and materials. I learned a lot of things about bones and how they help archeologists to understand the past better

创建者 Deborah R C

Jun 29, 2020

I found the course to be interesting and very well taught. I enjoyed learning from this course, and getting my certificate after 5 weeks of hard work.

创建者 Vladislav K

Oct 16, 2017

The course is just awesome! This is an excellent course, best of what I have learned on the web. Thank you, professors, creators and technical team!

创建者 kouassi n c

Feb 3, 2018

Je ne connaissais pas tout cela sur mes os et mes dents quelques trucs mais rien de plus, je suis satisfaite de ce cours il est très instructif

创建者 robin v w

Jul 19, 2021

Very well constructed lessons. The overall course is not very difficult and offers plenty of exercises to learn more than needed.

创建者 Lucy

Oct 11, 2020

It takes a lot of work. Rewatching some of the videos to help understand them. I will be taking another course to learn more.

创建者 Veronica E

Sep 20, 2018

I learned a lot and found the assignments relevant and useful for achieving a better understanding the material. Great course!

创建者 Joy L

Feb 2, 2021

Enjoyed the course, so very interesting and learned a whole new way to see history through the past peoples who were there.

创建者 Roger F

Mar 27, 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!

创建者 emilio v

Jul 19, 2017

muy bueno me cuesta pero muy bueno solo que al habla hispano sin bases buenas en ingles se le complica pero excelente curso

创建者 belen M

Aug 27, 2021

I learned a lot in the course, very complete and well explained, very interactive with very useful activities. I loved it!

创建者 juan p d r

Oct 27, 2016

Great. I am confident that soon there will be new and more advanced courses

that can perform registration to perform them.

创建者 Derek N

Nov 7, 2016

This is an excellently well presented course that is informative, interesting and challenging. Well worth engaging with.

创建者 Alisse S

Mar 27, 2017

Incredibly informative, builds upon itself, and gives ample opportunity for application in case study assignments.

创建者 Marisol D A

Oct 29, 2021

It was a great pleasure to do this course, thank you very much to all the collaborators, teachers and students.