Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,912 个评分
563 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

筛选依据:

226 - Introduction to Typography 的 250 个评论(共 538 个)

创建者 Chi C

Feb 02, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

创建者 Renee T

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

创建者 Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

创建者 Anna V

Apr 29, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

创建者 Shiela O

Jul 16, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

创建者 Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

创建者 Kevin W

Aug 21, 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

创建者 Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

创建者 Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

创建者 Dominique V

Jul 20, 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

创建者 Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

Loved learning the history of Typography. Very interesting class.

创建者 Matheus A

May 15, 2018

Very Nice, it was very interesting to dive in the typefaces world

创建者 Tianyin L

Feb 22, 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

创建者 Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

创建者 Kevin J

May 21, 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

创建者 Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

创建者 Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)

创建者 Darrick C

Jun 30, 2019

challenging, rewarding and i would recommend it to anyone =)

创建者 Justina S

Jan 04, 2018

Great and interesting course, i enjoyed being a part of it !

创建者 Dasha Y

Dec 20, 2017

Lots of useful information! Thanks for creating this course!

创建者 Liliya G

Mar 26, 2016

Deep information, given in easy way, interesting assignments

创建者 SYED A H

May 29, 2018

Really opened my mind to the different perspectives in text

创建者 Flávia G

Mar 06, 2018

The course is very rich in content and the teacher is great

创建者 Kent T

Sep 21, 2019

Course offers practical instruction in a condensed format.

创建者 Sazedul I

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent course with lot of information about Typography.