Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,919 个评分
565 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

筛选依据:

251 - Introduction to Typography 的 275 个评论(共 540 个)

创建者 Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement

创建者 Vikram

Sep 14, 2019

A highly experimentation based, exploration based course.

创建者 andrea a

Sep 12, 2018

i have done things that i never imagined myself doing <3

创建者 Vinit K S

Aug 02, 2018

I would certainly recommend this for every new designer.

创建者 Ampol A

Dec 24, 2017

W1 - Completed

W2 - Completed

W3 - Completed

W4 - Completed

创建者 Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

创建者 Erhan D

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

创建者 Pedro D B

Mar 21, 2018

Very good course!, easy to undestand and very flexible.

创建者 Gayathri C R

Oct 06, 2016

Very good explanation and interesting and useful course

创建者 AC

Jul 03, 2016

liked the course, quite in-depth, but also interesting!

创建者 Stanislav

Jan 10, 2017

It was very interesting course with great assignments!

创建者 Oleksandra S

Jun 14, 2019

Love it. It can improve your skills in graphic design

创建者 Kolya K

Jan 26, 2018

Loved this course, would love to dog dipper after it.

创建者 Alexander K

Oct 04, 2016

Very informative, interesting and helpful! Thank you!

创建者 Muhammad M H

Jun 15, 2019

Great Course for Learning Typography with insights.

创建者 Francisco C C

Dec 30, 2016

Basic and functional, informative and good techers.

创建者 Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!

创建者 Efosa O

Jan 29, 2020

It was a very straightforward course that I liked!

创建者 Alvin B

Jan 22, 2020

I love this class it help me so much with my work.

创建者 Ana L F M

Dec 16, 2019

I learned a lot in this course, it was very useful

创建者 osita e

Dec 14, 2019

great course. beginner level but very challenging.

创建者 Dzung N

Nov 09, 2019

Excellent course for beginners in graphic design!

创建者 Ivo M M C

Jul 11, 2018

It is a good introductionary course to Typography

创建者 Tarang S

Mar 28, 2017

This course is brilliant... that's all I can say.

创建者 celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course