Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Typography

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Typography 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,780 个评分
758 条评论

课程概述

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

热门审阅

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

筛选依据:

126 - Introduction to Typography 的 150 个评论(共 738 个)

创建者 Brianna P

Apr 07, 2016

This class gave a great introduction to Typography! The instructor did a great job at bringing Typography to life. The content of the course was very approachable.

创建者 SHAFIA N

Jul 31, 2020

Its amazing!

In this cours i read about typefaces and create logo.

I don't know! What is topography?

But when I read about it ,then I am understand topography .

创建者 Zackary A K

Jul 06, 2017

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.

创建者 Giovanny V

Sep 15, 2019

clear, concise information delivered on every lecture... I really enjoyed the assignments they got me out of my comfort zone and challenged me to experiment...

创建者 Kristen B

May 24, 2018

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

创建者 Sanskruti

Apr 18, 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

创建者 Stephen M H

Aug 09, 2020

Anther Kiley provided a very concise, yet detailed, history of typography that kept my attention, hitting upon many of the big events in typographic history.

创建者 Ginger H

Mar 23, 2016

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

创建者 Maria F

Jul 20, 2020

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

创建者 Konstantinos A

May 29, 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

创建者 Kushal S

Feb 11, 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

创建者 Malak M

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

创建者 Saba A

Jul 10, 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

创建者 Magdalena P

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

创建者 MD. Z H

Jul 25, 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

创建者 Franklin C O

Jan 07, 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

创建者 Bonnie K

Feb 10, 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

创建者 Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

创建者 Nathanael W B W

May 12, 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

创建者 namrata

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

创建者 Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

创建者 Mine I

Aug 09, 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

创建者 SYED Q

Jun 19, 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

创建者 Henry H

Mar 29, 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.