Chevron Left
返回到 Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,677 个评分
725 条评论

课程概述

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

热门审阅

AA

Oct 10, 2016

Very good course, made me really think again. The professor is very clear on his explanations and he also made the course smooth and funny, which helped on the learning process. Highly recommended!

FY

Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

筛选依据:

601 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments 的 625 个评论(共 718 个)

创建者 Vincent A

Aug 6, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

创建者 David B

Nov 3, 2020

Algunas veces, los subtítulos, tanto en español como en inglés, tienen desfase conforme corre el video. Fuera de eso, es un excelente curso >o<

创建者 Lim S Y

Aug 6, 2020

Good lesson on thought combined with linguistics and language use. Appreciate that additional materials are provided for higher level learning.

创建者 Mario A P G

Oct 30, 2020

The course is unusual but great, as a student at University, having a course about thinking it helps to check what I'm saying before to do it.

创建者 Win K K

Jul 15, 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.

创建者 wai c c

Sep 24, 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

创建者 Darryl C

Apr 3, 2017

No complaints. This course revealed im more interested in the interpersonal dynamic of influence and persuasion vs the logic of arguments.

创建者 Fabio A C S

Apr 20, 2020

This is a wonderful basis to understand how can the arguments are made and what are the most basic element to take into account !!

创建者 Delamon R

Jul 9, 2017

great course! but would have been fun if every example throughout had been from a real historical argument (no made up examples).

创建者 Jacquelyn C M

Oct 19, 2020

Much more difficult than I anticipated. Confusing. But I did learn a lot and took tons of notes, so I will review. Thank you.

创建者 李保燃

May 1, 2017

The course is related with language and logical analysis , so it's a little hard to learn because my English is very poor.

创建者 Fabio D B

May 19, 2020

It's very well-thought. The examples are clear and the explanations are simple.

It lacks more practice exercises, though.

创建者 Karen M

May 18, 2020

An exciting course. This one focusses on the importance and impact of interpretation and language in a conversation.

创建者 Joe B

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot about making concise, effective arguments and how to dissect others. Very informative. Thank you.

创建者 Bilal M S

Jun 5, 2020

A well-rounded course. Got bored during some lectures due to the monotonous delivery by the instructor.

创建者 Sarah D

Feb 5, 2019

Interesting and helpful in becoming more analytical. Also helped to raise awareness of language usage

创建者 CHEN Y

Aug 27, 2018

Basic knowledge and theory for logic, useful if you want to learn deeper about logic reasoning.

创建者 Ajay S

Oct 29, 2016

One splendid course ! I thoroughly enjoyed taking it and look forward to the next part of it.

创建者 Coly H

Mar 23, 2021

The Part 1 is elementary, I wish the further chapters would be more intricate and challenging!

创建者 Sean F

Apr 30, 2020

Enjoyed the instructor's personality, examples and approach to explaining the topics covered.

创建者 Christabell O

Dec 29, 2020

The course was very easy to follow, fun and the instructor was very engaging and humorous!

创建者 George E

Feb 28, 2017

Very engaging lecturer for what could be a very dry subject.

In depth analysis and examples

创建者 Flavia O S d S L

May 4, 2018

Excellent explanations and excellent instructor. Only the subject that is very difficult.

创建者 Preethy A M

May 18, 2019

I found the validity portion to be confusing. Other parts of the class were interesting.

创建者 Yingrui X

Sep 3, 2017

it is interesting, and if the process of the whole class be more efficient will be nice.